AFL has determined it will retain the week's break introduced this year between the end of the Home & Away Season and start to the Finals.
Bye to Stay before Finals.
Re: Bye to Stay before Finals.
I love the bye. Can't understand why anyone would question its amazingly great validity.Rocket Science: the epitaph for the Beveridge era - whenever it ends - reading 'Here lies a team that could beat anyone on its day, but seldom did when it mattered most'. 15/7/2023 -
Im a strong supporter of the bye
The finals teams played better footy because of itComment
Premierships: AFL 1954, 2016 VFA - 1898,99,1900, 1908, 1913, 1919-20, 1923-24, VFL: 2014, 2016 . Champions of Victoria 1924. AFLW - 2018.Comment
This is great news. Our finals record has been impeccable since its inclusion!"Loves a scrap....oh yeah & he's a pretty handy footballer as well"Comment
This had better not cost the better teams in the premiership race! I won't be happy if it does.
Loved the bye this year. That footy festival thing we had with the women's match and the EJ Whitten game was well timed I reckon. It just needs a Sunday arvo event and it's good to go.They say Burt Lancaster has one, but I don't believe them.Comment
There's a push from some people for the Brownlow to be shifted to the Sunday evening of the bye - I quite like that idea myself.[SIZE="1"][B][CENTER][I]Although it broke our hearts it did not break our will[/I][/CENTER][/B][/SIZE]Comment
Rocket Science: the epitaph for the Beveridge era - whenever it ends - reading 'Here lies a team that could beat anyone on its day, but seldom did when it mattered most'. 15/7/2023Comment
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Comment
Only mentally weak teams lose preliminary finals because of the bye.Footscray member since 1980.Comment
I certainly believe the opening game should be shared around but if they have secured that one then maybe will get Good Friday and build a tradition from there."Footscray people are incredible people; so humble. I'm just so happy - ecstatic"Comment
I like the bye. A chance to recharge, check out the women's and EJ Whitten games... And we are the only team to have won the Premiership after the final round bye.Last edited by AndrewP6; 19-10-2016, 09:28 PM.[B][COLOR="#0000CD"]Our club was born in blood and boots, not in AFL focus groups.[/COLOR][/B]Comment