• The Pie Man

Re: Kelli underwood

Originally posted by Chops
    I don't know another female AFL commentator so she was always on a hiding to nothing to win fans over. He voice is a little dull but there are also plenty of male voices that are dull that don't cop the scrutiny.
    Different sport, but Mike Cockerill is hopeless sometimes : when there maybe 1 goal a game, you've got to lose it. He hardly ever changes tone.

She's better than him - she's not the worst AFL caller at all.

But what are Ch 10 meant to do when their research indicates she's annoying? You can't just dismiss it as a redneck reaction, as perfectly reasonable people of both genders find her voice irritating...much like our current PM funnily enough (as in annoying - different sound, but same effect)

• Throughandthrough

I have NO issues with female commentators at all, but i'm glad she has been moved on, as she was utterly and completely BORING!

• AndrewP6

I think that is the only issue. Like anyone who is being a pioneer in something like the male dominated field of Australian rules to really succeed you normally have to be a bit better than average and I think Underwood just comes up a little short of the mark.
        With a bit of training I'd expect her back on the air in 12 months.
        Her boss (can't remember his name from the article) says a couple of years on radio is what she needs.

With a bit of training I'd expect her back on the air in 12 months.

That's my thoughts too. I reckon if Kelli goes away and improves her vocal delivery that she will be back calling footy matches in the future.

Her ability to get player's names correct is better than most of the other commentators and there is nothing wrong with her knowledge of the game.

Originally posted by Bulldog Revolution
            Not only did Underwood know their names, she knew where they were from and what their strengths were etc.

I'm not saying I loved her commentary but it's sad that a commentator who actually had some knowledge is given the flick whilst plenty of hopeless ones keep chugging around.

Most of the special comments crews provide no insight e.g Tim Watson
            Agreed. Kelli get's the flick yet people like Walls stay in work.
            Suppose you need someone to swing in the breeze in the commentary box!

I had and continue to have no issue with a female commentator, but she was awful. The job is commentating, which means you're heard and not seen 90% of the time and her voice was painful. You've got the game there in front of you, what the commentator says is no more important than how they say it, and as I said she was unbearable. The worst thing is her voice sounded put on, as if she was trying to sound like an ocker bloke. Her calling was cliched and getting players names right was only average, but if she had a smooth and pleasant voice I'd be happy to have her calling.

Originally posted by Greystache
                I had and continue to have no issue with a female commentator, but she was awful. The job is commentating, which means you're heard and not seen 90% of the time and her voice was painful. You've got the game there in front of you, what the commentator says is no more important than how they say it, and as I said she was unbearable. The worst thing is her voice sounded put on, as if she was trying to sound like an ocker bloke. Her calling was cliched and getting players names right was only average, but if she had a smooth and pleasant voice I'd be happy to have her calling.
                I tend to agree with this, she seemed to be calling like she was on radio.

Generally with commentors I find the main thing that influences me is whether I nlike the sound of their voice and then what comments they make when not calling the play.

I don't think I like anyone on TV including Commetti.

• Ghost Dog
                  • May 2010

Originally posted by Greystache
                  I was trying to put my finger on what bothered me about her call...
                  .... you nailed it!

Why does it have to be about her being a woman?

She was bad at her job, so she lost it.

• Dancin' Douggy

She was unbearable. Like being forced to eat your own teeth.

• mjp

Originally posted by Happy Days

If being bad at your job meant you would lose it, how is Robert Walls still employed??? How is Jason Bennett still commentating?

It is partly about her being a woman because a large portion of the audience simply don't want to hear a female commentator...Robert Walls is a peanut but he doesn't have to fight off the 'what do girls know about footy' crowd.

Despite the initial uniqueness of a female voice I didn't give a toss about her calling or not.
                          What bothers me however is that no matter what female voice commentates your going to get a large amount of moaning . Sad but some still live in a caveman mentality!

• Ghost Dog
                            • May 2010

Originally posted by Dancin' Douggy
                            She was unbearable. Like being forced to eat your own teeth.
                            LOL kak

• Desipura

Would rather Derrick Underwood

Originally posted by Happy Days

Cos there are are plenty of male commentators that are worse that keep there job and are as analyzed like her.