WILLY vs North Ballarat

A chilly day at Whitten Oval but good conditions for footy.

Only 3 Bulldogs players featuring in the reserves - Stack, Shaw and Boumann.

I'm happy to say that Stack showed a lot more this week - played on a wing and was given freedom to just follow the ball. Ended up snagging 3 goals, including an absolute beauty where he skipped around 2 defenders, making them look like witches hats, and converting from about 40. The talent is undeniable - the weakness in his game is defensive pressure - when he doesn't have the ball he doesn't really know what to do and it causes him to fade out of the game and ultimately lose confidence. It seemed that his teammates were deliberately trying to find him in the midfield and he played much better because of it.

Shaw again battled hard and was used up forward as well as rucking. He's obviously down the pecking order as far as our ruck stocks go but I like his attitude and think he gives us some depth - he's got a developed body and would go alright if disaster struck and he needed to be elevated.

I might be overly positive when it comes to Boumann but I didn't see him get beaten all day in defence, other than giving away a tiggy touchwood free kick. He moved well and ran off half back nicely. I counted one shanked kick. He was moved forward late and didn't really have any impact but I'm glad they're giving him different roles. I really hope he plays senior Willy football all year and was only playing ressies on rotation.

The seniors featured the following Bulldogs - Roughead, Grant, Cordy, Welsh, Reid, Wight, O'Keefe, White, Lynch, Everitt, Tiller, Skipper - Harborw was named but didn't play, but he was there though. I left my teamsheet at the ground and feel like I've missed a player - someone will help out.

Welsh absolutely dominated the first quarter - taking numerous marks in the 50 and kicked multiple goals. He looked a class above (which he is), both on the lead and contested. He'll be a very handy inclusion in the coming weeks. I reckon he ended up with 5 or 6.

Grant took some time to work himself into the game but lit up the 3rd quarter where he kicked 3 goals in about 5 mins. 1 from a lead and mark from 40. 1 from a free kick from 50 and a snap after swooping on a groundball. He then took a contested pack mark from 3 deep in the last but missed then took a hard leading mark on the 50 and converted. Ended up with 4 and might not be far off a call up?

Lynch did some magic things but then went missing - same problem as always. He also had the fumbles at times but god he looks good when it clicks. Kicked a beauty, weaving through a couple of defenders and slotting it on the run. If he can work on his defensive pressure he could be our Davey or Cyril in the forward 50.

O'Keefe worked hard all game and dominated the last quarter, marking everything and kicking goals - probably ended up with 3 or 4. Also laid some nice tackles - I know Rocket is not a fan but he continues to look good on game day.

Everitt actually looked very good, taking some strong marks in defence and spoiling well. He also ran the lines nicely and went forward and took a ripper pack mark and goaled. He seemed pretty lively in the warm up, geeing up the boys and having some fun. So much potential, just needs to continue to work hard.

Tiller was good also, but he did try and switch the play a few times and shanked the kick which caused us some trouble. He spoiled strongly, but didn't play after 3 qtr time - hopefully no injury concern. Will be back in the 1s soon enough I'd imagine.

Reid won so much contested ball - an absolute extraction machine, but I wish his kicking was 10% better. Hopefully it will be by years end, because I think he has a role to play for Bulldogs in the next few years. Also loves to give it to the opposition and is very physical - helps that he's built like a brick outhouse.

Cordy didn't have a huge impact but did some nice things - took some strong leading marks and kicked a goal. One passage of play - he was on the wing and pinpointed a pass to a leading Grant, who kicked the goal. Cordy to Grant - oh, to dream.

Roughie hurt his shoulder - didn't come out after halftime. I spoke to his dad and said he'd just extended it, could've probably kept playing but why risk it. Should be right with some rest.

White battled hard, running off half back. Got caught a few times but good to see him back.

Wight got beaten a few times in the air by Josh Smith and I cringe whenever he has the ball - but he didn't make too many errors. Treading water unfortunately - would hate it if he kept Boumann out of the senior team to be honest.

Skipper wasn't as dominant this week but did work very hard, and snapped a nice goal.

Willy absolutely crushed North - ended up winning by close to 80 points. Good signs for the future.

Of note, I saw Brian with some decent facial growth, Easton Wood, Liam Jones, Josh Hill, and Mulligan watching. I also saw someone on a motorcycle down by the Elite Learning Centre that may have been Aker (thought I caught a glimpse of peroxide under the helmet).

Any questions, will try to answer them

Re: WILLY vs North Ballarat

Another excellent write up... Much appreciated.

No sign of Murphy who they hoped would make an appearance?

Originally posted by Mantis
      Another excellent write up... Much appreciated.

No sign of Murphy who they hoped would make an appearance?
      Mantis, unfortunately no sign of the Dazzler - would that mean he won't be playing for the Dogs until atleast round 5?

