Off to sell secrets to Kim Jong Un?

• Axe Man

Re: AFL 2024 fixture news

Originally posted by Grantysghost
      Hawthorn?!

I mean I know they have the fake buster game but why is it always the Cats home game... Fmd.
      It's not, it alternates each year. Which means that there's no reason the Hawks can't play at Sedat Park more often.

Originally posted by Axe Man
        It's not, it alternates each year. Which means that there's no reason the Hawks don't play at Sedat Park more often.
        Eff!

• DOG GOD
          • Jul 2007

Yes

Off to Korea for two weeks
          Nice. I just got back from Japan (3 weeks) . Sth Korea on my bucket list

• ReLoad
            • Sep 2009

How hard is it to simply do an alternating fixture?

First year in Geelong, second year at marvel etc etc.

If you play twice in a year then sure one each, it?s fair to say that nonsense like gather round etc means bugger all.

• The Underdog

Originally posted by Axe Man
              I would rather play Collingwood for their home game at Marvel than the G.
              Probably, still it?d be nice to have a few more games there than the standard 2 for a change. But maybe it?s just that I prefer to watch footy there in general.

IMG_8445.jpg

From Fox AFL

WESTERN BULLDOGS

Games played against...

Top eight: 11

Top four: 5

Bottom 10: 12

Bottom four: 5

Who they play twice: Fremantle, Geelong, GWS Giants, Melbourne, North Melbourne, Sydney Swans

Bye weeks:
                  Opening Round, Round 15

Average percentage of double-up opponents: 103.85% (ninth-hardest)

Analysis: They get their fair share of primetime footy, with three Friday and two Thursday games scheduled across the first 15 rounds. Dogs fans, though, might be a little disappointed their first home game for the season is in Ballarat against the Suns in Round 2. Looks like it’s going to be a tough block in the middle of the season, with consecutive games against the Giants, Swans, Magpies and Lions between Rounds 10 and 13. It’s a block that could define their season. A tough run home with the Power, Blues, Cats, Swans, Demons and Crows between Rounds 17 and 22. But if they’re good enough to be a flag contender this year, they’ll be taking a few scalps.

Grade: C

Loving these Sunday games!

• bulldogsthru&thru

How many prime time games does everyone think we would've had if Bailey Smith was no longer at the club?

Originally posted by DOG GOD
                        Nice. I just got back from Japan (3 weeks) . Sth Korea on my bucket list
                        Lucky you - Love Japan, been many times.

Pretty good overall. Some good prime time slots and some early daytime Sunday games to start us off. Would be good if we play some more MCG games but it is what it is. Need to make Marvel and Mars a fortress. Happy we don?t need to go down to Tassie to play the Hawks and great we have the Suns and Lions at home.
                          Last edited by Eastdog; 17-11-2023, 11:17 AM.

Originally posted by Eastdog
                            Pretty good overall. Some good prime time slots and some early daytime Sunday games to start us off. Would be good if we play some more MCG games but it is what it is. Need to make Marvel and Mars fortress. Happy we don?t need to go down to Tassie to play the Hawks and great we have the Suns and Lions at home.
                            For me personally it's pretty good. More Sunday and afternoon games means I can actually go. Looking forward to spending time with the fam on our home deck.

For the club it's ordinary. Ballarat for our first home game is awful, just downright awful. I certainly hope we didn't lobby for that. Round 3 (4) is our first realy home game and that is a disgrace. More arvo games is not good for the club. Viewers don't watch as much so our brand doesn't get the eyes they would want. Good Friday is as good as gone. Collingwood at Marvel away. Why? Geelong in Geelong again, goody.

Most of these problems we brought on ourselves with our pathetic 2023. Looking at the draw though you'd think we finished on the bottom last year.

• Prince Imperial

Lucky you - Love Japan, been many times.
                              Just got back from six weeks in Japan, Korea and Taiwan. Left on 2 October. Silly me, could have booked it for a month earlier!

From a commercial perspective, we are yet again having more home matches against non-Vic teams (6 out of 8) than against Vic teams (5 out of 9). Should help with our winning them, but it leads to lower attendances and match day financial returns than what our Vic rivals enjoy.

• josie
                                • Oct 2012

Originally posted by Prince Imperial
                                Just got back from six weeks in Japan, Korea and Taiwan. Left on 2 October. Silly me, could have booked it for a month earlier!

From a commercial perspective, we are yet again having more home matches against non-Vic teams (6 out of 8) than against Vic teams (5 out of 9). Should help with our winning them, but it leads to lower attendances and match day financial returns than what our Vic rivals enjoy.
                                Good point re. $.

What places were highlights that you’d recommend or would want to see again?
                                Josie :)

Our day will come
                                And we'll have everything.
                                We'll share the joy
                                Just like '54 again.