Re: Game Day Round 16 2015 - Geelong V Western Bulldogs

You'd have thought as Bulldogs supporters we'd be hardened against losses like this but it seems this year has given us hope, which in turn causes us to go feral when we drop one.

Just a few numbers...

The Cats had 10 players with over 100 games experience, including NINE with 150+. We had 4 in total, with 3 players with 150+ games.

We had 12 players with under 50 games. Geelong had 7.

They averaged 116 games per player.

We averaged 75 games per player.

Those numbers should be describing a finals team vs a shot to pieces, rebuilding cellar dweller.

Yeah, we played like rubbish but let's be honest. The blokes looked knackered from the get go, which should be a shock after playing in Cairns.

Let's all take a deep breath and enjoy this year for what it is. 4 in a row has got a few dreaming about an unlikely run at the flag this year but it's just not our time.

Hate losing, but try and refrain from denigrating the team.

Great post mate

• SonofScray
        • Apr 2008

The performance wasn't much better or worse than recent weeks in a lot of ways, the major difference was the result. I felt like we were playing poorly, with Geelong outworking us around the ground, roving the contests better and breaking our tackles too easily. Despite that, we were right in the contest all day and were a huge chance to pinch the game with 5 minutes to go if not for a few errors in skill and judgement.

No one played a terrible game, but no one played terribly well either. One or two players have a better day and we win. At this stage though, I think the result was over due and hopefully is a catalyst for a return to the style of footy that saw us really running hard and tackling with immense pressure.

• Rocco Jones

Originally posted by comrade
          You'd have thought as Bulldogs supporters we'd be hardened against losses like this but it seems this year has given us hope, which in turn causes us to go feral when we drop one.

Just a few numbers...

The Cats had 10 players with over 100 games experience, including NINE with 150+. We had 4 in total, with 3 players with 150+ games.

Those numbers should be describing a finals team vs a shot to pieces, rebuilding cellar dweller.

Yeah, we played like rubbish but let's be honest. The blokes looked knackered from the get go, which should be a shock after playing in Cairns.

Let's all take a deep breath and enjoy this year for what it is. 4 in a row has got a few dreaming about an unlikely run at the flag this year but it's just not our time.

Absolutely. I know you can take nothing for granted but I texted a mate 'frustrating as #*@% but we will smash these guys for years to come'.

Originally posted by Nuggety Back Pocket
            The losses of Roberts Hamling Stevens and McLean has shown up our lack of depth .
            We were beaten out of the centre where Caddy Guthrie Duncan and Kelly were all good players. The forward line drastically needs revamping. We struggled to get on even terms with Geelong for most of the match whose greater experience was the difference in the end. Campbell did very well for three quarters and it was a big surprise to see him subbed out as there were others who could have gone before him. Roughead was disappointing going back in to defence as was Crameri when you should have expected more from him. Wallis without much support battled manfully in the midfield.
            Daniel again showed what a good player he is going to be. Our past for victories against teams behind us on the ladder just may have inflated our abilities even allowing for the fact that we can be satisfied with the improvement shown this year.
            1/ How do we re-vamp the forward line?

2/ Wallis was one who struggled in the midfield.. He was needed to support the likes of Macrae & Dahlhaus.

• SonofScray
              • Apr 2008

Wallis got a knee in the back early on and never looked quite right for the rest of the game IMO. He was very poppy immediately after the collision, I think he'll end up needing a rest if his earlier back injury is any indication.

Originally posted by F'scary
                We only lost by 8 points but it felt worse than that. Even though it was Geelong's home ground, they are pretty average this year. A good team would have won comfortably on the the display they put up, that is what worries me.
                Against a hardened team with that much experience against our side, I don't know what you expected ?
                Serve this up in 12 months and I'll be disappointed .
                The knee jerk stuff on here is alarming

• merantau
                  • May 2015

Originally posted by comrade

Just a few numbers...

