Re: Jarrod Harbrow in no fear of 'Scray spray

Originally posted by mighty_west
    You have to compare, thats what they do for a living, and what exacty is THE everyday Joe anyway? a lawyer? a baker? a ditch digger? a doctor? a gym instructor? a professional sportsman?

I have no doubt money played a big role in his decision, but i also believe the family reasons, going back to Queensland were also high on the list.

Why would he goto the Gold Coast and not Brisbane? If i was working interstate and got an amazing job offer back home for the same position but a different organisation with virtually a doubled wage, i'd probably take it, if i was offered a one with alot less salary than im was already getting interstate [with all the troubles Brissy are in with their cap], no way known, thats a no brainer for me, and for a chance to be back with my family [not even worth thinking about].
    I just hope your forgiving if his loss is instrumental in us not winning a flag!
    Take your point about it being a "job",but you don't have the every day worker with emotional and financial attachment and scrutiny (web sites) from the outside.He could have asked to be traded 12 or 24 months ago on compassionate grounds.Brisbane weren't a basket case 12 months ago or even 2 years ago. I'll end my contribution there

• Ghost Dog
      • May 2010

Originally posted by Remi Moses
      I just don't see football as a business,if it was most of us would have pulled our shares out of an unsuccessful business years ago. I guess I look at it from a supporters point of view and we don't have an emotional attachment to the average "Joe" and his job. Am I dirty on a potential star leaving us and potentially costing a flag.
      Definetely!!
      Yeah but you are a supporter and he is a player. Of course players have to be a bit more pragmatic as that is their job. Supporting is not our job.
      Potential star? Shiiiiit Clarence. Star without question IMO. Gold coast seemed to think so too.

But Harbrow cost us a flag? Pull the other one. Not with the way we have drafted. Z-Man is going to look Harbrow look like the Lou Diamond Phillips / Kostya Tszyu impersonator he is!

hell though, I will miss his Shimmy. Still remember that two step he pulled late in the season, sort of twisting running sideways for a few moments while rotating his upper bodies to feign a turn then bolting straight ahead.
      Can't remember who it was against. Silky Sublime.

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
        Yeah but you are a supporter and he is a player. Of course players have to be a bit more pragmatic as that is their job. Supporting is not our job.
        Potential star? Shiiiiit Clarence. Star without question IMO. Gold coast seemed to think so too.

But Harbrow cost us a flag? Pull the other one. Not with the way we have drafted. Z-Man is going to look Harbrow look like the Lou Diamond Phillips / Kostya Tszyu impersonator he is!

hell though, I will miss his Shimmy. Still remember that two step he pulled late in the season, sort of twisting running sideways for a few moments while rotating his upper bodies to feign a turn then bolting straight ahead.
        Can't remember who it was against. Silky Sublime.
        Seriously mate I don't know what planet you're on but we've drafted a kid from outback Australia! Harbrow hasn't been consistent enough to be classified as a star.
        Potentially a star of the competition but not yet.

• Ghost Dog
          • May 2010

Seriously mate I don't know what planet you're on but we've drafted a kid from outback Australia! Harbrow hasn't been consistent enough to be classified as a star.
          Potentially a star of the competition but not yet.
          So? Jarrah is from outback Australia I'm sure the recruiters have done their homework. Anyhow, IMO Harbrow was one of our most consistent players in terms of his role. *shrugs* agree to differ.
          He played pretty well whichever way you look at it in 2010 and I don't see what all the fuss is about.
          Won't be wishing him a lousy 2011 more than any other player.
          good Luck to yeh shorty! but not when you play your former team.

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
            So? Jarrah is from outback Australia I'm sure the recruiters have done their homework. Anyhow, IMO Harbrow was one of our most consistent players in terms of his role. *shrugs* agree to differ.
            He played pretty well whichever way you look at it in 2010 and I don't see what all the fuss is about.
            Won't be wishing him a lousy 2011 more than any other player.
            good Luck to yeh shorty! but not when you play your former team.
            I hope he is . But really at pick 80 odd why didn't anyone else pick him up earlier?
            Shane Thorne anyone? Great story if he makes it

• Missing Dog

I hope he is . But really at pick 80 odd why didn't anyone else pick him up earlier?
              Melbourne drafted both Davy & Jarrah as Rookies, so 15 other clubs overlooked them. I'm give the club plenty of credit...Morris, Picken, Boyd, Harbrow...ALL ROOKIES that other clubs passed on so why can't Z-Man become a STAR

• Ghost Dog
                • May 2010

Wow. We have done pretty well out of late draft picks. I think Lake was pretty late, 74 from memory?

• Ghost Dog
                  • May 2010

Originally Posted by Remi Moses

Potentially a star of the competition but not yet..

