• The Coon Dog

Who's looking forward to The Ashes?

Gotta admit, ever since I've been a kid, there's always been something special about an Ashes series in England.

I'm eagerly awaiting tomorrow night.

Last series from memory on day 4 many of the crowd turned up in fancy dress, which I really thought added to it. Much more gentile than say India with its constant din & people writing on cardboard & holding it up before the cameras.

I do like the commentry of David Lloyd. Bumble has a thick Lancashire accent.

Anyone else looking forward to it?
    [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

Re: Who's looking forward to The Ashes?

Love the ashes series, bring it on. Wish I was over there watching

• BulldogBelle

Love it. I prefer the radio broadcast to the television though. English commentary is insightful, subtle, funny, intelligent and eccentric.

• The Coon Dog

Originally posted by wonnydog
        Love it. I prefer the radio broadcast to the television though. English commentary is insightful, subtle, funny, intelligent and eccentric.
        Ah, Henry Blowfeld.
        [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

No. This boys club thing Ricky has got going on and the selectors inability to select a decent squad has killed the fun this time around for me.

To tell you the truth before this thread I didn't really know when the 1st test actually started. Obviously I knew it was coming up, but I thought it was still a week or so away.

Will no doubt watch it when I can, but I don't get as excited as I used to about cricket.

No. This boys club thing Ricky has got going on and the selectors inability to select a decent squad has killed the fun this time around for me.
              So you only support the team when you get who you want in? Whoever's selected still represents Aus and until the 1st test is over there's no real reason to complain about the players who were picked.

Originally posted by hujsh
                So you only support the team when you get who you want in? Whoever's selected still represents Aus and until the 1st test is over there's no real reason to complain about the players who were picked.
                No. No. No. The question was "who's looking forward to it".

I always support Australia. I don't like the selectors recent history nor the boys club that the team seems to be. I'm not complaining about selection in this post or saying i dont support the team or that i am a petulant sook who only follows the team he wants.

I answered that i was not looking forward to the ashes as the fun was taken out of it for me. If the Sandman does the 'under the grandstand' show again i might be tempted to stay up and watch. That was a great little show.

• lemmon

Safe to say there are a few long sleepless nights for me up ahead. Seriously pumped.

• Missing Dog

Crickets not what it was for me. I'll watch a bit of it, but I'm not fired up for it as i used to be.

• AndrewP6

Nope, sorry... not my thing.

Fair chance I'll be on to it

• mighty_west
                          • Feb 2008

My word, and i believe each day starts about 7.00pm our time?

I'll be watching, with a stubby or 3.

Originally posted by mighty_west
                            My word, and i believe each day starts about 7.00pm our time?

I'll be watching, with a stubby or 3.
                            It comes on TV at 7.30, but I am pretty sure play begins at 8pm Melbourne time.

Administrator

**** yeah!

Along with the boxing on ONE tommorow night and the footy show and the cricket I'll need three tellys!