Re: AFL Finals 2015 Discussion Thread

Originally posted by G-Mo77
    Really. Thought Walters looked like the only one capable of scoring at times. Thought he played well.
    Agreed. He was the only forward who looked dangerous for the game.

I know football is supposed to be a passionate game but that 'fan' who tried to intimidate Smith can't be allowed back into a footy ground can he?

Originally posted by Webby
        I've got to say that Freo were crucified by the umpires early on. I acknowledge that Freo were looked after later on, but that was with free kicks at half back etc. Hawthorn, on the other hand, were awarded some inexplicable free kicks straight in front of goal. The one against Ballantyne in the first quarter was borderline scandalous!

I thought those kicks really halted Freo's momentum - not that I'm not displeased to see their crap style of footy bomb out. I think Norf will get flogged tonight and next week will provide an interesting GF for neutrals like us.
        I agree, and Ballantyne was actually up and about until that one was called against him.

Like others I'm glad the Fremantle style isn't going to win a premiership again. I don't like the Hawks, I don't like how wankers like Bruce gush over their thug stars and I don't like their supporters or their self entitled cashed up bogan attitudes, but I admire their ability to play football.

On the supporter note, what a horrible bunch of lunatics some of the Fremantle crowd members seem to be. Physical intimidation of opposition players and a woman chinned for standing up to a drunk dickhead the lowlights. Disgraceful, particularly the latter incident (caught on camera too).

I know football is supposed to be a passionate game but that 'fan' who tried to intimidate Smith can't be allowed back into a footy ground can he?
          Life ban for that person and the Freo bloke who punched a hawthorn supporter lady in the face. Disgusting all round.

• Bulldog4life

No and what about that idiot who lent over the fence to give Breust a gobful when he collided into the fence. Got some feral ones over there.

• anfo27

Watching these two teams last night made me think we are closer to a flag than i thought. Freo are never going to win a flag with a forward line as poor as that, hopefully Pavlich & McFarlane go on. The hawks are declining but Freo just didn't have the firepower to hurt them last night.
              North are rubbish, lets be honest. Rubbish coach who thinks they are close when really they are miles off it. Getting to another prelim will mean they will hopefully top up again.
              West Coast is a good team but without Nic Nat we have them covered i reckon.
              If we can pick up Carlisle and sort out our ruck situation then we are good enough to go all the way. The talent is definitely there but teams will spend more time trying to pull apart our gamestyle next year so it will be interesting to see how we go.
              There is no way we are miles off these top 4 teams.

• KT31
                • Jul 2008

Life ban for that person and the Freo bloke who punched a hawthorn supporter lady in the face. Disgusting all round.
                Hope he gets more than a life ban, throw the book at the *&%$@# a grade feral.

Originally posted by KT31
                  Agreed. Should be facing a Court, not just banned from the footy.

Wild scenes last night, uncomfortable viewing.

Watching footy in a venue where 99% of the crowd barrack for the same team is a totally different atmosphere to a game between 2 local teams. The crowd can become more like a lynch mob, particularly at night when the rowdier element are drunker, with the uglier fringe coming to the fore too readily.

I've never watched footy in Perth, but they do seem particularly feral. Having only watched live Dogs games in Brisbane (mainly) and Sydney in the past 15 years, I can't emphasise enough how superior the experience is when the crowd is relatively even.

Administrator

Where were you watching PP and who did most of them support?

Mostly v Lions at the Gabba. A lot of them in the Lions glory years. Awful, 90% of crowd were bandwagon riders who knew SFA about AFL but were riding the wave with the Lions. If their team is winning, they're all experts. Have seen a couple in Sydney, crowd there are a little more bearable (relatively speaking). Only ever go to Doggies games against the locals.

If you meant last nights match, I just watched it at home.

Originally posted by KT31
                        I'd be confident the police will charge the f*** knuckle. But the AFL can ban them for life on their own.

• The bulldog tragician
                          • Apr 2013

Originally posted by anfo27
                          Watching these two teams last night made me think we are closer to a flag than i thought. Freo are never going to win a flag with a forward line as poor as that, hopefully Pavlich & McFarlane go on. The hawks are declining but Freo just didn't have the firepower to hurt them last night.
                          North are rubbish, lets be honest. Rubbish coach who thinks they are close when really they are miles off it. Getting to another prelim will mean they will hopefully top up again.
                          West Coast is a good team but without Nic Nat we have them covered i reckon.
                          If we can pick up Carlisle and sort out our ruck situation then we are good enough to go all the way. The talent is definitely there but teams will spend more time trying to pull apart our gamestyle next year so it will be interesting to see how we go.
                          There is no way we are miles off these top 4 teams.
                          That's an interesting viewpoint anfo, I actually felt a reality check about where we're at watching these two. There was an awful lot of brutal footy and hard mature bodies crashing in that I think we are a bit off being able to stand up to especially in a feral atmosphere like Perth. Then again I think Freo like a lot of Ross Lyon sides has a pretty woeful bottom six players who get exposed in finals. I'm so glad we have a coach who is teaching us the Hawthorn way of attacking footy instead of Misery Guts Lyon's ugly and fruitless style.

Ps. Also sick of Hawks. The female Hawks fan in the cheer squad crying for joy?!
                          [url]www.bulldogtragician.com[/url] A blog about being a lifelong fan of the Dogs and our quixotic attempt to replicate 1954. AND WE DID
                          Author of [URL="http://www.blackincbooks.com.au/books/mighty-west"]"The Mighty West: the Bulldogs journey from daydream believers to premiership heroes[/URL]"

Administrator

Originally posted by PeanutsPeanuts
                            Mostly v Lions at the Gabba. A lot of them in the Lions glory years. Awful, 90% of crowd were bandwagon riders who knew SFA about AFL but were riding the wave with the Lions. If their team is winning, they're all experts. Have seen a couple in Sydney, crowd there are a little more bearable (relatively speaking). Only ever go to Doggies games against the locals.

If you meant last nights match, I just watched it at home.
                            I got into an argument with a Sydney fan in Sydney once who was insisting that hitting the post was worth 7 points.

• Topdog

Agreed and that is why i was so passionate when saying what goodes did against Carlton was wrong.

Gee North have started well. 6 Clearances to 1, 11 tackles to 5. Wouldn't it be bizarre if 2 Perth teams get home prelims and both lose?