BOG to Macrae

28-04-2017, 07:39 AM
Giants by 35
Macrae BOG
Stringer first major

28-04-2017, 07:58 AM
Dogs by 3 (GWS will lead early and look the better team for much of the match, but we'll hang in there, they'll progressively tighten and we'll find a way)
1st goal: T.Boyd
BOG: Dahlhaus

28-04-2017, 08:50 AM
GWS by 46 (Cameron/Greene to tear us up)
Ist goal - McLean
Bog - Dahl
Crowd- under 10k.

28-04-2017, 09:08 AM
Dogs by 17 points
First goal-Hunter
BOG-Daniel

28-04-2017, 09:30 AM
Dogs by 11
First Goal: Hunter
BOG: The Bont

28-04-2017, 10:25 AM
Plastics by 21 pts
Bog Libba
1st goal jake

28-04-2017, 11:06 AM
GWS by 18
BOG The Bont
1st Goal Picken

28-04-2017, 12:21 PM
Turned on the TV this morning and was delighted to see the PF was on, picked up the action at the 5min of the last qtr and parked my arse on the couch... I hope we have that type of performance in us, but concerned about our clearance issues & lapses in defensive pressure which need to be at there best agaisnt a very talented team.

Heading up this afternoon with my ski gear packed.. Looking forward to a cracking contest.

28-04-2017, 12:51 PM
Turned on the TV this morning and was delighted to see the PF was on, picked up the action at the 5min of the last qtr and parked my arse on the couch... I hope we have that type of performance in us, but concerned about our clearance issues & lapses in defensive pressure which need to be at there best agaisnt a very talented team.

Heading up this afternoon with my ski gear packed.. Looking forward to a cracking contest.

Clearences and contested possession are going to be so important tonight. And I'm worried we don't have a versatile Hamling type in defence that can move straight from Cameron to Greene and be as nullifying/effective on both. He seems a big loss in these really important games.

28-04-2017, 01:19 PM
How do we set up our backs tonight? Fletch on Patton, Cordy on Cameron and Wood on Greene? What do we do about Lobbe and does Adams start forward?

28-04-2017, 01:42 PM
Clearences and contested possession are going to be so important tonight. And I'm worried we don't have a versatile Hamling type in defence that can move straight from Cameron to Greene and be as nullifying/effective on both. He seems a big loss in these really important games.
Morris even moreso. All things considered, our defence has stood up really well so far this year - especially given Boyd, Wood and Biggs form has also dropped off.

28-04-2017, 01:52 PM
Some key stats:

Clearances - GWS 1, WB 16,

Cont.Poss: GWS - 4 WB 7

Centre Clr - GWS - 2 WB 18

Stoppages - GWS 1, WB 7

Tackles GWS 16, WB 1

28-04-2017, 01:54 PM
I would be hoping that Adams plays in defence tonight.

28-04-2017, 02:01 PM
I hope Cordy's knee goes to Greene's chin.

28-04-2017, 02:02 PM
Some key stats:

Stoppages - GWS 1, WB 7

Tackles GWS 16, WB 1

However, we are 3rd for most disposals, to 10th, equal first (with GWS) for disposal eff. and GWS are 10th for clangers compared to us 18th.

We need to deny them the ball, and use it efficiently.

28-04-2017, 02:26 PM
Dogs by 6 points
First goal Boyd
BOG Libba

28-04-2017, 03:54 PM
Dogs by 1 point
First goal Smith
BOG: Hunter

28-04-2017, 04:05 PM
Dogs to click into gear and turn up the heat on a freezing Canberra night.

Dogs by 28 after being a goal up at 3Q time.
BOG: Bont
FG: Clay Smith (after out marking Heath Shaw)

28-04-2017, 04:43 PM
Morris even moreso. All things considered, our defence has stood up really well so far this year - especially given Boyd, Wood and Biggs form has also dropped off.

Good point. I'd forgotten that Moz was out. Just so used to him being down back doing incredible things.

Some key stats:

Stoppages - GWS 1, WB 7

Tackles GWS 16, WB 1

We're going to have to turn those stats around (yes including tackles all you smarty pants's. It indicates we are second to the ball too often) or we will have our pants pulled down so far they will be buried under the ground. Then we will have to dig them up, probably with no pants on.

