Re: Musicals

I'm going to see Jersey Boys in August- looking forward to it. I wish I had gone to Phantom of the Opera because I just love the story and the music, but it'll be back another time for sure.

• AndrewP6

Went to Buddy Holly Story today... terrific show, I must say. The musicians played great, singers were really good, and the show was very well produced. No wonder it's been going so long, all over the world. Great show @ The Palms at Crown.

• Sockeye Salmon

Originally posted by AndrewP6
        Went to Buddy Holly Story today... terrific show, I must say. The musicians played great, singers were really good, and the show was very well produced. No wonder it's been going so long, all over the world. Great show @ The Palms at Crown.
        WTF? The footy's on.

Bugger off until after the game.

• AndrewP6

Originally posted by Sockeye Salmon
          WTF? The footy's on.

Bugger off until after the game.
          Jeez, calm down... no one's forcing you to read, and if the footy being on is so vital, why are you on the computer?

• Sockeye Salmon

Originally posted by AndrewP6
            Jeez, calm down... no one's forcing you to read, and if the footy being on is so vital, why are you on the computer?
            Couldn't be stuffed going to the game.

The games in Brisbane and like most Bulldogs supporters, I'm not.

• AndrewP6

Originally posted by Sockeye Salmon
              Couldn't be stuffed going to the game.

The games in Brisbane and like most Bulldogs supporters, I'm not.
              me either...just made a harmless post on a show I'd come back from

• The Coon Dog

Went to see Jersey Boys last night.

Wow!!

What a show, very highly recommended.

The guy who usually plays Tommy De Vito has a crook knee so my mate had that role which made it all the more enjoyable.

Gee Bobby Fox was good as Frankie Valli, great voice.
                [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

• Max469

Originally posted by The Coon Dog
                  Went to see Jersey Boys last night.

Wow!!

What a show, very highly recommended.

The guy who usually plays Tommy De Vito has a crook knee so my mate had that role which made it all the more enjoyable.

Gee Bobby Fox was good as Frankie Valli, great voice.
                  Glad your mate got a show.

Brilliant show - hope to go again before it goes to Sydney.

Bobby Fox's voice is awesome.
                  [B][FONT="Book Antiqua"][COLOR="DarkOrchid"][I]I bleed Red,White & Blue[/I][/COLOR] [/FONT][/B]

• Keepa Movin' Griff

Went to see JB's @ Christmas, was very enjoyable. I think going to musicals is one of my favorite things to do (besides heading to etihad of course!). I've seen Les Mis, The Lion King, Caberet, Mamma Mia, Wicked.

Anyone see the weird ass one called Eureka about the Stockade a few years back? It was the worst thing i had ever seen, think it lasted about two weeks!!

• SonofScray
                      • Apr 2008

Going to see Rock of Ages in New York later this year. I see it is coming to Melbourne soon - will be interesting to see how it differs.

• SonofScray
                        • Apr 2008

Just thought I'd bump this thread.

I went to he USA late last year, staying in NYC for a week and a bit. Saw two musicals, one was 'Rock of Ages,' which I mentioned in the previous post. Holy Shit! Easily the best show I've seen, had a bit of everything, it was like something I'd always wanted to write myself - taking the piss out of those Time Life commercials "rock ballads cd set" etc. The whole Broadway experience was magic, the singing and costumes were awesome. If anyone has seen the doco "A Headbanger's Journey" you'll recognise the Dee Schneider comment here - this is a musical to swing your dick at. Just awesome.

Also saw 'Million Dollar Quartet,' a tribute to the recording at Sun Studios by Elvis, Jerry Lee Lewis, Johnny Cash and Carl Perkins. Magical, after having gone to Memphis and done all that music tourist stuff it was a real nice tie in. Bought the CD and listen to it every day at the moment. The guy who plays Jerry Lee stole the show and 'Johnny Cash' was terrific.

Beyond that I saw the Lion King in Vegas which was crazy in terms of costumes and the set, the venue etc. Performances overall were a bit underwhelming.

• KT31
                          • Jul 2008

SOS would Rock of Ages be alright for the teen pPups to see.
                          Was thinking of taking them to The Lion King ( see it in Melbourne and would love to see it on larger stage.

Would love to see the Book of Mormon by Matt Stone and Trey Parker.

• SonofScray
                              • Apr 2008

Originally posted by KT31
                              Was thinking of taking them to The Lion King ( see it in Melbourne and would love to see it on larger stage.
                              I suppose so, it'd be no worse than any teen comedy along the lines of an American Pie etc. Everything is pretty heavily cheesed up, I wouldn't have thought twice about taking any of my 15 yr or so family members.

Originally posted by KT31
                                They had the cast of Rock of Ages on stage before the Storm game on Saturday night doing three songs. Looks like it'd be a great show to see.