Ross Lyon and His Game Plans, Style

10 years and no silver ware, despite three grand finals and several home pre-lims. Surely he's now got to look at an overhaul. And perhaps a list turnover of impact.

Re: Ross Lyon and His Game Plans, Style

I think the list turnover is the main thing. He just doesn't have the forwards.

Talls generally are thin. Zac Dawson keeps getting a game as a key defender (!!) and Pavlich and Mayne are the key forwards. He's done well to get them this far really.

I think his list is limited to a degree.
      No other key forward options, and an ageing key back in Mcpharline .
      They just haven't been able to get that big forward in.

You simply can't win big games if you can't score. You can only defend for so long against other top rated sides. He deserves some serious heat for the way Freo continually go backwards when no switch is on, which then not only pushes them deeper and places them under extreme pressure, but it absolutely robs them of any opportunity to score. Hawthorn knew what they were going to do and subsequently set up for it.

Their list is average outside of their top 8-10, but I still think his approach to football is crap. It's not a 'coincidence' that he's failed in so many big finals.

Overall I think Lyon is a very good coach. At StKilda he was a toepoke away from 1 flag and then 1 bad bounce from another. At Freo he's punched above his weight with a limited list.

Having said that, I reckon he is very rigid. Too many of his players seem to be 1 position specialists and his game plan does seem to be based on relentlessness rather than any form of a plan b. I wonder if he'll try a bit more diversity or flair in upcoming years.

Aside from the regimented game plan that limits scoring opportunities, he clearly doesn't trust his lesser lights to execute their skills. Hence why a Tom Sheridan shits himself tonight and why a Tabener doesn't attack the ball as a key forward should.

He also doesn't trust youth at all. All successful clubs have talented young players coming through who are given big responsibility and invariably don't let the team down.

• KT31
              • Jul 2008

I rate him similar to Macca, its a negative game plan.
              if Macca had the same cattle as Lyon we possibly could have made finals and than tapered out, if Beverage had the same cattle we would be competing next week.

• dog town

Game plan needs a tweak but God himself couldn't have coached that side to a flag.

He failed at St Kilda and left the next coach with a declining, aging list with very little young talent.

He landed the Fremantle job in their premiership window and has now failed again.

With Freo's list now declining, aging with very little young talent, who will be his next target?

Richmond?

• ratsmac
                    • May 2009

Ross Lyon = zzzzzzz

Originally posted by PeanutsPeanuts
                      Overall I think Lyon is a very good coach. At StKilda he was a toepoke away from 1 flag and then 1 bad bounce from another. At Freo he's punched above his weight with a limited list.

Having said that, I reckon he is very rigid. Too many of his players seem to be 1 position specialists and his game plan does seem to be based on relentlessness rather than any form of a plan b. I wonder if he'll try a bit more diversity or flair in upcoming years.
                      He's a very average coach. Sure his numbers look good. He can make his boys all dance in a line. But inspiration? Hardly. A toe poke away is a mile away in a final. You need to bet the farm on something more solid than a wayward bounce. With the lists he's had at both St Kilda and Freo he should have been in a position of strength such that Lady Luck has little say. But he hasn't. He owes Sheridan a personal apology for a game style that eventuated in a hospital pass that will have that young bloke up nights for the rest of his days. Passing back like that with Rioli and Roughead lurking, even my Missus who has no great love or interest in footy was screaming out NOOOO but old mate Lyon just can't see the forest for the trees.

Originally posted by Jaytee
                        He failed at St Kilda and left the next coach with a declining, aging list with very little young talent.

He landed the Fremantle job in their premiership window and has now failed again.

With Freo's list now declining, aging with very little young talent, who will be his next target?

Richmond?
                        It's a pity Melbourne is engaged to Simon Goodwin because Lyon and Melbourne are made for each other. Ross and Gary. The yon boys together at last!

• Rocket Science

Originally posted by Jaytee

Richmond?
                          Oooh. The Bombres.

You know you want it to happen.

• Rocco Jones

Aside from the regimented game plan that limits scoring opportunities, he clearly doesn't trust his lesser lights to execute their skills. Hence why a Tom Sheridan shits himself tonight and why a Tabener doesn't attack the ball as a key forward should.

He also doesn't trust youth at all. All successful clubs have talented young players coming through who are given big responsibility and invariably don't let the team down.
                            Very well put.

Lyon is a tactical genius. In a game between an inferior side vs superior side, not sure there's every been a better coach to get the inferior side up. But there are limitations to this, Sedat you've hit the nail on the head.

Don't get me wrong, I rate Lyon extremely highly and think his way can win a premiership. History is fickle. A kinder ball bounce and he would have a flag.

In short. Lyon's way is outstanding to win a majority of your games and get you into the pointy end of the season. It comes unstuck around prelim/GF week. Still has been his teams to a Grand Final in 3 seasons.

• Rocco Jones

I guess it's why this year with Beveridge has been so great. We have played such an attacking style. A style we will/should temper but players will have developed a confidence in trusting their skills, just when going into the corridor isn't the best idea etc.