Best we turn those stats around.

28-04-2017, 05:34 PM
Dogs by 15. Hopefully we announce ourselves on the season
BOG- Bont
First goal- Smith (after beating Shaw one out)

28-04-2017, 05:47 PM
Dogs by negative 19 points
BOG Clay Smith
First Goal Bailey Williams

28-04-2017, 06:03 PM
Dogs by 29
BOG-Macrae
FG-Dahl
Crowd-8,426

28-04-2017, 07:36 PM
Campbell out Dale in apparently

28-04-2017, 08:00 PM
Dogs by 1
First goal - T Boyd
BOG - Macrae (40+ possies)

28-04-2017, 08:02 PM
Yep, Tom Campbell out. Bailey Dale in.

28-04-2017, 08:10 PM
Big opportunity for three kids tonight, Daniel, Dale & Williams. Looking forward to seeing them in the fire of a hot game (in the snow).

28-04-2017, 08:15 PM
Yep, Tom Campbell out. Bailey Dale in.

Campbell out laughable.

28-04-2017, 08:16 PM
I want to believe ... but fear the timing isn't quite right against this mob.

Giants by 36

With a deftly placed knee from Zaine somewhere within to ease the pain.

28-04-2017, 08:16 PM
So was Campbell always a likely omission? If so then Bevo would seem to be giving Tom Boyd a massive vote of confidence to rediscover his mojo against Mummy and Lobb.
Going to take a monster effort from Boydy to replicate his prelim efforts against those two big guys all night.

28-04-2017, 08:42 PM
Watching the Fox Footy pre-match, just making sure we're actually playing tonight. Been wall to wall Giants coverage, pathetic.

28-04-2017, 08:44 PM
Watching the Fox Footy pre-match, just making sure we're actually playing tonight. Been wall to wall Giants coverage, pathetic.

Unacceptable. I hope we can give the Giants some more scars tonight.

28-04-2017, 08:46 PM
As much as it galls me to see the Fox Footy GWS love in going on pre game, on exposed form its fair enough.
They are after 5 rounds along with Adelaide the clear competition benchmarks so far. Whilst we have been very shaky against fairly ordinary opposition.
Hope we win as that will really get Fox and the footy world very focused again on our team's credentials.

28-04-2017, 08:50 PM
As much as it galls me to see the Fox Footy GWS love in going on pre game, on exposed form its fair enough.
They are after 5 rounds along with Adelaide the clear competition benchmarks so far. Whilst we have been very shaky against fairly ordinary opposition.
Hope we win as that will really get Fox and the footy world very focused again on our team's credentials.

Fox Footy have been completely disrespectful to us tonight. Scant mention of Clay Smith playing 50 games. If it was Daniel Menzel, it'd be an hour long special.

28-04-2017, 08:53 PM
Shepherd the ball over the boundary line, get a free. Well done AFEL.

28-04-2017, 08:53 PM
Deliberate my arse..

Only paid because it was T Boyd.

28-04-2017, 08:54 PM
Soft free to Ward before.

28-04-2017, 08:55 PM
AFL is just rubbish. Get rid of boundary umpires that is what they want

28-04-2017, 08:58 PM
Intensity needs to lift a bit more.

28-04-2017, 08:59 PM
Good work from Adams before.

28-04-2017, 08:59 PM
Suckers gets the first

28-04-2017, 09:00 PM
AFL is just rubbish. Get rid of boundary umpires that is what they want

Not sure what Boyd's supposed to do there. Kick it into the corridor apparently.

28-04-2017, 09:01 PM
Patton won't go hard, he doesn't like footsteps

28-04-2017, 09:02 PM
Smith looks so slow on the lead

28-04-2017, 09:03 PM
Over the line!

28-04-2017, 09:03 PM
That was out on the full

28-04-2017, 09:04 PM
Ward and Mummy down? That could be good...

28-04-2017, 09:04 PM
Suckling goaling has steadied the ship. Looking quite good.

28-04-2017, 09:09 PM
We are leading 13-11 in tackles.

