• mighty_west
    • Feb 2008

Re: Grand Final Predictions

Originally posted by dfa4pm
    Geez. What a ripper. Not sure what to make of it though.
    I feel flat even though i hate both teams.

Amazing game, just wonder if Centrelink will bring forward next fortnights payments a week...

• soupman

Originally posted by hujsh
      seconded

I've got what i wanted out of this match. Wonder how this will effect trade week. Wasn't it supposed to be next Monday? If so that seems a bit close to the GF
      It affects everything!!!

-People have to line up for tickets again
      -People have to pay shitloads to go again
      -The players ahve to escape injury, suspension and being dropped for one more week
      -Those who have travelled from elsewhere have to reschedule everything. Imagine having to take time off work, re arrange flights, accomodation and get tickets.
      -Trade week is obviously affected
      -B&F nights are affected
      -Players holidays are cancelled

Awesome match though.

Their pre-season preparation is also delayed by a week.

• KT31
          • Jul 2008

Cricket season delayed a week.

Originally posted by KT31
            Dont think so, wasnt game at MCG next week'

He might be an absolute knob, but Goddard is damn good.

I wonder if many people will hold off on going out in the town tonight, saving it for next week? It's just a weird situation to be in for eevryone involved. Everyone down this way always goes out after the Grand Final, it's tradition ... even if Geelong isn't playing, the town is always buzzing GF night ... but with next week, it almost feels pointless.

Just plain weird.

Originally posted by KT31
                  Dont think so, wasnt game at MCG next week'

• Sockeye Salmon

Originally posted by macca
                    Daisy kicks short to Blair in 3rd quater in front of Goal. They have faith in their young players. eventhough Blair misses it shows what expectation they have on their young brigade
                    Except when Gia laid it off to Grant it was "not accepting responsiblity"

• mighty_west
                      • Feb 2008

Originally posted by comrade
                      He might be an absolute knob, but Goddard is damn good.
                      As good as Hayes was, i thought Goddard deserved the medal.

Have a look at these for tackling stats:

Saints - 100
                        Pies - 89

I don't think we would have gotten close to those numbers (we didn't reach 60 during finals), and we need to if we're ever going to take the next step.

Two words: extra time.

• AndrewP6

Originally posted by comrade
                            Seriously, WTF!

How are the Pies fans going to afford another GF ticket?
                            No trouble for them, they probably all stole them for today, they'll just do that again.

• ReLoad
                              • Sep 2009

Well, im looking at he GF from our point of view, the style of football and the sheer pressure that was applied. Our game style and skills simply wouldn't have stacked up, id suggest we are some 15-20% away from where we need to be to win a grand final.

I hope our boys watch the grand final, its something to learn from and realise just how much further we have to go and how much harder we have to work.

As for extra time, no way, both sides deserve a replay, simply awesome.

Spoke to a bookie mate of mine, lets just say he can now live in the south of France and he will never have to work again, nor his children, or their children, or in fact anyone who has ever known him. KACHING.

• AndrewP6

Originally posted by bobmurphy
                                Two words: extra time.
                                Two more words: I agree. Completely.

Damnit, that was three