Fevola faces axe from Lions
Re: Fevola faces axe from Lions
Clearly he either picks and chooses the advice he wants to hear and rejects the advice he doesnt like the sound of that counseller was an idiot and shouldnt be in a position of offering advice.
KB made a good point this morning when he said that Fev has really run off the rails since Dick Pratt died. Maybe Pratt was a good influence on Fev?They say Burt Lancaster has one, but I don't believe them.Comment
That get's back to my point about his trouble with listening. He keeps coming back to this idea that because it was the ponie's that he got into trouble with, therefore all other forms of gambling are OK. I even heard him claim that a counseller told him it would be therapeutic for him to indulge in forms of gambling that didnt involve betting on the horses.
Clearly he either picks and chooses the advice he wants to hear and rejects the advice he doesnt like the sound of that counseller was an idiot and shouldnt be in a position of offering advice.
KB made a good point this morning when he said that Fev has really run off the rails since Dick Pratt died. Maybe Pratt was a good influence on Fev?FFC: Established 1883
Premierships: AFL 1954, 2016 VFA - 1898,99,1900, 1908, 1913, 1919-20, 1923-24, VFL: 2014, 2016 . Champions of Victoria 1924. AFLW - 2018.Comment
I cant remember his online player name, however from memory it was made up of part of this name and jumper number at carltonComment
BTW I'd hate to be a gambling addict. It seems that everywhere you turn there's a gaming outlet shoving their sevices down your throat. It's almost seems unAustralian not to bet.
At least with drugs it's relatively easy to choose to avoid friends or places who indulge in coke/speed/heroin/pot. But it's almost impossible to avoid gambling of some form in this country. Every workplace has a footy tipping comp and Melbourne cup sweeps, every pub is a defacto TAB outlet, there's ads for sportsbetting agencys on TV or radio or in the written press. I dont have a problem ignoring them but if I was an addict I just dont know how I'd cope.They say Burt Lancaster has one, but I don't believe them.Comment
Is KB pointing out that like Dick Pratt, he used to get away with it? Or someone to pay out the problems?Comment
Online Poker is his main vice now, and he can play that without anyone knowing. If you were to believe a poster in the BF poker board about 18 months ago, via a product called sharkscope he was able to determine some exceptionally large losses.
I cant remember his online player name, however from memory it was made up of part of this name and jumper number at carlton
Besides him at one stage being sponsored to play (not his money for the most part) he had lost something like $5k in 3 months. Certainly that is a lot for me but I don't earn $700k a year.Comment
I dont think that KB was nominating Pratt for a posthomous Nobel prize. He was more pointing out that there is a correlation between his death and Fev really running off the rails.
Then again Fev was no choir boy at the start of his career. Like Chop's said, maybe Pratt was in a position to cover up his excesses using his influence with people or just plain covering the debts he ran up.
David Parkin has some very interesting insights on the Fev situation and what it was like handling him in the early days at carlton.They say Burt Lancaster has one, but I don't believe them.Comment
A synopsis of the top of my head;
When Fev first turned up at the Blues Parko asked him what he wanted to do with his life and he said that all he wanted to be was a professional footballer. Fev said that now that he was on an AFL list he was going to chuck school in because he thought that going to school was basically a waste of his time. Parkin told him that with an attitude like that then as long as he was the coach Fev would never play a game in the seniors. If Fev wanted to prove that he was determined to succeed then at the very least he would finish his secondary school education.
It was on an ABC radio football broadcast last year.They say Burt Lancaster has one, but I don't believe them.Comment
But not that uncommmon... often part of the problem is their belief that they are OK, and that they have it (the addiction) under control.[B][COLOR="#0000CD"]Our club was born in blood and boots, not in AFL focus groups.[/COLOR][/B]Comment
This bit intrigues me. I understand that you have debunked the fact it wasnt Fev the poster was talking about but let's say for argument's sake it was. Even if it isnt his own money he was using is it still a problem with his rehab that he is gambling?
Is the problem, a/ the fact he is still gambling?(no matter whose money he was using) b/the fact he doesnt seem to be very good at gambling or c/gambling in itself.
Lot's of people make a good living from gambling successfully-are they addicts too or is it just the mugs that do their dough who are considered to have a problem?They say Burt Lancaster has one, but I don't believe them.Comment
Fev isn't in a good enough place to say I have a problem with the horses or cards but not with poker machines.
BTW, plenty of successful gamblers still have gambling problems.Western Bulldogs Football Club "Where it's cool to drool"Comment
Yep. That's a good succint definition. Urge is the key word I reckon.
BTW There's an accountant's office near where I live. About a year ago I walked past his office one sunday morning about 8.30am on the way to the supermarket. The door opened and a bloke walked out (along with a plume of smoke) and I noticed there was half a dozen blokes sitting around his desk playing poker-Texas hold 'em from memory.
They had obviously been sitting there all night playing and I can remember thinking "I must cross him off my list of accountants I will use". Just lately I've noticed he's been having a bit of trouble with smashed windows and other acts of vandallism to his office. I wonder if the two things are connected?They say Burt Lancaster has one, but I don't believe them.Comment
This bit intrigues me. I understand that you have debunked the fact it wasnt Fev the poster was talking about but let's say for argument's sake it was. Even if it isnt his own money he was using is it still a problem with his rehab that he is gambling?
Is the problem, a/ the fact he is still gambling?(no matter whose money he was using) b/the fact he doesnt seem to be very good at gambling or c/gambling in itself.
Lot's of people make a good living from gambling successfully-are they addicts too or is it just the mugs that do their dough who are considered to have a problem?
It is certainly an issue for him and 1 that he needs to sort and he needs to get it into his head that poker and pokies are still a major problem for him.Comment