What don't you see at the cricket nowdays?

• The Coon Dog

What don't you see at the cricket nowdays?

Seeing as this worked so well of the footy side of things, I thought I'd apply it to our cricket board.

* Feilders in terry towelling hats, ala Ray Bright.

* Cotton cricket shirts with buttons. Dennis Lillee rarely did up any more than 2 buttons allowing the shirt to flap in the wind.

* Batsmen without helmets.

* Ice fights in the crowd.

* No stupid Mexican Waves.

* Test matches with the times of the 3 sessions being 11am-1pm, 1.40pm-3.40pm & 4pm-6pm.

* Touring teams not plugged into I-Pods wearing sunnies.
    [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

Re: What don't you see at the cricket nowdays?

- The fence as a boundary line.

- The real Bay 13

- World Series Cricket

This one's a bit tougher than the footy version...but here's a couple:

* A winning Australian team...!!!

* Deck chairs on the lower level of the Ponsford Stand - pre redevelopment

• mighty_west
        • Feb 2008

- aluminium bats

- shoulderless bats

- bouncers on a regular basis

- a strong West Indian side

- Greg Chappell hats

- legal underarm deliveries [threw that in just to stir up those Kiwi's]

The use of the word bumper instead of bouncer (is there a difference?)

• mighty_west
            • Feb 2008

Originally posted by ErnieSigley
            The use of the word bumper instead of bouncer (is there a difference?)
            Yeah i have actually noticed that Ernie, and from recent players such as Warnie, Gilly & co, maybe it was an Aussie thing? But a bouncer & bumper have always been the same as far as i know, bumper was more a word used in junior cricket.

Weird.

Originally posted by mighty_west

- legal underarm deliveries [threw that in just to stir up those Kiwi's]
              It's legal according to Mike Hussey. You have to inform the ump and it must bounce no more than once

More beer, more beer more beer,........
                And it was heavy and sold in cans!
                Women throwing their knickers from the second tier above bay 13.
                No night cricket.
                Players valuing their wicket.
                8 ball overs.
                No field restrictions except only 2 men behind square leg.
                Alan McGilvray and his commentary, tapping his pencil on his desk to make the sound of bat on ball.
                The little record books with the score sheets to be filled in as the test progressed.
                (Actually never used them for the real tests, they were filled in for important games in the back yard)
                Oil and holes being dug into pitches overnight to stop games.

• mighty_west
                  • Feb 2008

Originally posted by ledge
                  8 ball overs.
                  Lee & Tait bowl 8 ball overs on a regular basis!!!

• The Doctor

esky's

moustaches
                    Listening to Brahm's 3rd Racket

Umpire Dickie Bird
                      Motorcycle helmets
                      Happy hookers
                      5 all run at the MCG
                      Foam style eskys
                      1 single drunk drongo yelling out at the end of the day

Originally posted by mighty_west
                        Yeah i have actually noticed that Ernie, and from recent players such as Warnie, Gilly & co, maybe it was an Aussie thing? But a bouncer & bumper have always been the same as far as i know, bumper was more a word used in junior cricket.

Weird.

There was a difference in the test match game (the one with the 2 dials)

• The Coon Dog

Originally posted by ErnieSigley
                          There was a difference in the test match game (the one with the 2 dials)
                          Didn't you love it when you were bowled a bumper & were given out LBW??? Must have been that silly ump who gave Gavaskar out LB.
                          [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

Originally posted by Johnny Gent
                            This one's a bit tougher than the footy version...but here's a couple:

* A winning Australian team...!!!

* Deck chairs on the lower level of the Ponsford Stand - pre redevelopment
                            I sat on those deck chairs a couple of times. My mate was supposed to invite clients but he invited his mates.

The West indies having scary pacemen. The MCG grubbing one ball at the batsmans throat the next. Dennis LilleeUnderarm