Re: Etihad Stadium - New Initiatives

The best way to add value is to have a reserves match or women's match before the main game. If we wanted to go to a circus we would have, we don't want a circus coming to us.

All their crap about adding to the experience. I stand down on level one and I can't see the stupid LED lighting. I'm near the dunny and the food so on the odd occasion I feel like either I don't miss most of the game waiting. Best spot in the house.

I have a mate with epilepsy. He can't go to the footy any more because of the LED lighting. Can't risk it. How exactly is it fan friendly for him?

Maquire tables a new stadium near MCG and demolish Etihad.

Kennet and PG have their views:

Gordon and Kennett say keep Etihad

Western Bulldogs President Peter Gordon says selling Etihad Stadium would be a loss for footy fans in the western suburbs of Melbourne.

Key stakeholders are looking into a plan by Eddie McGuire to bulldoze Etihad Stadium and build a new $1 billion stadium in the Olympic Park precinct.

"For myself, I still prefer the Docklands as a venue. I think it services the people of the west and the north western suburbs of Melbourne which my club is one," Gordon told SEN Breakfast with Frank and Ox.

The proposed new stadium would sit on the site that currently occupied by Hisense Arena, which would be relocated to above the nearby railway lines, however there is an agreement between Tennis Australia and the Melbourne Olympic Park Trust until 2036 which may put a spanner in the works.

"That being the case, the suggestion of Eddie's in real terms at that location is dead and buried. There is no argument at all to put the Australian Tennis Open at risk of moving from Melbourne," former Victorian Premier Jeff Kennett told SEN Breakfast with Frank and Ox.

McGuire's plan is based on the AFL selling the land which Etihad Stadium sits and investing the money in the new stadium at Olympic Park but Gordon says the massive population growth in the west should be enough to convince the AFL to keep its Docklands venue.

"You need to remember the western region of Melbourne is the fastest growing population base in Australia and will be for the next 30 years. The demographic centre of Melbourne is moving westward," he said.

"You need to look at it in a long term way. In the last 20 years there's been remarkable development there (Docklands) and in the next 100 years it's going to be even greater. I'm not one for giving away the current location."

Victoria Stadium!

Eddie couldn't be more see through if he tried.

There needs to be a stadium to service the western to northern sides of the city. The Olympic Park precinct doesn't need it and as Kennett said, there'd be too much disruption within the region meaning the Australian Open would have at least one year of not having a second major court.

Victoria Stadium!

There needs to be a stadium to service the western to northern sides of the city. The Olympic Park precinct doesn't need it and as Kennett said, there'd be too much disruption within the region meaning the Australian Open would have at least one year of not having a second major court.
            I can't see anything wrong with Etihad (even though built the wrong way). It is great for viewing footy, just needs to be renovated in the next few years. You get off the train and walk in, how good is that. Save the money and spend it on clubs and training facilities.

PS: The original name of Etihad was going to be Victoria Stadium.

Please god no. I love Etihad and hope its our home for a long long time.

Just so easy to get to and in and out of, the footy played there is awesome and it has a roof.

Originally posted by chef
                Please god no. I love Etihad and hope its our home for a long long time.

Just so easy to get to and in and out of, the footy played there is awesome and it has a roof.
                Also easier for people coming in from the country by train.

Certainly is.

Victoria Stadium!

I like both the Etihad and the MCG and since being a Doggies member for a few years I'm very used to Etihad now and know the ground fairly well. I think as we don't have the biggest supporter base in the comp that it suits us well and that the fact it is just west of the city in what I like to call our inner city heartland (Docklands, West Melbourne etc).

I live in the east and think it's ridiculous when people say they can't get to Etihad. I say it's very easy nearest train to Flinders and another to Southern Cross and your there. It's well served by public transport and is in a central location.
                    Last edited by Eastdog; 09-03-2016, 04:49 PM.

• Webby
                      • Jul 2012

Monopoly Money McGuire..!

The conundrum for the AFL when it gets hold of Etihad is that they'll be left with a $100M odd bill to bring it up to speed. At least as much as you can with a stadium with surface issues and which faces the wrong way..

OR they could simply sell the place for the land for several hundred million, keep the $100M odd and spend that money elsewhere...

If they can con the state government into donating some crown land, then suddenly the blank canvas looks good! Only issue is, what's the point in building a stadium next door to the MCG?!

The far more viable option would be to build a new stadium further up Footscray Road. Just near the Bolte Bridge. There's rail there, it provides a platform for another development and there's even a tram that terminates a few hundred metres from there already.

That proposition crushes Eddie's without even trying..

Originally posted by Webby

The conundrum for the AFL when it gets hold of Etihad is that they'll be left with a $100M odd bill to bring it up to speed. At least as much as you can with a stadium with surface issues and which faces the wrong way..

OR they could simply sell the place for the land for several hundred million, keep the $100M odd and spend that money elsewhere...

If they can con the state government into donating some crown land, then suddenly the blank canvas looks good! Only issue is, what's the point in building a stadium next door to the MCG?!

The far more viable option would be to build a new stadium further up Footscray Road. Just near the Bolte Bridge. There's rail there, it provides a platform for another development and there's even a tram that terminates a few hundred metres from there already.

The contract states Melbourne Stadium Limited have to hand the stadium over in state of the art condition. No money would need to be invested without prompting a breach of contract.

Why the hell would you bulldoze Etihad,move Hisense arena and build another stadium closer to the 'G that will also have a roof that might hold 60,000 fans.
                          Ludicrous.

Yes your right about the tram Webby. I believe Tram 86 goes there from Bundoora to Waterfront City Docklands.

Originally posted by Webby

Originally posted by Greystache
                              The contract states Melbourne Stadium Limited have to hand the stadium over in state of the art condition. No money would need to be invested without prompting a breach of contract.
                              'stache, is it likely this would be void or negotiated out of the terms if an early purchase price was settled upon?

This is how it's going to play out. The AFL and another party will engage the state and federal governments to put together a greenfield private public partnership venture, a new stadium will be built and Docklands will be sold off for real estate value.

We will get shafted on the stadium deal at the new venue, after being forced to move there at gun point.

The proceeds from the Docklands sale will not give the FFC a single lick, even though our shitty deal has seen our supporters subsidise the deals other clubs receive with their hard earned cash.

I haven't looked back through this thread to check, but I reckon I'm sounding like a broken record..............