28-04-2017, 09:11 PM
Beautiful intercept from Jong. He is a great marker. Needs to convert.

28-04-2017, 09:13 PM
Jong in it again. Great pressure. Daniel goals.

That was magnificent from Jong on the wing then, stopped them in their tracks, caught them too far forward.

Excellent finish Daniel.

Amazing tackle by Jong

Lin Jong that's your goal son. Great second effort.

28-04-2017, 09:14 PM
Well played by Jong.

28-04-2017, 09:14 PM
JJ, Jong, Macrae, Suckling been quite good.

28-04-2017, 09:15 PM
Loving our tackling pressure right now. We keep that up will do well.

28-04-2017, 09:16 PM
We've clicked into the right gear.

28-04-2017, 09:17 PM
Well done Easton Wood.

28-04-2017, 09:18 PM
Fletch disguised that deliberate sublimely.

28-04-2017, 09:20 PM
We need to make sure we take advantsge on the scoreboard tonight.

28-04-2017, 09:21 PM
We are working hard.

28-04-2017, 09:21 PM
A ball is kicked 40 metres, lands 20 metres inside the boundary line, bounces at right angles and it is deliberate ?
Ridiculous.

28-04-2017, 09:22 PM
Well we're right in it.

They're carrying on like they won a prelim and then went on to win the flag instead of us.

28-04-2017, 09:23 PM
A ball is kicked 40 metres, lands 20 metres inside the boundary line, bounces at right angles and it is deliberate ?
Ridiculous.

Something needs to change with this.

28-04-2017, 09:23 PM
Bailey Dale just about doubled his career AFL touches that quarter.

28-04-2017, 09:25 PM
From that 1st quarter once again our defensive efforts are really good.

28-04-2017, 09:25 PM
Not unhappy with that quarter. We are fighting hard. Good defensive efforts.

28-04-2017, 09:26 PM
Bailey Dale just about doubled his career AFL touches that quarter.

Started pretty poorly. Looked rattled early, settled.

28-04-2017, 09:27 PM
Fantastic effort so far. We've brought the fierce pack mentality to the game tonight. GWS have a lot of talent, but so far we are asking questions of their heart tonight. I love it.
They love a game on their terms and so far we've denied them that.
This has the makings of a wonderful contest.
I hope we can wrest the game from them this quarter andcsee how much heart GWS possess.

28-04-2017, 09:29 PM
I think GWS have been fortunate in that a lot of spoils have gone to their advantage. Still, we are well in this.

28-04-2017, 09:30 PM
Some good plays from Daniel.

28-04-2017, 09:32 PM
Nearly a Stringer classic.

28-04-2017, 09:33 PM
Why the hell wasn't there a free kick against Green for tunnelling?

28-04-2017, 09:34 PM

Thought the same myself. Looked a free

28-04-2017, 09:34 PM

Same reason he's even playing tonight.

28-04-2017, 09:35 PM
What annoys you they have got 2 goals in a row.

28-04-2017, 09:36 PM
That was not deliberate from Stringer.

28-04-2017, 09:36 PM
Getting crucified...

28-04-2017, 09:37 PM
The AFL is such an idiotic organisation. They are so lucky they have no real viable competitor.

28-04-2017, 09:38 PM
Bonti star

28-04-2017, 09:38 PM
Good finish from the Bont. Jeez we look short compared to them.

28-04-2017, 09:39 PM
Bonti!

The AFL is such an idiotic organisation. They are so lucky they have no real viable competitor.

Yep. Although to be fair, in the preseason they said mis kicks wouldn't be called.

Hard to beat 22 players and 3 umpires looking in one direction.

Bob playing well

28-04-2017, 09:40 PM
Stringer pushed in the kick, off the side of the boot and that it deliberate too...........AFL that is a joke

28-04-2017, 09:42 PM
Bonti!!

I love Bonts. Like love, love.

How *!*!*!*!ing good is the Bont?

28-04-2017, 09:43 PM
Boyd ran into the opposition ruck in a ruck contest. Yep, that's a free too.

28-04-2017, 09:46 PM
I know people on here rate him but I don't think Dale is up to it.

28-04-2017, 09:48 PM
Enjoying Dahl & McLean's endeavour.

