Re: Congratulations Matthew Boyd - 250 Games v Carlton

Well done Boydy. A huge effort to play 250 games of AFL footy. Really hoping we can win big for him on Saturday.

• Bulldog Revolution

Boydy is a great example to all about what hard work, character and dedication can achieve

Has been a great player for us over a long period of time

Originally posted by The bulldog tragician
        Congrats Matthew Boyd.

We're all guilty of under rating him, and it's a lot of fun seeing his rebirth on the backline, but not as much fun as I suspect he's having. The hug that he and Murf shared after our Sydney victory was that of two blokes who thought they wouldn't play finals again and reinvigorated by this coach and the enthusiasm of youth, are back in love with the game.

As an aside, i reckon Boydy would be a straight shooting team mate on the field if you stuffed up. He gave Joel Hamling a right old serve when the Man Bun was able to mark on the goal line in the last quarter. He would set a very high standard both on the track and on field.
        I seem to recall him ripping shreds off Jake Stringer on-field last year for a smug goal celebration. Along the lines of "That's not how we make porridge here mate."

• ratsmac
          • May 2009

Congrats to a 3 time club champion, 2 time all Australian, captain and rookie. Matty will go down as a bulldog great. He is a testament of what hard can do. He has his flaws as a player as most players do, but his good way outweighs his bad. His ball use has been frustrating at times but he has turned that around this season thus far. I'm actually happy to see the ball in his hands this season and I haven't said that for years. He is also a model footballer and person. He has never been caught up in any scandals or anything untoward on or off the field. He just goes about his business and will bleed for this club. I for one am happy he plays for us.

I will put my hand up as one who wanted him to retire last year but I am so glad he didn't. We are a better football team when Matthew Boyd is playing!

Again congrats Boydy on your 250th game.

I had forgot this bit of trivia. Matty is the grandson of the famous peanut nut man

Go BOYDY

I had forgot this bit of trivia. Matty is the grandson of the famous peanut nut man

Go BOYDY
                No way? Serious?

Great to see Boyd kick an important goal.