• The Coon Dog

The Barmy Army

What's most people's perception of The Barmy Army?

I reckon they add a fair bit to the game to be honest. I know some of the songs/chants can be a bit monotonous, but they seem to have a wonderful relationship with their cricket team.

The volume increases as their teams performance improves, but even last tour when they were shellacked 5-0 The Barmy Army made a lot of noise.

It must be nice as a cricketer knowing you have so many fans prepared to spend a small fortune to come out & support you wherever you travel.

It was obviously an enjoyable tour this time round, despite the cost given the value of our dollar.

Vic Flowers AKA Jimmy Saville seems to be the face of TBA. Must be on good coin to be able to tour like he does. Anyone know what he does?

I reckon my favourite songs are the ones for Matt Prior & The National Anthem:

Matt Prior
    (to the tune of Ring of Fire)

He always takes the top edge skier
    He bats at Hove where his average gets higher
    Four six four
    He's Matty Prior, he's Matty Prior

He got caught in the jellybean mire
    He has no need for a Brylcream supplier
    Four, six, four
    He's Matty Prior, he's Matty Prior

National Anthem

God save your gracious Queen
    Long live your noble Queen
    God save your Queen (you're a convict)
    Send her victorious
    Happy and glorious
    Long to reign over you
    God save your Queen.

The trumpeter, Billy Cooper seems to know how to get the crowd going too, glad he's permitted into cricket grounds now.
    [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

Re: The Barmy Army

I think they embrace all the right components of being vocal fans.
    Not sure I'd like to listen to them all day but they do add something to the experience.

I think it's ridiculous the amount of publicity they get, they're a professional tour company that make money from these tours. Most of the people in the group are there for a test or maybe two, and half of them have never travelled to see a cricket match before. The words to all their songs are handed out as part of their tour package, and the skinny old guy that leads their chants is a paid employee. Yet the channel 9 commentary carry on like they're all die hard supporters.

It's the equivalent of claiming a group on a Contiki tour are the most travelled people on the planet given Contiki have been backpacking around Europe for 20 years continuously.

• Topdog

The lead guy doesn't pay a cent for any tours.

English equivalent of Aussie bogans.

• The Coon Dog

Originally posted by Chops
            English equivalent of Aussie bogans.
            Much more cultured than that I would have thought. They at least sing more than Aussie, Aussie, Aussie, Oi, Oi, Oi!
            [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

• FrediKanoute

Originally posted by aker39
              I don't see what the problem is.

To have that much support at an away series is fantastic. Who pays and who rides the gravy train is irrelevant.

So they hand out song sheets. Sounds like a pretty good idea to me.

What would you prefer. Let's go bulldogs, let's go.
              No unlike the Fanatics or the Green and Gold Army

I don't see what the problem is.

To have that much support at an away series is fantastic. Who pays and who rides the gravy train is irrelevant.

So they hand out song sheets. Sounds like a pretty good idea to me.

Fine, but I'm sick to death of Tony Grieg and channel nine making a revolving tour group out to be the pinnacle of cricketing support.

I found one test of Shane Warnes love for beer too much (pardon any pun)

• Throughandthrough

The lead guy (Jimmy) doesn't live in England, lives alone on a Greek Island or somewhere. Doesn't have a job.

I went to 4 days of the Adelaide test, and while they shat me to tears, jeez they make a lot of noise and add a different atmosphere.

NB The "fanatics" is a similar thing, there are some ppl attempting to make some $$$$ out of thrir tours as well, don't worry about that. A mate of mine has travelled overseas, on his own, to Aussie tests and has generally found the person behind the fanatics a complete tossa, if u arent a paid member of his travelling group.

Originally posted by Throughandthrough
                      The lead guy (Jimmy) doesn't live in England, lives alone on a Greek Island or somewhere. Doesn't have a job.

I went to 4 days of the Adelaide test, and while they shat me to tears, jeez they make a lot of noise and add a different atmosphere.

NB The "fanatics" is a similar thing, there are some ppl attempting to make some $$$$ out of thrir tours as well, don't worry about that. A mate of mine has travelled overseas, on his own, to Aussie tests and has generally found the person behind the fanatics a complete tossa, if u arent a paid member of his travelling group.
                      I've sat with both groups, the fanatics at a one day tournament in Amsterdam in 2005 and the Barmy Army at the MCG in 02/03. From experience both groups were just holiday makers that didn't follow cricket that closely but wanted to feel important by being part of an official tour. The fanatics were yobos and bogans who were rude to everybody because they felt superior, the barmy army were yobos who were there to get pissed and tell everyone back home they're part of the barmy army. The difference between the two groups were the staff in the barmy army were more professional and better organized, but both groups were for cricket what Contiki is to world travel- mostly ignorant piss heads.

You'd swear it was all about them instead of the actual contest.
                        I'd rather sit and watch than hear 7 hours of tedious tunes.
                        Same goes for the fanatics,boorish as well.
                        If they wanna sing stay home in their bleek cold country and go to the Football.
                        No,not a fan

Originally posted by Topdog
                          The lead guy doesn't pay a cent for any tours.
                          I think he lives in Malta.

• Desipura

I had to laugh at this, whilst they are passionate their chants are embarrassing!