• AndrewP6

Re: What sport can't you cop?

Originally posted by ledge
    Basketball what the .... is that? Only reason that sport gets any encouragement from me is using it to get my kids to throw their washing in the washing basket.
    Basketball is fast paced, high action,high scoring, athletic...what more could you want?

• mighty_west
      • Feb 2008

Originally posted by AndrewP6
      Basketball is fast paced, high action,high scoring, athletic...what more could you want?
      Yet you have a laugh on the bench, you get ejected!!!!

Balls (and not basketballs) and some decent hip and shoulders made legal.

• Sockeye Salmon

Something about 100x less boring.

I see no skill in a bloke 8 ft tall dropping a ball through a hoop 9 ft off the ground.

• AndrewP6

Originally posted by Sockeye Salmon
            Something about 100x less boring.

I see no skill in a bloke 8 ft tall dropping a ball through a hoop 9 ft off the ground.
            Speaking as a little bloke, I can confirm it's not just a game for giants... and there are rules preventing them from just camping under the basket (which, by the way is ten feet from the floor)...surely you've seen blokes shooting 3 point baskets?

and the version I play (wheelchair basketball) has no such high-flying exploits, yet is one of the most popular spectator sports...

• AndrewP6

Originally posted by ledge
              Balls (and not basketballs) and some decent hip and shoulders made legal.
              so every sport should have the same rules as footy?

• AndrewP6

Originally posted by mighty_west
                Yet you have a laugh on the bench, you get ejected!!!!
                I've played since I was 11, at various levels (domestic, state, national) and never seen that happen... and if it did, well, as we all know, every sport has it's dubious officiating...

• mighty_west
                  • Feb 2008

I've played since I was 11, at various levels (domestic, state, national) and never seen that happen... and if it did, well, as we all know, every sport has it's dubious officiating...
                  It was one of the most bizarre calls from a ref i have ever seen, just mind boggling, the whole team should have just walked off court and protested, clearly the ref had a massive sook.

• AndrewP6

Originally posted by mighty_west
                    It was one of the most bizarre calls from a ref i have ever seen, just mind boggling, the whole team should have just walked off court and protested, clearly the ref had a massive sook.
                    Yeah that's ordinary...I once heard a ref give a technical foul to a player for an "extreme reaction" - and yes, they were his exact words...

so every sport should have the same rules as footy?
                      YEAHHHH! but i do like soccer

• lemmon

Not a fan of basketball either, heaps of my mates love it but I cant get into it. I couldnt sit down and watch and entire game.

Originally posted by lemmon
                          Not a fan of basketball either, heaps of my mates love it but I cant get into it. I couldnt sit down and watch and entire game.
                          I can't stand it when 60 seconds of game time can take an hour to get through. Time outs are for wimps!

• mighty_west
                            • Feb 2008

Originally posted by lemmon
                            I probably feel the same way, although i don't mind Basketball.

I used to goto South East Melb Magic games all those years ago when the NBL was rocking, the clashes between them & the Tigers who i absolutely can't stand [even now], i see them as the Collingwood of the NBL, but those clashes were just amazing, full houses at Rod Laver, 10,000 - 15,000 strong crowds.

HOWEVER, when the Magic went under, so did my real passion, i was also starting to take a keen interest in the NBA, i tried to get into the Vic Titans and the Dragons who have also just gone under!!!!

Now, i couldn't watch a full game.

Basketball in this country is a complete joke!

• Missing-Dog

Cricket and Golf - boring!

Administrator

Drama, variation, ball skills, interest, a point to it?