• Axe Man

Re: Following our ex's...................

Originally posted by Bulldog4life
    Will take Australia by storm. So popular with all ages.
    Matthew Perry died after playing Pickleball, I'm not willing to take that risk.

Originally posted by Axe Man
      Matthew Perry died after playing Pickleball, I'm not willing to take that risk.
      That wasn't a pickle.

Originally posted by Grantysghost
        That wasn't a pickle.
        It was a dilly of a pickle

Americans are a different breed, games called Pickle ball ? , cornhole ?

• Daughter of the West
            • Sep 2010

Originally posted by ledge
            Americans are a different breed, games called Pickle ball ? , cornhole ?
            Back in the day in interschool sports, a similar game was just called bat tennis *shrugs*

You had a fair idea of what you were playing!
            Wake me up when we get to heaven, let me sleep if we're going to hell

Good luck, for your sake I hope heaven and hell are really there, but I wouldn't hold my breath

And we all found heaven - 2016 Premiers!

Hayden Crozier has confirmed his retirement from AFL football.

• jazzadogs
                • Oct 2008

Sad that he couldn't get a gig somewhere else for a year or two, thought one of the less experienced clubs could have used him. Wonder if he would consider playing a year at Footscray...

Will take Australia by storm. So popular with all ages.
                  A friend of mine has started the first National Pickleball League in Australia, and it seems to be gaining traction pretty quickly.

I reckon you could couple it with four square and heaps of people would love it.

Originally posted by Daughter of the West
                    Back in the day in interschool sports, a similar game was just called bat tennis *shrugs*

Back in the day (mid to late eighties) bat tennis and rounders were great. Making girls wear bloomers for primary school PE was a bit off though.

He played some excellent football for us, some of his attack on the high ball was maniacal. Unfortunately as he got older his confidence and pace left him, exposing him to recklessness without the footy when trying to catch up and kicks down the line because he didn't have the apricots to move it quick and short.

Kept himself in good nick though and was mostly available to step into the senior side in the latter years if needed, and it meant he got chances to show whether he was still good enough. He hasn't left anything out there and has had a decent career.
                      Last edited by jeemak; 18-11-2023, 06:52 AM.

He played some excellent football for us, some of his attack on the high ball was maniacal. Unfortunately as he got older his confidence and pace left him, exposing him to recklessness without the footy when trying to catch up and kicks down the line because he didn't have the apricots to move it quick and short.

Kept himself in good nick though and was mostly available to step into the senior side in the latter years if needed, and it meant he got chances to show whether he was still good enough. He hasn't left anything out there and has had a decent career.
                        Seems a good bloke and clubman too. Nothing but respect from me.

• Bulldog4life

I remember playing that too DOW.

I always wondered where they got the name newcomb for that game that was a variant of volleyball.

• Bulldog4life

I always wondered where they got the name newcomb for that game that was a variant of volleyball.
                              Newcomb was invented yonks ago TD.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Newcomb_ball
                                So it's named after the college it was invented at.

We used to play it at Kingsville primary. One day all the flour leaked out of the silo at Cain's Bakery in Somerville road and we all looked like ghosts.