28-04-2017, 09:50 PM

Kicking ourselves out of it maybe.

28-04-2017, 09:52 PM
We're having to work so unbelievably hard to get a goal. But, the good thing is we're working really hard.

28-04-2017, 09:52 PM
Stringer - no time to think, sweet as a nut.

28-04-2017, 09:53 PM
Beautiful tap by Mummy, straight down Stringers throat.

Thankyouverymuch.

28-04-2017, 09:53 PM
Is it me, or does Clay look really, really slow tonight?

28-04-2017, 09:54 PM
Bang bang.

28-04-2017, 10:00 PM
Bailey Williams might hold his spot on tonight's showing.

28-04-2017, 10:01 PM
Another good quarter, but jeez, we should be further in front.

28-04-2017, 10:02 PM
10-12 more shots at goal, 9 point lead. Talk about doing all the hard, hard work for less than maximum reward.

28-04-2017, 10:02 PM
I love Bonts. Like love, love.

Oh..i'd turn for the Bont.

28-04-2017, 10:03 PM
Is it me, or does Clay look really, really slow tonight?

He is slow.

28-04-2017, 10:03 PM
He is slow.

But more than usual right?

28-04-2017, 10:04 PM
great quarter

28-04-2017, 10:05 PM
We have rediscovered our desire to compete unconditionally at every contest for every second of the game.
GWS will come back again, they will reorganise their setup and have another crack. We need to keep tough and break them down again from contest to contest and then we have to capitalise.
This looks similar to the prelim right now.

28-04-2017, 10:07 PM
Gee it's good to see Stinger playing like himself. Just makes the whole forward setup more dangerous when he's in form.

28-04-2017, 10:07 PM
Just need to kick straight. The only thing missing

28-04-2017, 10:09 PM
Knew we'd click into gear for this game. Giants are rattled.

This is prelim v2.0.

28-04-2017, 10:10 PM
Fantastic effort that quarter.

Tommy Boyd is working really hard to hurt Mummy outside of the contest and we should try and go through him as much as possible.

28-04-2017, 10:12 PM
Just need to kick straight. The only thing missing

It would be nice for a couple more but like the last few weeks were putting it front and centre and bottling it in. We're never going to get a high % with such an unorthodox approach

28-04-2017, 10:14 PM
It would be nice for a couple more but like the last few weeks were putting it front and centre and bottling it in. We're never going to get a high % with such an unorthodox approach

It's the only approach we can really take given the conditions and our personnel issues.

Get it to the mouth, get it to ground and grind out a score. Lock it in if you can't, rinse and repeat.

28-04-2017, 10:15 PM
A few players need to lift. Libba 4 disposals, Jong 6, Clay 5, Dunkley 6.

Not good enough

28-04-2017, 10:19 PM
This Duck love-in on Ch7 is so perverted.

28-04-2017, 10:19 PM
Dunkley > Campbell

28-04-2017, 10:20 PM
They just showed the players missing through injury up on the screen.

We're doing just fine tonight.

28-04-2017, 10:29 PM
The young umpire (Curtis Deboy) who is the Grant Denyer look a like is a mate of mine. He's having a break through year as an ump

That was so wasteful from Daniel and Libba this quarter. We're going to get burned missing the easy ones.

5 behinds in a row. 1 goal to them.

They're net 1 point ahead with 4 less shots... Kick straight boys.

These misses are killing us.

Just loving our efforts tonight in a big game. Stringer kicking some important goals as well as Bont. JJ going really well and Bob playing well in his 301st. Defence now has to be on song now.

28-04-2017, 10:31 PM
It's the only approach we can really take given the conditions and our personnel issues.

Get it to the mouth, get it to ground and grind out a score. Lock it in if you can't, rinse and repeat.

No complaints but a high goal to behind ratio is not going to happen with this style.

28-04-2017, 10:33 PM
Bailey Williams is going to be fantastic

I think we are around 15th in the comp with our accuracy. Needs to be better.

Apart from that bit

28-04-2017, 10:34 PM

I think we are around 15th in the comp with our accuracy. Needs to be better.

