Re: Game Day Round 12 2015 - Western Bulldogs V Brisbane Lions

Does our rampant last quarter cover a few cracks? I thought a number of our players struggled for the better part of 3 quarters. We will need to be better agajnst the Saints.
    Not sure. It certainly wasn't a spectacular performance as you would assume from a 72 point win, but that in itself is a good sign, that we were able to win very well whilst not really playing great footy (last quarter exception).

Think we'll be better for the run, but we will need to play better in the coming weeks.

Originally posted by The Bulldogs Bite
      Not sure. It certainly wasn't a spectacular performance as you would assume from a 72 point win, but that in itself is a good sign, that we were able to win very well whilst not really playing great footy (last quarter exception).

Think we'll be better for the run, but we will need to play better in the coming weeks.
      Pretty typical of a very young team . They're inconsistent in effort and output .
      If someone had said after shocktober last year we'd be 6 and 5 halfway, we'd have been 100/1

Originally posted by The Bulldogs Bite

Lot of poor turnovers that kept Brisbane in it. Just couldn't break open that 20 point break on them. Good thing was they pushed and got within a kick in the 3rd and we found another level and blew them away. That's a huge margin considering how close they got.

• F'scary
          • Dec 2011

Originally posted by G-Mo77
          Lot of poor turnovers that kept Brisbane in it. Just couldn't break open that 20 point break on them. Good thing was they pushed and got within a kick in the 3rd and we found another level and blew them away. That's a huge margin considering how close they got.
          at times we worked out new ways to get the opposition back into the game.
          Officially on the Bus-wagon

Originally posted by F'scary
            at times we worked out new ways to get the opposition back into the game.
            We sure did. I thought our first half was quite poor. It wasn't Brisbane hanging in we forced them to stay in the game.

Originally posted by G-Mo77
              We sure did. I thought our first half was quite poor. It wasn't Brisbane hanging in we forced them to stay in the game.
              Talking to the guy behind me at the game. We gave them to many open goals.

• AndrewP6

Does our rampant last quarter cover a few cracks? I thought a number of our players struggled for the better part of 3 quarters. We will need to be better agajnst the Saints.
                I reckon so. As you say, for three quarters we were ordinary. Brisvegas are terrible, too.

Nice win albeit against a depleted opposition.
                  Have heard this all through the week and also alot tonight. They are no longer depleted. They are missing Rockcliff and Merret. I'd argue our injury list is more significant than theirs.

Great effort to win by that margin with such a young team on the park.

I thought our endevour was good but our skill and finishing was a bit rusty. If we had made the most of our chances we would have won by 100 points. If we bring that effort against the Saints next week, for four quarters, and reward ourselves efficiently for that effort then we will beat the Saints comfortably.

Cracking win for me. We had 5 teenagers and half the team under 50, so to win by that much against any op is great.

Originally posted by chef
                        Cracking win for me. We had 5 teenagers and half the team under 50, so to win by that much against any op is great.
                        The whole team was under 50 and I would say most of the coaching staff, maybe some of the board members and supporters were over 50 though.

Originally posted by Jaytee
                          Have heard this all through the week and also alot tonight. They are no longer depleted. They are missing Rockcliff and Merret. I'd argue our injury list is more significant than theirs.

Great effort to win by that margin with such a young team on the park.
                          They had to pick from just 27 players so I'm not sure why you are saying they aren't down on numbers. They are also having problems with player retention. If/when they lose Aish I can see them getting some sort of compensation from the AFL.
                          Looking at their 2010 and 2011 drafts where these players should be entering their prime they have lost the majority of selections to other clubs.

• merantau
                            • May 2015

For me the most pleasing aspect of the win was the game of J. Grant. He displayed some real run and confidence, made few, if any errors, and was the most 'in and under' I've ever seen him as well as being good on the outside and in the air. Easily the best 4 quarters he's put together since he's been at the club. I'm happy with the big win but mindful of our very poor first half. To be honest, when they kicked the first two goals after half time, I was really worried. How quickly things turned around though. I'm hoping this is the start of a big run home.
                            [URL="http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau"]http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau[/URL]

They had to pick from just 27 players so I'm not sure why you are saying they aren't down on numbers. They are also having problems with player retention. If/when they lose Aish I can see them getting some sort of compensation from the AFL.
                              Looking at their 2010 and 2011 drafts where these players should be entering their prime they have lost the majority of selections to other clubs.
                              In the first half Aish looked as disinterested in the game going on around him as it is for somebody playing in it. Several times the play went past him and he'd be standing still looking at something else.

Aish didn't play last night.