• dog town

Have I missed something???

Why do I keep reading journalists, ex players and now even current players suggesting Mitch Johnson is the only certain selection as a bowler for the upcoming series? Did they see Peter Siddle over the last 2 series. I cant remember a bowler having that big an impact so early in his career for a very long time. He took big wickets, he was aggressive, he played in pain and he was our most economical bowler. For a guy as inexperienced as him I am amazed it is even being suggested that he wont play in the 1st test.

Re: Have I missed something???

Originally posted by dog town
    Why do I keep reading journalists, ex players and now even current players suggesting Mitch Johnson is the only certain selection as a bowler for the upcoming series? Did they see Peter Siddle over the last 2 series. I cant remember a bowler having that big an impact so early in his career for a very long time. He took big wickets, he was aggressive, he played in pain and he was our most economical bowler. For a guy as inexperienced as him I am amazed it is even being suggested that he wont play in the 1st test.
    No doubt Lee Clark and Hilfy should be fighting for the 3rd spot but with our selectors I wouldn't be surprised if Lee and Clark got the nod (extremely unfairly)

I hope Siddle plays, I like the cut of his jib (even if he is a North supporter).

But to be brutally honest, I can't remember being so ambivalent towards an Ashes series.

I agree dt.

As I struggle to feel the need to continue my support of the Australian team leaving Siddle out might just push me over the edge. He has bowled with venom & passion in the past 2 series and his ability to hit a consistent line has been extremely impressive. He should be a certainity to play the first test and if he isn't and the selectors pick Lee in front of him they can all get rooted.

• Ozza

Yes, agree with you blokes. I like that Siddle is aggressive and attacks the stumps. I think he will very much be suited to the conditions over there also. Should be a no brainer to pick him Johnson and Clark for the first test. I would be keen to play McDonald also.

Siddle hits the track harder than any other candidate and must be played. In fact I would keep the three from SA including the Hilf

• The Coon Dog

Originally posted by EJ Smith
              In fact I would keep the three from SA including the Hilf
              Which 3 from South Australia do you mean?
              [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

• Sockeye Salmon

I defended the Australian team when the media was bagging their behaviour but I really don't care about them that much at the moment.

As long as the selectors continue to play favorites I'll continue to not care about them.

Lee in England again...

I don't think I will stay up and watch him go for 2/180 per innings.

I wouldn't change the SA team. I really like McDonald as the 4th bowler as well, and his stats say that whilst he ain't overly quick, he is very effective. North's spin is quite handy too.

But lets blow a winning formula to plays Ricky's mates.

Originally posted by The Coon Dog
                    Which 3 from South Australia do you mean?
                    Certainly not Tait

• Ozza

He meant the 3 that played in the South African series.

• The Coon Dog

Originally posted by Ozza
                        He meant the 3 that played in the South African series.
                        Oh, that SA? Didn't realise people in Adelaide thought there was any other SA at all!
                        [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

Originally posted by The Coon Dog
                          Oh, that SA? Didn't realise people in Adelaide thought there was any other SA at all!
                          Mate, I'm a Victorian who lives in South Australia. Only those Morons who support the Crows believe that the day starts and finishes in Adelaide.

I, on the other hand believe the sun rises and sets over the Whitten Oval

Administrator

Originally posted by Sockeye Salmon
                            I defended the Australian team when the media was bagging their behaviour but I really don't care about them that much at the moment.

As long as the selectors continue to play favorites I'll continue to not care about them.

Yep. The Australian test team has gone from a meritocracy, where you earn your spot, to a boy's club that only mate's of Ricky Ponting get selected for regardless of form.

I understand why Hodge will never play international cricket, his technique is lousy and his off stump might as well have a target painted on it, but if Siddle misses out (especially if they play Lee instead) I will fair dinkum spew up!

Administrator

I wouldn't change the SA team. I really like McDonald as the 4th bowler as well, and his stats say that whilst he ain't overly quick, he is very effective. North's spin is quite handy too.

I'm a huge McDonald fan-he's one of those cricketers who make things happen.