• Dry Rot

Why do you hate Essendon?

My hatred of Essendon began when I started following footy and first went for the dogs after watching the doco Year of the Dogs and that last match of the year against the Bombers.

From memory in the late 90s onwards for a few years they were very hot team, and whenever I came across their supporters they were insufferable, arrogant turds.

Having players like Lloyd and Hird didn't help either, and then of course there's the supplements scandal some years later.

To this day I still really dislike them and really enjoy the end of each season when they miss the finals.

Why do you hate Essendon?
  • josie
    • Oct 2012

Supporters tend to be self entitled & arrogant, although I know some nice Don’s supporters too.

The Drug Saga and associated hubris and denial of their club tipped me over the edge towards despising their club.
    Last edited by josie; 18-05-2025, 09:28 AM.
    Josie :)

Our day will come
    And we'll have everything.
    We'll share the joy
    Just like '54 again.

The constant we are a big team living off last centuries success . They have done zero this century and it’s already a 25 years in .
      arrogance , Dodoro the media all tell us how good they are and the fact is they are the worst team the last 25 years .
      It’s so beautiful to smash them

• jazzadogs
        • Oct 2008

They exist. That's enough I reckon.

• Mitcha
          • Mar 2009

And best of all we get another chance to smash them again later this season. Long may the drought continue.

Their supporters are typically arrogant, they're a massively rich club and they've traditionally been our local rivals. They were my most despised team by the time I was 7 and I've never been tempted to change that

• SonofScray
              • Apr 2008

I went to primary school in West Essendon. There were 6 Carlton supporters, 3 Collingwood supporters and then myself and one other Doggies fan. Most of my best mates are Essendon fans. Playing footy at Aberfeldie, we were just surrounded by the flogs.

They are the reason that when my mum enrolled me at St Bernard’s, I refused to go and went to St Joe’s instead for high school. Had to get away from them.

They’re an insufferable, arrogant bunch. Violent, poor sports. Sooks.

May the fleas of a thousand camels descend upon their sacks.

Their inability to do anything with any sense of grace.

Another of the cheating clubs. It all stems back to 1924 when they didn't want us to be promoted to the league. We beat them fair and square and they made up stuff about their players being bribed by us.

In the 1980s, there was a proposal for the Show grounds to be redeveloped and us and Essendon to be based there but they refused. They hate us and we really hate them

Originally posted by Bornadog
                    Another of the cheating clubs. It all stems back to 1924 when they didn't want us to be promoted to the league. We beat them fair and square and they made up stuff about their players being bribed by us.

In the 1980s, there was a proposal for the Show grounds to be redeveloped and us and Essendon to be based there but they refused. They hate us and we really hate them
                    Sure we beat them in 1924 but there is plenty of speculation that they laid down and took money from the bookies because we were at long odds to win.

The injections were the main one. Though pretty much everyone involved is gone now.

Doxing that 'days since Essendon won a final' guy was pretty poor

• Stevo

It comes down to a lot of their high profile personalities but they've always been traditional rivals for us.
                        Everyone has already mentioned that they're overly arrogant without a lot of justifications.
                        My most despised team but a long, long way.

I don’t hate them.

They are an irrelevant, under performing club on field who have not won a final since who knows when.

In fact they provide me a lot of joy and happiness.

• BiteNibbleChomp
                            • Dec 2024

I tend to think of Hawthorn, Melbourne and the orange ones as the teams I hate the most. Essendon gets forgotten off the list.
                            And every time I go to a game against them I'm reminded just how much their fans whinge about the umpiring and then leave early.
                            They're like Carlton with a better song. I hope their lack-of-finals-wins streak continues well into five digits.

- BNC

• Bulldog_Belle
                              • Apr 2025

Went to school in Essendon in the 80's 90's when they were good and we were not. They made my life hell. I love how karma finds a way!