• westdog54

Favourite Racing Moments

All this stuff with the Storm is depressing me. I'm going to use this thread to give me something positive to think about.

I'm 27 years old and I've spent most of that watching (if not fairly keenly punting) on the sport of kings. Its one of those sports that, despite the fact its primarily a betting exercise, can give someone some really great memories. I'll give my nominations, but I'd love to hear what some people consider their greatest ever horse racing moment:

1. Better Loosen Up wins the 1990 Japan Cup

Here was a plain bay gelding, amongst blue bloods from America, Asia and Europe, competing in what was then considered arguably the most prestigious international horse race. His trackwork form was ordinary, and you'd walk right past him in the mounting yard, but he came home with an incredible run to beat Ode and Cacoethes on the line. I can still hear Bryan Martin exclaiming "We've done it! We've taken the Japan Cup with Better Loosen Up!"

2. Makybe Diva: A champion becomes a legend.

Greg Miles summed it up beautifully. When Makybe Diva crossed the line to win the 2005 Melbourne Cup, she accomplished a feat that may never be equalled. She had to carry a bigger weight than any mare in the cup before her, and had the disadvantage of being the topweight, but beat them home in incredible fashion. Owner Tony Santic retired her after the race, saying he could ask no more of her.

3. Lonhro wins the 2004 Australian Cup from nowhere

There was a phrase that went around the racing industry for a couple of years, there were three certanties in life: Death, Taxes and Lonhro. The son of Octagonal was one of the greats, but produced something special in this race. Checked twice in the straight, in desperate trouble, Lonhro finally got a clear run with 200 metres to go, but had to pick up stride again, and make up three lengths on the leader Dalzao, who had a massive weight advantage being a three year old. Lonhro dug deep, reeled him in and stuck his nose in fromt to score his most famous win.

4. Fields of Omagh wins the Cox Plate as a six year old

Having already won the 2003 Cox Plate where he beat Lonhro, and running second to the Diva in 05, you'd have forgiven Fields of Omagh if he bowed out without a placing in the 06 Cup. But this was no ordinary 9 year old. Sitting at the back of the field for most of the race with runner up El Segundo, the backmarkers rounded the field and took off on the home turn. They fought tooth and nail up front, but it looked like El Segundo had spoiled the party. The photo disagreed, and FOO became the first 9 year old to win Australia's premier Weight for age race.
  • The Coon Dog

Re: Favourite Racing Moments

I reckon Bill Collins call made this. The 1986 Cox Plate - Bonecrusher v Our Waverley Star.

[COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

I was never into racing but i remember as a kid my mate was ,Trots were big in those days with the Penthouse club showing the races live every Saturday night.
      Maoris Idol and Pure Steel were names that stuck in my head as champs.

Westdog54

What about, "Kingston Town can't win from here?"

Before your time - 1982 Cox Plate - third in a row

Super Impose winning the 2 Sydney miles (Doncaster & Epsom h'caps) in 1990-1

Amazing runs.

These are over and above Nicks.

1. Kingstown winning three Cox Plates, especially the last one and the famous call by Bill Collins when he said "and Kingstown no chance."

2. Family of Man and Surround dead heat in the Alister Clarke Stakes 1977. A friend asked me to put a huge bet at the track on Family of Man to win. It was a fantastic battle by two champions.

3. Toy Show - Winning Newmarket Handicap at 33 to 1 (I backed her)

4. Denises Joy and underrated filly that won many races at big odds in the 70's

• The Doctor

Horlicks wins the 1989 Japan Cup

And i was there

with over 100,000 screaming Japanese who were urging the Japanese favorite Oguri Cap who fell short by a head in a fantastic chase to the line!

Will never forget and backed it at 20-1. Yum.
              Listening to Brahm's 3rd Racket

Have a look where Kingstown Town was coming into the short straight at Moonee Valley

• westdog54

1. Kingstown winning three Cox Plates, especially the last one and the famous call by Bill Collins when he said "and Kingstown no chance."

2. Family of Man and Surround dead heat in the Alister Clarke Stakes 1977. A friend asked me to put a huge bet at the track on Family of Man to win. It was a fantastic battle by two champions.

All before my time, but Kingston Town in 82 is a ripper.

There's a great photo of the Family of Man/Surround deat heat in the Racecourse Hotel in Werribee. They had a fantastic rivalry right from when they were 3yos

• Hotdog60

For all I know about horse racing I would have to say Farlap's stuffed carcase in the museum.

• Desipura

That horse or was it Zebra called stripes for memory went alright.

• Missing Dog

Have a listen to this from yesterday. The caller loses his voice.

• KT31
                          • Jul 2008

When I was a pup my Uncle a trainer would occasionally pick me up and walk me home on one of his horses.
                          A couple of years later it won the group one race before the Cup (at 33 to 1)
                          As a pup I had A whole $1 each way and thought I had won lotto.
                          Last edited by KT31; 23-05-2010, 12:49 PM.

Caulfield Guineas winner Super Seth owned by a few of the boys - including Lachie Hunter and his dad, Dickson, Webb, Jong and Dahl. Nice win, and prize money of $2million. Horse is now worth anywhere between $10 million and $20 million

Kingston Town can't win-pronounced in 5 syllables is a beautiful piece of race calling, the only problem being it was wrong.

I wonder how many punters threw their tickets away when Bill said that? It must have been a great day for the emus that day!