• mighty_west
        • Feb 2008

Great report comrade, you just hope things just click for the likes of Stack & Lynchy, they just ooze talent.

Cordy to Grant, Goal - In deed.

Thanks for reporting!

I'll add my 20 cents worth.

The reserves had just 3 Bulldogs boys playing today. Stack, Shaw and Boumann.

Stack, once again was a little frustrating but once moved into the midfield had a far better 2nd half and racked up a lot of kicks. Up forward he was inconsistent, missed marks and failed to convert opportunities.
            Shaw, was solid without quiet doing enough.
            Boumann, was used in a few positions and whilst he did some exciting things his concentration wasn't great. Still he has all the ability and I'd just like to see him put it all together.

Strong wind today blowing towards the Barkly street end and probably worth 3 goals. Williamstown dominated the last quarter against the breeze and a few players really stepped up.

Skipper, had another strong performance without being quite as good as previous weeks. He is certainly doing enough to keep Minson honest.

Roughead, mainly used off the bench but injured a shoulder in the 2nd quarter and played no further part in the game. From what I am told, it's not a serious injury. Roughy was quiet today.

Grant, was used across half forward and got better as the game wore on. His 3rd quarter burst was sensational and he kicked 3 goals in about 8 minutes. He also finished the game off nicely in the last with some solid marks. Early in the game he really worked hard moving into the midfield when required. I have some concerns about his overall fitness though.

Reid, had a typical hard working game and was solid in the contested situations.

O'Keefe, had another good game and was excellent in the last quarter where he seemed to have the ball on a string. He marked well, shanked a goal and kicked two more goals from set shots. Early in the game he kicked smart crumbing type goal and in the 3rd he kicked a nice one off his right foot. My guess is that he had something like 30 possessions and he was moving around very well.

Tiller, was used mainly as a defender and was composed throughout the game. He didn't dominate but rarely made a mistake. (Tiller wore Harbrow's number today)

Wight, was a bit like Tiller, he did well without quite doing enough.

Lynch, was solid today and used his pace to his advantage. His 2nd efforts we noticeable and he turned some of his opponents inside out with his baulking skills.

White, played mainly off the bench and will be better for the run after missing a week. Quiet but OK.

Everitt, had a very good game. Played nearly all the game in defence and had a better 2nd half than the first. Once again he was very composed in just about everything he did. He marking and decision making was particularly good.

Cordy, didn't star but just showed enough that he will be a good player in a few seasons. He moves very well even with his ungainly running style but his ability to scoop up the ball below his knees really shows his class.

Welsh, had a sensational game and in my opinion was our best player. He marked very well and converted most of his chances in the blustery conditions. He should come back into the senior side next week. (I don't know who will replace but he should be played)

Easy win for Williamstown against a good side that he beaten them every time when it counts.

We had such a tall defence today and I think it's going to be a concern for us.

I wasn't unhappy to Shannon Watts play today as he normally has a good game against us.

Grant, was used across half forward and got better as the game wore on. His 3rd quarter burst was sensational and he kicked 3 goals in about 8 minutes. He also finished the game off nicely in the last with some solid marks. Early in the game he really worked hard moving into the midfield when required. I have some concerns about his overall fitness though.
              Sounds promising.

When you say you have concerns about his fitness did this deminish his ability to move up and down the ground? Perhaps he might be played more out of the square until his fitness picks up.

I guess it has to be remembered that he suffered from OP last year and has sort of been nursed through the pre-season.

I wasn't unhappy to Shannon Watts play today as he normally has a good game against us.
                Thought the same thing - Johnno will sleep a bit easier.

Originally posted by Mantis
                  Sounds promising.

When you say you have concerns about his fitness did this deminish his ability to move up and down the ground? Perhaps he might be played more out of the square until his fitness picks up.

I guess it has to be remembered that he suffered from OP last year and has sort of been nursed through the pre-season.
                  He seems to be out of sorts for periods of the game and yes it did diminish his ability to work as hard as he wanted to. What it indicates to me is that he should still be a way off playing senior football despite some encouraging form.

• The Coon Dog

Originally posted by comrade
                    Thought the same thing - Johnno will sleep a bit easier.
                    Pratt usually gets Johnno doesn't he?
                    [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

Originally posted by The Coon Dog
                      I thought Watts also matches up on him - could be wrong.

Oh i can't wait to see Grant in full flight at AFL level.

Originally posted by The Coon Dog
                          Originally posted by comrade
                          I thought Watts also matches up on him - could be wrong.
                          Watts has definitely stitched him up at least a couple of times.

Looks like Welsh is not far away from senior selection.

Great reports Comrade and GVGjr. I love reading about the development of the younger brigade.

terrific work lads,very much appreciated