Best player ever traded

Shaun Burgoyne's almost the best traded in player to ever play the game in my view.

Interesting point that Jeemak makes in another thread, I edited a bit, and it leads to an interesting question and an answer that should probably have a couple of parts. Intentional trades-where you are trading an established star and lucky trades-the occassional time a steak knives type player becomes a 200 game champ.

I reckon the best player I have seen traded between clubs is Ian Stewart. Whatever possessed St Kilda to hand over their star dual Brownlow winning centre man at the peak of his powers to a premiership rival (saints were a successful club at the time) just can't be guessed at. But Stewart won another Brownlow and two more premiership medallions.

And Peter Foster for the steak knives division. He came to the club as an afterthought to a deal involving Chris Hansen he hung around on the list playing at CHF in the ressies until Malthouse showed some faith in him and played him in defense in the seniors but Peter Foster is in the top five tall defenders I have seen play the game. I never saw Dermie play a decent game at the footy because Fossie owned Dermie and pretty much every tall forward that played the game back then, Kernahan and Stoneham and all those blokes scarcely played a decent game between them when Foster was at CHB. He ended up playing quality footy at CHF after establishing himself in the team too. We really got a bargain with Peter Foster.
  • Dry Rot

Re: Best player ever traded

I assume the name Liam Jones won't appear in this thread.

• Topdog

Tough to say who was the steak knives in the Josh Kennedy & Ben McGlynn for draft picks 39, 46 and 70 but either of them is a fair set.

I can't remember how much West Coast pushed for Josh Kennedy in the Judd trade too.

Gary Ablett Snr was let go after playing a handful of games and picked up with minimal fanfare. He'd be hard to beat.

Originally posted by PeanutsPeanuts
          Gary Ablett Snr was let go after playing a handful of games and picked up with minimal fanfare. He'd be hard to beat.
          Yep, it will take Tom Boyd a couple more years to overtake him...

Tony Lockett would have to be right up there.

In the steak knives case Luke McPharlin would be close to number 1.

Tony Libba (team of the century) was let go by Denis Pagan despite winning the B&F for under 19, and reserves.

Originally posted by PeanutsPeanuts

GAS is going to be hard to top in the steak knives and GAJ would be pretty close in the Best Player Traded. Definitely the best F/S.

• boydogs
                  • Apr 2009

Judd would be up there

Tom Boyd for bringing home the premiership. Fair to say if we hadn't traded him in we didn't win the flag last year.

Tony Libba (team of the century) was let go by Denis Pagan despite winning the B&F for under 19, and reserves.
                      GAS is going to be hard to top in the steak knives and GAJ would be pretty close in the Best Player Traded. Definitely the best F/S.
                      None of those players were traded.

GAS and Libba were released by their original club and some time later were recruited by a different club.

GAJ was a concession selection for a start up club. Effectively a free agent.

My comment about Burgoyne was on the basis of being one of the best players traded in, as part of an overall plan. Better players have moved clubs for various reasons.

Burgoyne can play all over the ground at an exceptional level, and was targeted by the Hawks for his ability to do so and his age profile (the Hawks had a gap in his bracket at the time). It was an outstanding list management decision to bring him in.

• Topdog

Originally posted by boydogs
                          Judd would be up there
                          But you could argue that West Coast won that trade

• Webby
                            • Jul 2012

Originally posted by Topdog
                            But you could argue that West Coast won that trade
                            I've got a mate that has been passionately arguing with another mate for about five years that WCE got the better of the Judd trade.
                            Kennedy is the best performed forward in the league for four years now, whilst Masten is very handy.

Originally posted by Webby
                              I've got a mate that has been passionately arguing with another mate for about five years that WCE got the better of the Judd trade.
                              Kennedy is the best performed forward in the league for four years now, whilst Masten is very handy.

Judd is long gone but won a Brownlow, played in a couple of finals series and by all accounts ( mostly Juddy's) introduced a more professional culture at Carlton right down to only having cheesy lasagne as a treat, presumably for winning Brownlows and being the captain of the team if they make the finals. Plus he had a bit of an upward spike on memberships when they first recruited him.

West Coast have had better team success a.nd Kennnedy has made a big contribution to that success. He wouldn't have had that same success at Carlton.