That won't be an issue after this round Eastie, we'll be well worse than that!

28-04-2017, 10:34 PM
How can we be behind. Really awful to know they've worked their guts outs for 15 behinds before 3/4 time...

28-04-2017, 10:36 PM
Noooo, Bobby....

28-04-2017, 10:37 PM

Isn't signed for next year, yet

28-04-2017, 10:38 PM
Behind watch: 16

28-04-2017, 10:38 PM
Noooo, Bobby....

Hopefully not too serious. At least Bob now has he 300th but so frustrating again as we want him out there.

28-04-2017, 10:40 PM
That won't be an issue after this round Eastie, we'll be well worse than that!

The way we are going in that stat for sure.

28-04-2017, 10:42 PM
Libba that was a disgraceful kick forward. You need to lift.

28-04-2017, 10:43 PM
Behind Watch: 17

28-04-2017, 10:44 PM
We need Dickson back. Desperately.

28-04-2017, 10:44 PM
Behind Watch: 17

Will get 30 at this rates needs to improve now from this point on.

28-04-2017, 10:45 PM

Could provide us a spark right now.

28-04-2017, 10:45 PM
34 behinds in under 7 quarters.

28-04-2017, 10:46 PM
Could provide some accuracy at goal was what I was thinking!

28-04-2017, 10:47 PM
Dahlhaus is the man

28-04-2017, 10:48 PM
Toby Green is such a shit. He's such a shit.

Greene you ****

Toby Greene, you are gone, you pug-nosed doofus!

Thanks Toby

TOBY GREENE - AFL take a look

28-04-2017, 10:49 PM

We need Cloke back in to straighten us up!

You're a prick Green.

Toby Greene, you are a worthless thug.

That was superbly spotted by the umpire. The fact that he tried to deny it was hilarious.

Will that be enough contact to get that filthy little $#$# rubbed out.

Toby Greene, you are gone, you pug-nosed doofus!

3rd week in a row

Greene you ****

Ditto

28-04-2017, 10:50 PM
3rd week in a row

Good on the MRP. Already said no case to answer. Phew.

28-04-2017, 10:51 PM
What's the difference between Toby Greene and a 69? With a 69 you can see the #### coming

28-04-2017, 10:51 PM
Toby Greene, you are a worthless thug.

That was superbly spotted by the umpire. The fact that he tried to deny it was hilarious.

Not just hilarious, indicative of the character of the twerp.

28-04-2017, 10:52 PM
it keeps getting worse because he keeps getting away with it. Deliberate swing. He has to be suspended or he will just keep doing it.

28-04-2017, 10:52 PM
The army wants Greene.........sniper

28-04-2017, 10:53 PM
We're gonna outpoint them tonight. Sorry.

28-04-2017, 10:54 PM
If we needed a reason to break greene's jaw in a scrum, that was it....where's cordy's knee when you need it ;)

Cool to see some Western Bulldogs advertising.

Great game. This is set up.
Hope we don't rue the missed chances.
Gotta love the spirit of our guys if not their finishing skills
I know its a well worn cliche, but tge first goal in the last is vital i think to the outcome.

28-04-2017, 10:55 PM
I'm right behind you boys.

28-04-2017, 10:55 PM
Dirty sniping prick

28-04-2017, 10:57 PM
Bailey Williams has been calm with the ball.

Inside 50's - 50 to 36, we just don't have a marking forward

MRP have a case to answer and the whole pathetic bunch should be sent straight to the tribunal for matters of disrepute to our game.

Greene should not be playing this week. MRP endorse this behaviour and he goes another step closer to breaking a clean player's jaw.

How frustrating it must be to be an AFL umpire who clearly know what this sniper is about.

28-04-2017, 11:00 PM
Bonti!!!

28-04-2017, 11:00 PM
Kelly is good, but thanks for passing on drafting Bonts GWS.

28-04-2017, 11:01 PM
Bonti!!!

Just is so great in the big moments. Hasn't been the best tonight but you cannot underestimate his power in those moments.

28-04-2017, 11:05 PM
Easton that was dumb. Really really dumb.

28-04-2017, 11:05 PM
Tell ya Grant Denyer looking mate he's a knob.

