This corner milk bar is now a destination cafe with added Bontempelli magic

image.png

When a new cafe opens in your suburb, there’s usually a little buzz around it. But selling close to 500 coffees on day one is the kind of energy that only comes with stardom. At Arthur’s Milk Bar in Kew, it’s the lure of co-owner Marcus Bontempelli. Western Bulldogs star Marcus Bontempelli and partner Neila Brenning have opened a cafe in Kew.Joe Armao
    The Western Bulldogs captain and midfielder opened the cafe with partner Neila Brenning on the Easter long weekend, hoping to find their feet while Melbourne was quiet.

“We were scrambling a little for more milk, more coffee [from our supplier]. I don’t think we quite anticipated the interest,” says Bontempelli.

The corner cafe in Kew’s private school belt has been under construction for more than six months, with Bontempelli and his father even on the tools, as it went from a triple shopfront to one unified space.

Bontempelli and Brenning bought the site in 2020 for Brenning to explore her interests in design, art and music, and for Bontempelli, 29, to pursue a business beyond his
    football career. 1 / 6Pancakes are thick and served with butter, blueberry compote and maple syrup.Joe Armao 2 / 6Western Bulldogs star Marcus Bontempelli and partner Neila Brenning have opened a cafe in Kew.Joe Armao 3 / 6The cafe sits on a corner surrounded by private schools and residences.Joe Armao 4 / 6Turkish eggs were the inspiration for an omelette served with fermented chilli butter and whipped yoghurt.Joe Armao 5 / 6A warm and retro feel, nodding to North American diners, is obvious in the design.Joe Armao 6 / 6Buffalo chicken stars in a fried chicken sandwich that’s saucy and spicy.Joe Armao
    Previous SlideNext Slide
    “That creative outlet is important and was really appealing to both of us,” says Brenning, although she acknowledges that it’s a well-worn path from football grounds to coffee grinds.

For Bontempelli, who says he spends a lot of time in cafes, “you’ve got different periods of time in-season to get out of the footy space, and business interests me”. A warm and retro feel, nodding to North American diners, is obvious in the design.Joe Armao

Arthur’s is the product of many influences, including the diners of Brenning’s childhood in Canada and the building’s time as a milk bar owned by Arthur and Frida Kakousis, who still live in the neighbourhood and gave their blessing to carry on the name.
    ‘We were scrambling a little for more milk, more coffee [from our supplier]. I don’t think we quite anticipated the interest.’
    Marcus Bontempelli, co-owner

“We really want to bring back that sense of community … that Arthur’s had provided to the area,” says Brenning.

The original Pura Milk sign has been retained and there’s bread, milk and fresh flowers for sale, as well as lolly bags for kids.

Buffalo chicken stars in a fried chicken sandwich that’s saucy and spicy.Joe Armao
    Exposed brick, brown leather banquettes and cabinetry are mixed with checked upholstery and burnt red tones in the design by Studio Esteta, who also worked on Lune’s Fitzroy flagship. Two 1960s futuristic-style lights, made by Edison using plumbing pipe, sit above the coffee bar.

Aussie brunch staples like avocado toast are threaded through a menu that covers wholesome porridge made with macadamia milk; a big brekkie with cheese kransky; and a deli plate of salmon gravlax, poached egg and latkes (the Jewish potato fritters).

Thick buttermilk pancakes with blueberry compote, butter and maple syrup nod to North American diners. Saucy, spicy buffalo chicken sandwiches come on a brioche-like roll and are a Bontempelli favourite. The breakfast plate includes salmon gravlax, guacamole, potato latkes and more.Joe Armao

“It’s a huge breath of fresh air for the area,” says manager Lucabella McLeish, who previously managed Kupid Espresso nearby and knows the neighbourhood, to the point of attending former customers’ birthdays and funerals.

Coffee is by Inglewood, and for kids there’s fairy bread, ham and cheese toasties, and a simple napoli pasta.

As for whether Bont will be putting in shifts behind the espresso machine, that’s unlikely.

“He’s proud and wants to be involved so much, but it’s striking that right balance,” says Brenning.

Open for breakfast and lunch daily

124-126 Edgevale Road, Kew, instagram.com/arthursmilkbar

LINK

• Axe Man

Kew? Trade to Hawthorn confirmed.

Joe Armao
    Joe Armao
    Joe Armao

I've seen the Bont around the area a couple of times over the last few years.

This is around the corner from my place, actually drove past it over the weekend to see how it was coming along. Might pop in to grab a coffee one day soon.

• Scraggers
        Premiership Moderator

I've seen the Bont around the area a couple of times over the last few years.

This is around the corner from my place, actually drove past it over the weekend to see how it was coming along. Might pop in to grab a coffee one day soon.
        Take your membership card with you to see if you get discount.

Surprised he isn’t using Dimmatinas coffee it’s well known and top quality .
          come on Bont get with the program.

Originally posted by Scraggers

Take your membership card with you to see if you get discount.
            They'd charge me extra, as a povo surcharge I reckon.

Originally posted by ledge
              Not this side of town chump! We only drink coffee that's been shat out of some sort of mammal in advance of it being brewed.

Originally posted by ledge
                Best coffee is from Market Lane

• The Underdog

Not this side of town chump! We only drink coffee that's been shat out of some sort of mammal in advance of it being brewed.
                  Dimattina’s is filtered through an N95 mask and multiple conspiracy theories. Super smooth.