Re: AFL player dead?

The news footage on tonight's news with the interview with Boyd looked like they where all (I saw Murph and Grant) getting on a plane. Can't imagine it would be much fun staying under the circumstances.

• AndrewP6

Originally posted by KT31
      Also should mention great initiative and management from the Dogs to send a chaperone.
      I think it's shocking that the club feels the players need a chaperone. Or, shocking that the players can't be trusted.

• Maddog37
        • Nov 2010

The club is just protecting their investment.

Originally posted by AndrewP6
          I think it's shocking that the club feels the players need a chaperone. Or, shocking that the players can't be trusted.
          The players paid for him themselves.

• AndrewP6

Originally posted by Greystache
            The players paid for him themselves.
            Wow. Their opinion of themselves must really be bad. I just can't fathom myself going away on a trip and saying "Hang on fellas, we better get someone to go with us"

I agree it's a bit bizarre.

• Scraggers
                Premiership Moderator

Do you not remember the YouTube footage of Hong Kong ... Esky lid surfing and doing the worm over some random's car !! It's not that much of a stretch to think a chaperone is required !!

• The Underdog

Perhaps its less to protect them from themselves than to protect them from others, particularly those with cameras. Or an extension of the look after your mates theory.

• AndrewP6

Originally posted by Scraggers
                    Do you not remember the YouTube footage of Hong Kong ... Esky lid surfing and doing the worm over some random's car !! It's not that much of a stretch to think a chaperone is required !!
                    But to think they paid for it themselves? Very weird IMO

That's some conclusion to draw. Have you ever been to Las Vegas?

Having to deal with bogans who are filled to the gills with who knows what that happen to recognise a group of 10 footballers in a place where law and order can be pretty hardline sounds like a pain in the arse.

Chipping in a few bucks to get a mate (the clubs runner) who knows his way around to join you on a holiday doesn't seem a big deal to me to avoid any potential hassles.

• AndrewP6

That's some conclusion to draw. Have you ever been to Las Vegas?

Having to deal with bogans who are filled to the gills with who knows what that happen to recognise a group of 10 footballers in a place where law and order can be pretty hardline sounds like a pain in the arse.

Chipping in a few bucks to get a mate (the clubs runner) who knows his way around to join you on a holiday doesn't seem a big deal to me to avoid any potential hassles.
                        Fair enough, agree to disagree. I'd be embarrassed to have to do that.

And no, I haven't been to Vegas, but I've been on plenty of sports trips (and some questionable places!) and never once felt that I needed a paid chaperone.

Fair enough, agree to disagree. I'd be embarrassed to have to do that.

And no, I haven't been to Vegas, but I've been on plenty of sports trips (and some questionable places!) and never once felt that I needed a paid chaperone.
                          Yep fair enough.

I've traveled most of the world over the years, and from experience going somewhere with a mate that knows their way around makes for a far more enjoyable trip, especially if it's a short one. If it was a complete stranger I'd agree it would be weird.

Ps Vegas is great fun but gee there is a disproportionately large number of dickheads there.

Never a truer word spoken. It's like a theme park for adults.

Re: John McCarthy found dead

I've been to Vegas in the last year or so and it has it's fair share of lunatics offering you all kinds of stuff. Not saying that the players would indulge in illegal activities but having a cop with the group is probably a good plan. Buddy system if you like...