28-04-2017, 11:06 PM
Dumb by Easton but how long did he have the ball for.

28-04-2017, 11:09 PM
Clay Smith useless

28-04-2017, 11:10 PM
Horrible effort hy Williams

28-04-2017, 11:11 PM
Clay Smith useless

That was not great by Clay.

28-04-2017, 11:12 PM
Clay Smith useless

He's been beyond horrible tonight.

28-04-2017, 11:12 PM
Only got ourselves to blame. 17 behinds is criminal.

28-04-2017, 11:13 PM
Not feeling good. We needed to bank some goals when they got their momentum. Can we get momentum back?

28-04-2017, 11:13 PM
Clay Smith useless

Easton Wood having a bad year

28-04-2017, 11:14 PM
Clay smith is cooked.

28-04-2017, 11:14 PM
65m penalty?

28-04-2017, 11:15 PM
Bloody Greene

28-04-2017, 11:15 PM
Easton Wood having a bad year

I thought Wood's looked a bit better tonight.

28-04-2017, 11:16 PM
We lost it in the 2nd quarter.

Come on we need another surge

I'd be happy to sacrifice Clay for a few weeks, I reckon he should knock Greene's head off.

Clay smith is cooked.

We are cooked. We all said you couldn't kick 17 behinds two weeks in a row and win. We were all right.

28-04-2017, 11:18 PM
Come on we need another surge

It is coming!

28-04-2017, 11:18 PM
JJ one disposal in the 2nd half

28-04-2017, 11:19 PM
Huge now for our defence to hold firm and for us to score.

Great work Bob but was all wasted in the forward line.

That was the chance.

28-04-2017, 11:20 PM
That was the chance.

And we *!*!*!*!ing blew it.

28-04-2017, 11:22 PM
It is coming!

STrinnnnnnnngggerrrrr

28-04-2017, 11:23 PM
Stringer another great in those moments. Kicks a excellent goal under pressure.

Well Stringer got one of nothing. Let's steal this one

That was an amazing goal from Stringer.

28-04-2017, 11:25 PM
Not deliberate, you cheating pricks.

28-04-2017, 11:29 PM
Cracking contest, we should be very proud of our efforts

What a disgraceful evening. We really screwed ourselves tonight, and should be completely ashamed with our finishing.

Really proud of the effort. Really annoyed with the outcome.

Umpires were just too good for GWS tonight. Can't compete against 22 and shit umpiring.

19 points is criminal too.

Thanks a lot poor umpiring.
Bad goalkicking and poor umpiring cost us.
How was that not a high tackle on Macrae

28-04-2017, 11:30 PM
High tackle on Macrae not paid, open your eyes moron

Not deliberate, you cheating pricks.

That was unbelievable. He made up a deflection on the most obvious deliberate of the night.

Then to miss the Macrae too high in the last was the cherry on top.

I didn't think i could hate GWS any more than i already did. I was wrong.

28-04-2017, 11:31 PM
They kicked 2 from acute angles. We couldn't hit the side of a barn door. Disgraceful kicking.

28-04-2017, 11:31 PM
That was unbelievable. He made up a deflection on the most obvious deliberate of the night.

Yet paid the one against Kennedy. Deliberate out of bounds is a farce

28-04-2017, 11:32 PM
Thanks a lot poor umpiring.
Bad goalkicking and poor umpiring cost us.
How was that not a high tackle on Macrae

It's why the free kick count means nothing.

I'm dirty on our poor goalkicking and on the umpiring.
Ruined an otherwise riveting contest.

No marking forwards, bad kicking and some poor efforts from some players lost us the game. 19 behinds just kills you. Very disappointed, and I hate the plastics even more.

28-04-2017, 11:33 PM

That's the most deliberate in the VFL/AFL history, including when it was ok. You know the fix is on when that doesn't get paid and Macrae has his head taken off and nothing again. The outcry on social media and afl journos/industry is working. We are getting screwed, and we are screwing ourselves, we don't need anymore against us.

28-04-2017, 11:33 PM
We lost that, they didnt win it.

19 behinds is disgraceful.

28-04-2017, 11:34 PM
Hope that burns in our belly. We were the better team. We beat ourselves & let poor umpiring cost us.

