• Dry Rot

Blues to drop 5 for next match

Must be hard to be a NSW selector with so much talent around....

Blues quicks facing harsh dismissals as Test stars return

Andrew Stevenson
    October 18, 2007

THE NSW Blues took only 12 overs to mop up the West Australian tail yesterday on their way to concluding a comprehensive win at the WACA Ground in the first four-day match of the season.

Six points for the outright victory gave the Blues a flying start, with the win built on dominant performances by the fast-bowling contingent - all of whom are likely to be dropped for the side's next game, against Queensland, beginning at the SCG on Friday week.

With Australian players Brett Lee, Stuart Clark and Nathan Bracken returning from India next Monday, the incumbent trio of Matt Nicholson, Doug Bollinger and Mark Cameron are likely to walk the plank.

Cameron, 26, who entered the match having played only two games for his state since his debut in 2002-03, can feel hard done by after being named man-of-the-match for his 5-33 first-innings haul. Included among those scalps were retired Test opener Justin Langer and highly rated batsmen Chris Rogers and Shaun Marsh.

Bollinger claimed his own five-wicket haul, including a hat-trick, as Western Australia's second innings ended on 193, chasing a target of 469. Rain and a draw were a more realistic option but quick wickets to spinner Beau Casson and Bollinger ended any hope for the Warriors. Bollinger finished with eight wickets for the match, with 5-38 in his second effort.

But the quicks also played a major role with the bat, getting the Blues out of trouble on what could have been a disastrous day one, and NSW selector Marshall Rosen praised their effort.

"Day one we fought a rearguard action from 6-53. It was a great effort from the bowlers who batted well, with Beau Casson getting 51 and Matt Nicholson 106 not out. We had a partnership of 40 between Nicholson and Mark Cameron who scored two, and a 45 partnership with Doug Bollinger," he said.

"We pulled ourselves up by the bootstraps, and by the end we were dominant."

Rosen refused to spell out the pace bowlers' fates but, provided Lee, Clark and Bracken are fit, all are set to play. The best their replacements can hope for is to carry the drinks.

Batting all-rounder Dominic Thornely, while welcoming the return of the Test stars, said the likely changes would be harsh. The return of spinner Stuart MacGill and wicketkeeper Brad Haddin will spread the pain further, with Casson and Daniel Smith likely to join the pacemen in the stands.

"This performance was a pretty special win for everybody. It's obviously going to hard on a few of the players but that just shows the strength of NSW cricket, where you can have guys like Mark Cameron and Doug Bollinger who can be bowling almost at Test match level this early in their careers," Thornely said.

"It's a harsh environment but we're well aware of it. You cherish every game of cricket you get to play for NSW because sometimes you're good enough but there's a great player there who means you don't get a game."

The first-innings revival was the turning point in the match, Thornely reckoned.

"It wasn't just Matt Nicholson but his partnership with the tail. Casson and Simon Katich batted well together and Nicholson batted well with both Cameron and Bollinger and put on 65 runs for the last two wickets. That was crucial," he said.

Re: Blues to drop 5 for next match

You would think Bollinger is a better bowler than Bracken in the longer version of the game.

Much harder for the Aussies selectors, they need 2 NSW teams.

• Dry Rot

Yeah, I'd agree with that. I must admit I'm not a huge fan of Bracken.

Can't wait to see Killer MacGill back in action.

• Dry Rot

Originally posted by ErnieSigley
          That's a very interesting thought.

On a general note, I hope WOOF folk from other non-Vic states also come on to spice things up.

Do we have a Qld and Tassie reps?

• mjp

This isn't such a stupid idea. Having the best players playing domestic cricket - rather than just the best 11 from each state - can only help. I know all the state pride stuff etc is good, but I cannot help but think the competition would be helped by making sure that guys such as Mark Cameron are playing Shield cricket.

• Sockeye Salmon

Originally posted by mjp
              This isn't such a stupid idea. Having the best players playing domestic cricket - rather than just the best 11 from each state - can only help. I know all the state pride stuff etc is good, but I cannot help but think the competition would be helped by making sure that guys such as Mark Cameron are playing Shield cricket.
              Bring in the Kiwi's too. One side from each island.

