Re: The Top 50 80s Australian Songs

80's Week (again) coming up on Max (Foxtel)

Listening this arvo to earlier songs our Aussie bands, gotta say I'm loving it, especially INXS.

Also I heard some band butchering The Divinyls 'boys in town' to 'girls in town'. Governments should be legislating to stop this vandalism, or I shouldn't believe the radio station in giving the song a try. Awful. Chrissy would be suggestively turning in her grave, what a talent she was.

• Scraggers
      Premiership Moderator

This thread is 11 years old … and took a bit of finding. But is relevant once more.

Triple J are doing the Triple J Top 100 Australian Songs. You can vote on their website. It’s a bit clunky, and the list of their linked songs is very finite (particularly for 80s music). But you can self-enter your fave songs.

The worse part is only selecting 10 songs. So … here’s mine. I’d love to see yours too
      Attached Files

• mighty_west
        • Feb 2008

It would be a hard task to squeeze say 500 of your fave Oz tracks into 10, probably not top 10 but a couple of faves include, Beargarden - Drink Drink Drink, Schnell Fenster - Love Hate Relationship & Ok Alright A Huh Oh Yeah, INXS - We Are The Vegetables, Icehouse - Mr Big, Severed Heads - All Saints Day, Boxcar - Freemason........

Originally posted by Scraggers
          This thread is 11 years old … and took a bit of finding. But is relevant once more.

Triple J are doing the Triple J Top 100 Australian Songs. You can vote on their website. It’s a bit clunky, and the list of their linked songs is very finite (particularly for 80s music). But you can self-enter your fave songs.

The worse part is only selecting 10 songs. So … here’s mine. I’d love to see yours too

Pour vous scrag man.

I couldn't possibly put Big Pig Breakaway on my list but hot damn it is a GREAT song
          Last edited by EasternWest; 03-07-2025, 12:54 PM.

What a tough assignment. Great job in resurrecting this thread BTW!

This is tricky for me because such a substantial amount of leading Australian music talent has prospered in the electronic world. Australian producers have put together some of the most fascinating, deep and world impacting music across a range of electronic genres but I don't think that's the point entirely (if at all!).

• The Underdog

Originally posted by EasternWest

Por vouz scrag man.

I couldn't possibly put Big Pig Breakaway on my list but hot damn it is a GREAT song
              Top marks for Lock It and Blush. Well done my friend.

The first is one of the most technically sound tunes you'll ever here. The second is BMX Bandits so it's immediately awesome, the last is because white supremacist ****tards think it's about them. All amazing tunes.

This one......as much as I am the antithesis of the Melbourne Uni College set that loved these arses this tune is amazing:

Maybe post the tunes lads.....and maybe get over yourselves from a snob perspective. Everyone knows Two Strong Hearts by John F. is the filthiest tune ever made. He wants to feel his love inside you........
                          Last edited by jeemak; 25-06-2025, 01:11 AM.

Maybe post the tunes lads.....and maybe get over yourselves from a snob perspective. Everyone knows Two Strong Hearts by John F. is the filthiest tune ever made. He wants to feel his love inside you........

I don't know how to embed videos, but there's the links. Go off beautiful boy.

Also, I don't care what anyone says "That's Freedom" by your boy JF Is a banger.

• mjp

Hmmm>

I've done it. I found it incredibly hard and ended up voting for artists I guess more than songs.

Could have easily voted for another 50x tracks and certainly have regrets about leaving out the late 80's Indie bands (Hummingbirds, Clouds, Falling Joys et al) who I have played to death over the years...these days I tend to listen more to Ash Grunwald, Dan Sultan, Rowland S Howard etc so rolled with that.

I don't think 'Throw your arms around me' is close to H&C's best song but figured it was their best chance to win...similarly I thought the same about Shivers and Nick Cave.

Anyway...
                              You do not have permission to view this gallery.
                              This gallery has 1 photos.

Originally posted by mjp
                                Hmmm>

I've done it. I found it incredibly hard and ended up voting for artists I guess more than songs.

Could have easily voted for another 50x tracks and certainly have regrets about leaving out the late 80's Indie bands (Hummingbirds, Clouds, Falling Joys et al) who I have played to death over the years...these days I tend to listen more to Ash Grunwald, Dan Sultan, Rowland S Howard etc so rolled with that.

I don't think 'Throw your arms around me' is close to H&C's best song but figured it was their best chance to win...similarly I thought the same about Shivers and Nick Cave.

Anyway...
                                I've given you a like mate.