28-04-2017, 11:35 PM
Isn't signed for next year, yet

You reckon he's heading home?

28-04-2017, 11:37 PM
Give em this one and beat them when it counts.

28-04-2017, 11:37 PM
Hope that burns in our belly. We were the better team. We beat ourselves & let poor umpiring cost us.

I am not going to blame the umpires, but the AFL have to rethink the bullshit deliberate business, it is spoiling the game.

28-04-2017, 11:40 PM
What rubbish from Channel 7, GWS cannot be thought of as a young team. In fact we were younger than them tonight with 74 av to their 89 games and a whole year on average in age.

28-04-2017, 11:41 PM
Seriously. That phantom confusing 50m penalty was the difference in the last quarter. The ump blows his whistle and Wood is not looking at him after giving Patton way too much time. Seriously. In a tight game ump has no perspective.

28-04-2017, 11:41 PM
I feel sick about that.

That's a game we should have never lost.

28-04-2017, 11:42 PM
Why hasn't our goal kicking improved?

Question needs to be asked. It cost us the game and whilst I'm immensely proud we simply should have won. Very disappointing that we blew it.

28-04-2017, 11:42 PM
Seriously. That phantom confusing 50m penalty was the difference in the last quarter. The ump blows his whistle and Wood is not looking at him anftet giving Patton way too much time. Seriously. In a tight game ump has no perspective.

Wasn't having a shot and held it for an eternity. The umpires use no common sense.

28-04-2017, 11:45 PM
Wasn't having a shot and held it for an eternity. The umpires use no common sense.

Got to wait for the ump to call. 3 paid against us tonight and very costly.

If that's the flag favourite, then we're not far off...

I'm comfortable with that...!

Seriously. That phantom confusing 50m penalty was the difference in the last quarter. The ump blows his whistle and Wood is not looking at him anftet giving Patton way too much time. Seriously. In a tight game ump has no perspective.

The umpire called Patton to move it on. That was a genuinely stupid thing for Easton to do. You can't move on the ball carrier until you hear the umpire call play on. It is AFL basics and not good enough to mess that up at such a crucial time.

28-04-2017, 11:47 PM
If that's the flag favourite, then we're not far off...

I'm comfortable with that...!

Yep. They hold no fear.

28-04-2017, 11:47 PM
Proud of our efforts tonight but our kicking at goal is woeful. Sucks losing by 2 points.

28-04-2017, 11:48 PM
Disappointed with Boyd's kick in the last but overall the boys did a great job.

28-04-2017, 11:50 PM
Disappointed with Boyd's kick in the last but overall the boys did a great job.

Yeah I agree Boyd could of done a bit better.

28-04-2017, 11:52 PM
Not sure about our 'long bombs to Snake' game plan in the last 10 minutes - just needed to be more composed spotting up the shorter target inside forward 50. Good effort and shows we are in the frame in 2017.

Was only a matter of time before goal kicking was going to hurt us in a game.

Got to wait for the ump to call. 3 paid against us tonight and very costly.

No doubt the umpire yelled play it on but because he didn't blow his whistle it was technically there, just no common sense applied in the situation.

If we bring the intent like we did tonight and can get a handle on our goalkicking woes we are on back on track.
So disappointed given we've played far worse each game this year and managed 4 wins.

28-04-2017, 11:55 PM
No doubt the umpire yelled play it on but because he didn't blow his whistle it was technically there, just no common sense applied in the situation.

It doesn't have to be applied. It's play on or it isn't, umps didn't call it so it's not play on. In such a close game those 50s are a big reason thr result didn't go our way.

28-04-2017, 11:55 PM
Why hasn't our goal kicking improved?

Question needs to be asked. It cost us the game and whilst I'm immensely proud we simply should have won. Very disappointing that we blew it.

I should have been addressed 2 years back and while we make some noise about it I really don't think we will do anything drastic to fix it. Dickson back in a week or two might help

28-04-2017, 11:57 PM
Not sure about our 'long bombs to Snake' game plan in the last 10 minutes - just needed to be more composed spotting up the shorter target inside forward 50. Good effort and shows we are in the frame in 2017.