Originally posted by Sockeye Salmon
                Bring in the Kiwi's too. One side from each island.
                Why do we want to make NZ cricket stronger?

On Mike's point:

If players have a desire to play consistently at Pura Cup level and for some reason or another you will due to circumstances such as depth in similiar position at state of choice simply leave. Young Wade is a perfect example. Tasmania have great depth in wicketkeepers with Paine and Clingeleffer well in front of him. He jumps on a boat and is playing at the state level in a matter of months.

Well last years comp tells me NSW aren't the best state in cricket.

Whats wrong with players moving intersate for opportunity ala D.Hussey, Gilchirst, etc?

I understand the more teams theory but there is the argument that you spread the talent, the less elite the competition is and quality goes down.
                  At the moment I don't thinks its broken either.

• Raw Toast

Well last years comp tells me NSW aren't the best state in cricket.

Whats wrong with players moving intersate for opportunity ala D.Hussey, Gilchirst, etc?

I understand the more teams theory but there is the argument that you spread the talent, the less elite the competition is and quality goes down.
                    At the moment I don't thinks its broken either.
                    We'd certainly want to be wary of too many teams like the English have with their county system.

Though on an off-topic note, I was making the (admittedly silly) argument that the Junior All-Blacks (basically the NZ reserves rugby team) should be able to play in the World Cup. They regularly win the Pacific Nations Cup and have beaten the All-Blacks before as well. I reckon they probably wouldn't choke so much either.
                    [SIZE="1"][B][CENTER][I]Although it broke our hearts it did not break our will[/I][/CENTER][/B][/SIZE]

• mjp

OK. I have been misinterpreted.

I dont want more teams - the product gets quickly diluted. I want a better way to ensure that the best players are playing top tier domestic cricket.

Moving interstate is fine, but the stars have to be a little bit aligned for this to happen in most cases. I just want the abritrary nature of these moves taken away and some kind of process to enable the moves to happen introduced. Moving interstate with no guarantee of a game (hence money) and no job....pretty brave decision. To do so at age 19 or 20? Really, really brave decision.

Perhaps the ACB should take the 37trillion dollars earned from this ridiculous 1-day series currently being played in India and actually PAY some of the state level cricketers?

• Raw Toast

Originally posted by mjp
                        OK. I have been misinterpreted.

I dont want more teams - the product gets quickly diluted. I want a better way to ensure that the best players are playing top tier domestic cricket.

Moving interstate is fine, but the stars have to be a little bit aligned for this to happen in most cases. I just want the abritrary nature of these moves taken away and some kind of process to enable the moves to happen introduced. Moving interstate with no guarantee of a game (hence money) and no job....pretty brave decision. To do so at age 19 or 20? Really, really brave decision.

Perhaps the ACB should take the 37trillion dollars earned from this ridiculous 1-day series currently being played in India and actually PAY some of the state level cricketers?
                        Makes sense. From the outside looking in it seems like cricket is a fair way behind footy in terms providing a career structure and options for recruitment, and moving from club to club, even though there are arguments for greater movement between clubs and free agency. The cricketers pretty much have free agency don't they, but are hurt by no formal mechanisms for moving from State to State.
                        [SIZE="1"][B][CENTER][I]Although it broke our hearts it did not break our will[/I][/CENTER][/B][/SIZE]

• Sockeye Salmon

Originally posted by Raw Toast
                          Makes sense. From the outside looking in it seems like cricket is a fair way behind footy in terms providing a career structure and options for recruitment, and moving from club to club, even though there are arguments for greater movement between clubs and free agency. The cricketers pretty much have free agency don't they, but are hurt by no formal mechanisms for moving from State to State.
                          Look at the Victorian and SA boys this week. Pura Cup Sun-Wed, one dayer Friday. These guys don't get paid enough to be full time so how do they get a week off 10 times in 6 months?