Re: Police scared off Melbourne Victory matches

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
    Letting off of flares is something related to soccer. I have never seen it happen at any other event, sporting or otherwise.
    Were you at this game 2 years ago?

• The Pie Man

Anyone see Liverpool vs Sparta Prague during the week? Some bright spark lit up a flare that flooded the pitch in smoke, delayed the game for close to 5 minutes. Not a fan

Maybe some cops have asked to not work at Victory games....maybe they should have a look at the profesion they're in if that's their attitude (I say that as respectfully as I can, I know there are some from the force as members here and I respect police - but my thought is that if those circumstances are going to intimidate an officer, perhaps they're in the wrong career??)

I've seen very little at MVFC games to justify their claims (*not to say that there aren't some issues) and all this days before Vic Police were to attend a football fans forum?!?

The crowds make noise, sing some funny stuff (though I'd leave the 'F__ off Sydney oi oi oi oi' in the kit bag, parents cringe at it) and it's generally a fun day out at Victory games.

*After the Season 4 GF we saw some seats ripped up at Etihad at the BWB end, and that sort of stuff is dissappointing and worthy of condemnation.

• Ghost Dog
        • May 2010

Originally posted by Glove38
        Minor point. They don;t seperate supporters at AFL games do they?

Lol, minor point.

No they don't separate fans.

• Topdog

separating fans is as much to do with creating an atmosphere as it is with stopping violence.

I'm very interested in this 18 month period of no flares that someone mentioned earlier. When on Earth is that supposed to have happened?

• Ghost Dog
              • May 2010

Originally posted by Topdog
              separating fans is as much to do with creating an atmosphere as it is with stopping violence.

I'm very interested in this 18 month period of no flares that someone mentioned earlier. When on Earth is that supposed to have happened?
              ^_^ ya reckon? Ask the police that and I'm sure they will give you a different answer.
              Last edited by Ghost Dog; 19-02-2011, 11:50 PM.

Originally posted by arkie
                I've never been to an A-League game yet but there always seems to be many degenerate youths in the crowd acting like maniacs so I wouldn't be surprised . Or is that just me who sees that? I'm only 20 and I'm embarrassed for some of those people. I've never seen it at a footy much.

Why do people let off flares at Soccer games? It's really stupid. Especially at an indoor stadium like Etihad. It's not good for people suffering from asthma or other respiratory problems.

I plan to go to a few Heart games next season but I wouldn't sit where all the scum go.
                What an ignorant and ill-informed post.

• Sockeye Salmon

Soccer administrators (and fans) are in danger of treating this issue the St. Kilda way - argue to you're blue in the face that it doesn't exist and then tell everyone whio will listen that everyone else does it just as much.

They should accept that it's real and take steps to wipe it out.

Originally posted by Throughandthrough
                    I have witnessed it first hand (from a safe distance)

I have never seen scenes anything remotely like you would see at a Victory/Adelaide game, at an AFL match.
                    Never attended Dogs games at Aami? My two experiences were scarey to say the least. The first in 91 where we were subjected to various items thrown in our direction,the second threatened with violence after the game! Let me just say there are morons at
                    Many sporting events.Friday night Afl games are becoming a very unenjoyable experience,spring carnival is full of 20 Y/o yobs.

Originally posted by Sockeye Salmon
                      Soccer administrators (and fans) are in danger of treating this issue the St. Kilda way - argue to you're blue in the face that it doesn't exist and then tell everyone whio will listen that everyone else does it just as much.

They should accept that it's real and take steps to wipe it out.
                      Utter rubbish of course there's a minority of idiots.
                      One Day cricket,any night games(ask any family if they enjoy that)
                      Spring Carnival (suppose the cops won't complain about the yobs with all that skirt on display!)The Murdoch tabloid rag are looking for space to fill .
                      With the A-Grade Bogon and the z grade actress now consigned to history they need some space to fill and what's best than a good ol' fashioned swipe at wog Ball.

I've heard people overseas who come here just can't get their head around all the regulations and rigidness of our country.I attended Footscray J.U.S.T and Melb Croatia games and the Greek derbies and let me say the soccer/Football was quite an experience .
                        Been to Victory games since inception never heard a racist chant( a bizarre concept considering the mix of nationalities at games)It's a common occurrence for opposing fans to taunt one another. Personally I feel safer at Victory games than at either the Spring Carnival or a Friday night game or One Day Cricket (unfortunately the boxing day test has become a haven for your average Bogan)

Wait wait, they're scared of some soccer bogans but they're happy to cover up for their rapist mate Milney? Vic Police seem to have their priorities in a knot. With the number of criminal indiscretions by AFL and NRL players, I think they need to get their targets right -- at least in soccer the idiots seem to only be in the stands, not on the field.

• Ghost Dog
                            • May 2010

You know, I think some Aussies are just really a bit jealous of the creative 'flair' shown by foosball supporters. what ever happened to the streak? the wave? We are greatly threatened at these new 'high brow' fangled acts of crowd participation with a hint of European sophistication. Something must be done to stop this threat to our great way of life.

• Topdog

^_^ ya reckon? Ask the police that and I'm sure they will give you a different answer.
                              You can ask the police many questions and you will often get a BS answer.

There was some trouble initially with Sydney and Melbourne fans. If the overal fear was violence only those 2 clubs would be separated.

• Throughandthrough

Originally posted by Remi Moses
                                Never attended Dogs games at Aami? My two experiences were scarey to say the least. The first in 91 where we were subjected to various items thrown in our direction,the second threatened with violence after the game! Let me just say there are morons at
                                Many sporting events.Friday night Afl games are becoming a very unenjoyable experience,spring carnival is full of 20 Y/o yobs.
                                Yes of course I have been to AAMI, and yes of course I have seen blues at an AFL game.

But I have never seen two sets of supporters separated by two walls of police, (riot squad style) pushing at the spectators to get them further apart, while flares are being thrown over their heads from one baying group to another.