Sure Remi, I will admit! that Harbrow was really just an attacking back with a bit of X-factor and creative play. Not really a star, you're right.
                  I just had a man crush on him! Loved the way he took on a man.
                  It's for that reason that I really doubt his loss will cost us a flag.
                  One could find a bunch of players similar in style up the top end I'm sure

Originally posted by mighty_west
                    Got to give him credit for the way he respects Rocket and his old team mates, rather than that McMahon idiot who went out with a passing shot at the club.

I am more disapponted him leaving for the fact that he has his head screwed on and has a great work ethic.
                    Originally posted by Mofra
                    No hard feelings, too much for him to gain by going to where his GF & her family live.
                    Bitterness is a bit immature IMO.
                    100%. The way he conducted himself is excellent, and he should get the same respect and courtesy in return. Otherwise, we're all hypocrites.

Originally posted by comrade
                    He would have been my favourite player, had he stayed.

He sold out, IMO, and it's becoming clear that he lied all year to avoid facing his teammates. He signed during the 'window'.

The fact that he was off to the GC, getting photos taken in their colours on the Monday and Tuesday directly after our prelim loss just doesn't sit right with me.

Not that he'll care with his big contract to help him sleep at night, but I'll be giving it to him whenever we play GC.
                    This is bullshit mate, sorry. I've lived interstate for extended periods of time (5 years) and it's harder every year. It doesn't get easier mate, only harder. His whole support network outside of footy was thousands of kilometres away.

I believe him 100% when he names family reasons. Homesickness has ended many a football career, especially for the indigenous boys.

Originally posted by way out west
                    I recall him saying that he wanted to tell Rocket and the players but was not allowed by GC. In a ealier interview on radio by him or his manager he says he signed last year but was forbidden to reveal it as stated in his contract.
                    Another example of circumstances we're unaware of. If he had disclosed his transfer, we would have lost him for 2010 as well. No team is going to play 100% with a guy they know is out of here. Attempts at protecting our IP would have also caused friction.

He shies away from the media and probably would have preferred to disclose it early on and take the heat away, but instead acted in the interests of the team.

Originally posted by EJ Smith
                      Good for him that he will be able to go around the corner to Cairns from the Gold Coast to visit his family. Probably go for dinner a couple of times a week

Mum's lamb roast was the clincher
                      His parents live in Cairns....2000klm away, from Mermaid Beach, the roast would be cold by the time he gets up here, and we don't often have the need for a nice big hot roast dinner in Cairns.

This idea that he has moved to be closer to family is crap, he is a Cairns boy, not a Brissie boy, he was 3.5 hours away by plane from Melbourne, now he is 2.5 hours away from Brisbane/Gold Coast, so by moving he is 1 hour closer to his family.............crap!!!!

money, money, money, I want to be sunny, it's a rich man's game, (apologies to ABBA).

Good luck to the kid, but tell us the truth don't feed us the family garbage.

I think the Z-man has a better chance of making it than Thorne.
                        His coaches have been glowing in reviews of his dedication & character, he wont have the family/kids that Thorne had to deal with relocating, he has been to Melbourne before & trained with us last year so knows how hard he has to work and the irrational exuberence reason is simply due to his first name

Originally posted by Greggles
                          Good luck to the kid, but tell us the truth don't feed us the family garbage.
                          His girlfriend's parents will be living close by, and he will be living with his girlfriend too after she spent 2010 in Brissie. He was someone who said he hated the Melbourne climate too.

If GWS offered him more $$$ I'm convinced he still would have decided to go to the GC Suns.

• BulldogBelle

Good luck to him he will a good player for the GCS - whether he left for the family or the $$$ reasons, it was his choice to make.

I was actually never too fussed about him leaving us to join GCS.

Originally posted by BulldogBelle
                              Good luck to him he will a good player for the GCS - whether he left for the family or the $$$ reasons, it was his choice to make.

I was actually never too fussed about him leaving us to join GCS.
                              You would probably be the only Bulldogs supporter I have spoken to who, who feels this way.

Most are pretty peeved that we are losing a player who looks like developing into a 200+ gamer and will play some pretty damn good footy.

• BulldogBelle

Originally posted by Mantis
                                You would probably be the only Bulldogs supporter I have spoken to who, who feels this way.

Most are pretty peeved that we are losing a player who looks like developing into a 200+ gamer and will play some pretty damn good footy.

Really, I have spoken to quite a few who are neither here nor there with him leaving, they were more concerned with a Griffen or Cooney wanting to leave. I guess each and everyone to their own.

No doubt a lot of people will be annoyed with him going and he will play many good games at GCS - I wish him the best, he had a decision to make and he did what was right for himself.