Was only a matter of time before goal kicking was going to hurt us in a game.

Sign of a fatigued and pressured group.

28-04-2017, 11:57 PM
That's the most deliberate in the VFL/AFL history, including when it was ok. You know the fix is on when that doesn't get paid and Macrae has his head taken off and nothing again.
They definitely missed the Macrae free but I thought Mumford was illegally spoiled in the marking contest just before this. The missed deliberate free was a shocker as well. Umps miss them sometimes - I'm not too fussed about tonight.

Tom Boyd's miss was incredibly poor - he almost missed the ball. It wasn't the only bad shot at goal but that was a diabolical kick.

28-04-2017, 11:58 PM
Can I ask why when we kick poorly and win our goal kicking isn't really an issue but when we lose it's now time to get it fixed?

28-04-2017, 11:59 PM
They definitely missed the Macrae free but I thought Mumford was illegally spoiled in the marking contest just before this. The missed deliberate free was a shocker as well. Umps miss them sometimes - I'm not too fussed about tonight.

Tom Boyd's miss was incredibly poor - he almost missed the ball. It wasn't the only bad shot at goal but that was a diabolical kick.

Patton kicks one from general admission. Boyd barely hit his own foot.

29-04-2017, 12:00 AM
Can I ask why when we kick poorly and win our goal kicking isn't really an issue but when we lose it's now time to get it fixed?

It gets complained about every time, and has since the start of WOOF. Happy to quote about 10,000 posts about it.

29-04-2017, 12:00 AM

I'd like to see our clean shots to forced shot ratio. Behinds are coming from scraping shots at goal by getting it deep inside 50 and scrapping to score. 3 weeks in a row with similar score lines.

29-04-2017, 12:06 AM

Yes it is a fair question GVG. We won comfortably last week in the end but 17.20 could have kicked over 20 goals.

29-04-2017, 12:07 AM
Do we think Clay is carrying an injury?

Looks a different player

29-04-2017, 12:12 AM
Patton kicks one from general admission. Boyd barely hit his own foot.
Shame because he was pretty good in the ruck and around the ground tonight - the wider public will focus on that kick, but he'll have to wear that.

Our 'long bombs to Snake' delivery into forward 50 tonight was the poorest element of our performance tonight. If we can get the front 1/3rd firing on all cylinders - delivery into F50 and of course conversion - we are in this season up to our eyeballs again.

29-04-2017, 12:13 AM
Watch the replay. He blew his whistle.

29-04-2017, 12:13 AM
Do we think Clay is carrying an injury?

Looks a different player

I said from the start of the year he needed to spend more time at VFL level. He didn't look good in the pre-season games, and the games he has played, he hasn't impacted as much as last season. Tonight he only had 2 tackles.

29-04-2017, 12:15 AM
Watch the replay. He blew his whistle.

Blowing your whistle doesn't signify play on. Calling play on signals play on.

29-04-2017, 12:16 AM
Patton had the ball for 9+ seconds in general play. The rule is 6 seconds.

**** umpiring.

29-04-2017, 12:17 AM
I said from the start of the year he needed to spend more time at VFL level. He didn't look good in the pre-season games, and the games he has played, he hasn't impacted as much as last season. Tonight he only had 2 tackles.

You have to be able to catch them to apply a tackle. Look very slow tonight. We would get more from Wally or Dicko if they pull up all right from today.

29-04-2017, 12:19 AM
You have to be able to catch them to apply a tackle. Look very slow tonight. We would get more from Wally or Dicko if they pull up all right from today.

Wally 33 disposals and 3 goals, but apparently Bevo says he may need another week in the VFL

29-04-2017, 12:19 AM
Our goalkicking problems seem endemic.
Last week we repeatedly missed easy gets.
This week, apart from Libba's miss we seemed to be missing more due to the scrabbly nature of our shots on goal or due to having lots of set shots from lower percentage positions.
Apart from Dickson ww just don't seem to have guys who are reliable kicks from difficult positions.
Patton, Greene and Cameron kicked the harder percentage shots when it was their turn. Whereas Stringer, Boyd, Dunkley, Jong & Smith missed, and often do.