• FrediKanoute

Re: EJ Whitten Special - Foxtel 9.30 Monday Night

I managed to what about half of it on the way into work this morning.....almost was a bubbling mess.

Is it just me or was 1995 the highpoint in AFL? The game was just going full professional, the players were still characters and not media robots. There would be very, very, few players now who would be as free and passionate.

Do any woofers think EJ fits the criteria to have a statue at the MCG?

Originally posted by Eastdog
        He's already got two statues. One at Whitten Oval and one outside the Braybrook Hotel.

Three's a charm. Is that criteria enough?

• FrediKanoute

No...He is ours and that's the way I like it.

"How ya goin Ted?"
            "Hey knackers!"

• Scraggers
              Premiership Moderator

It took me over three hours to watch that show. I had tears streaming down my face !!

All the time through my head these words kept repeating ... Bring Back State Of Origin Footy !!!

Walking to the ground before his last game:

"Well, Ted, how does it feel walking down this lane approaching your last game?"
                "It feels bloody awful, David, I don't feel very happy about it at all"

Classic.

Originally posted by Scraggers
                  It took me over three hours to watch that show. I had tears streaming down my face !!

All the time through my head these words kept repeating ... Bring Back State Of Origin Footy !!!
                  Yes! The players want it and I think fans would support it. I would.

Originally posted by FrediKanoute
                    No...He is ours and that's the way I like it.
                    I like that too. There are other greats who don't have a statue at the MCG.

Yes! The players want it and I think fans would support it. I would.
                      Unfortunately I don't think people would be to keen on State of Origin today. Injury concerns for all players involved. Was great I heard back in the 80s.

• F'scary
                        • Dec 2011

Unfortunately I don't think people would be to keen on State of Origin today. Injury concerns for all players involved. Was great I heard back in the 80s.
                        Look at it this way, Easty. SOO used to pull 80,000 to 100,000 to the MCG back in the 80's for a match vs SA or WA.
                        Officially on the Bus-wagon

Originally posted by F'scary
                          Look at it this way, Easty. SOO used to pull 80,000 to 100,000 to the MCG back in the 80's for a match vs SA or WA.
                          Great crowds. How many do you reckon F'scary would it pull in today though at the G?

Originally posted by comrade
                            "How ya goin Ted?"
                            "Hey knackers!"

That's seriously going back into my vocabulary.

As much as it would be cool to see the best of the best take on each other, I'd be devastated if Bonti or Stringer (or Dahl or Macrae or Boyd or Libba...so many guns!) copped a season ending injury that may harm our flag chances.

That said, once we win a flag, bring back the big V!

• F'scary
                                • Dec 2011

Great crowds. How many do you reckon F'scary would it pull in today though at the G?
                                I don't know, mate, I just don't know, it's all changed. Ted Whitten was a big part of the success. He would play the media for weeks leading up to a match. He was able to command the absolute attention and commitment of all involved and the public lapped it up as witnessed by the massive turnouts at the 'G'.
                                Officially on the Bus-wagon