• Drunken Bum

Re: Match Committee - Round 14 vs Carlton

Originally posted by Remi Moses
    They got a bit to prove against their old team
    Our Vfl side
    "tear it up in the vfl" was really meant to read "tear up in the vfl"
    My life is a very complicated drinking game.

• josie
      • Oct 2012

I am SO EXCITED - YAY YAY YAY. Go Caleb - you little ripper !!

I reckon Caleb will help heaps as an outside, clever disposal midfielder - we've been needing one in last few weeks.

Honeychurch a good in with his tackling pressure which I think will help Redpath and Stringer.

Really happy Big Red has another go at seniors too. Love the big heart of this monster and really hope he makes it at senior level.

My niggling concerns are; I thought we were one short of good inside midfielders last week - perhaps Honeychurch will rotate through there and would also love some more outside mid leg speed (will be good when Jong is fit and ripping it up at VFL as we really miss the verve he brought early in season).
      Josie :)

Our day will come
      And we'll have everything.
      We'll share the joy
      Just like '54 again.

• boydogs
        • Apr 2009

Carlton have lost Menzel, Carrazzo and Docherty to injury. We should really pull their pants down

Originally posted by boydogs
          Carlton have lost Menzel, Carrazzo and Docherty to injury. We should really pull their pants down
          Did Jones get promoted?

• boydogs
            • Apr 2009

Did Jones get promoted?
            Jones & Tutt both emergencies

Jones & Tutt both liabilities
              Ta. Edited for accuracy...

• F'scary
                • Dec 2011

Spewing that Tom Boyd is out. Hope its nothing much.
                Officially on the Bus-wagon

• F'scary
                  • Dec 2011

What about a bit of analysis of the opposition?

I understand the Blues midfielder Cripps is hot, Everitt is having his best season ever and is a dangerous forward, Casboult is a monster who can take a grab in the forward line, Kruezer in the ruck is on fire, Henderson has been doing well at CHF the past couple of matches, Murphy, Yarran and Tuohy are in form and that the Blues beat Port Adelaide at Etihad in a close game 2 weeks ago.

Lest we not underestimate our opposition, last year we went into the corresponding match as warm favourites and they beat us convincingly (it was Bonti's first game and that was the only good thing to come out of the evening). They played a fast leading game and we had trouble keeping up with them, conceding chains of possessions between half back and half forward far too easily.

• boydogs
                    • Apr 2009

Originally posted by F'scary
                    Lest we not underestimate our opposition
                    They're no chance mate. Gibbs is suspended, Judd is retired, Menzel, Carrazzo (best tagger) & Docherty (best rebounder) are injured, Jones & Tutt are going so badly they can't get a game, and instead they've brought in a mature aged recruit who has managed 2 games and a rookie. They've won 3 games for the year and are averaging 79 points for and 108 points against, they've been so bad they sacked the league's longest serving coach for a rookie, and when they do manage to win against the bottom side they kick 5 more behinds than goals

• F'scary
                      • Dec 2011

They're no chance mate. Gibbs is suspended, Judd is retired, Menzel, Carrazzo (best tagger) & Docherty (best rebounder) are injured, Jones & Tutt are going so badly they can't get a game, and instead they've brought in a mature aged recruit who has managed 2 games and a rookie. They've won 3 games for the year and are averaging 79 points for and 108 points against, they've been so bad they sacked the league's longest serving coach for a rookie, and when they do manage to win against the bottom side they kick 5 more behinds than goals
                      I had a look at the first quarter of their game against GCF on the replay and I have no doubt that we can crack them like a peanut by just putting our standard "men of mayhem" pressure on them. But there is still that lingering concern due to that 2nd half against the Saints (first encounter) and the awful loss to the f'n Dees.

• Dry Rot

Good to see that the match Committee finally took notice of my sig here, and dropped Boyd for Daniel.

Originally posted by Dry Rot
                          Good to see that the match Committee finally took notice of my sig here, and dropped Boyd for Daniel.

And your avatar.

• The Underdog

I'm still a long way off the Redpath bandwagon so hope he can provide the contest T Boyd provides when we play well. I won't get to see this game so look forward to reports especially re Calebs debut.

• Cyberdoggie

Originally posted by The Underdog
                              I'm still a long way off the Redpath bandwagon so hope he can provide the contest T Boyd provides when we play well. I won't get to see this game so look forward to reports especially re Calebs debut.
                              I think they are actually quite different players even though they are similar builds.

Boyd isn't the quickest and is more of a contested pack marking player while Redpath tends to be better as a leading forward. Jack's contested marking isn't really his best asset.

• Cyberdoggie

Originally posted by Cyberdoggie
                                I think they are actually quite different players even though they are similar builds.

Boyd isn't the quickest and is more of a contested pack marking player while Redpath tends to be better as a leading forward. Jack's contested marking isn't really his best asset.
                                If we pass to him like he is Tom Boyd with 2 defenders sitting on him he will barely get a touch.