You are right, Comrade. We have to keep things in perspective. But still, it IS hard to accept missed shots from dead in front in good conditions and at important points in the game. Psychologically some goals are worth twelve points. I still believe we will make the eight. We have improved a great deal this year. We have a LONG way to go but we are heading down the right road.
                  [URL="http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau"]http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau[/URL]

I commented earlier that a game from last year against Fremantle at Docklands reminded me of what we served up today, particularly in the third quarter.

We worked extremely hard to get the ball forward, we were fighting against ourselves for the next opportunity to dish off an ineffective possession (particularly to a team mate that was within arms length by hand), and we crowded space and congested forward movement. By contrast our opposition worked to the centre away from congested situations diagonally, and was able to understand where to place themselves for the next kick or handball out to their advantage offensively and defensively much better than we did.

With all that working against us, we could have taken five minutes to get our shit together and win the first game we've won at that ground in 12 years.

Individual players had terrible games but today for mine was a game where some old habits relating to set up disciplines and personal contributions that did our last coaches head in exposed themselves. These weren't issues that affected just our inexperienced players, but issues that permeated through our entire team.

No sensible person would ever think on a narrow ground congesting the flanks around half forward and the forward pockets whilst leaving all the defensive space wide open was going to be a way to win today. The Cats, for all their experience and mature talent almost got bettered today by a team with raw talent that for some reason had no idea how to set up or keep to a disciplined structure all day.

I don't think anyone's assessments have been over the top today, nor do I think there wasn't anything but misdirected effort from the team. I'm not sure who's fault that is, if I was to chance a guess it would be that players were just running around like headless chooks because that's what young players do sometimes.

Even top teams occasionally lose games they should win. That our team does it at this stage is pretty natural. It's all just a part of footy.

• josie
                        • Oct 2012

Originally posted by SonofScray
                        The performance wasn't much better or worse than recent weeks in a lot of ways, the major difference was the result. I felt like we were playing poorly, with Geelong outworking us around the ground, roving the contests better and breaking our tackles too easily. Despite that, we were right in the contest all day and were a huge chance to pinch the game with 5 minutes to go if not for a few errors in skill and judgement.

No one played a terrible game, but no one played terribly well either. One or two players have a better day and we win. At this stage though, I think the result was over due and hopefully is a catalyst for a return to the style of footy that saw us really running hard and tackling with immense pressure.
                        Great post, only one disagreement - I thought Dahlhaus did play terribly well - if a few others had his level of intent I think we would have got over the line today.
                        Josie :)

Our day will come
                        And we'll have everything.
                        We'll share the joy
                        Just like '54 again.

• F'scary
                          • Dec 2011

Originally posted by kruder
                          Is it just me or has the umpires stopped playing holding the ball again? It's a big reason why there is significant congestion in the game.
                          Spot on. The free against Stringer for the "sling" tackle (it wasn't) was a farce that proves the umps went into the game with a policy of not making a decision.
                          Officially on the Bus-wagon

• The bulldog tragician
                            • Apr 2013

I thought it was noticeable that we seem to be reverting - or are we being forced to revert? - to having too many 'in the contest' scrabbling for the ball, while a Geelong player always seemed to be waiting outside the pack.

I'd like to slam the Geelong Football Club for its exorbitant costings. To pay $61 to sit in the facilities that they have been gifted by governments is a blatant rip off. This was the cheapest available seat by the way - standing room was 29 (not an option for many of us). And you can't use you 17 game membership to offset the cost it's classed as an 'interstate' match ( maybe that explains Bronwyn Bishop's helicopter ride). Despite the exorbitant price tag, the large scoreboard was difficult to see from our seats and making sense of play down the other end pretty much impossible.

I was looking forward to good ole suburban footy but never again!
                            [url]www.bulldogtragician.com[/url] A blog about being a lifelong fan of the Dogs and our quixotic attempt to replicate 1954. AND WE DID
                            Author of [URL="http://www.blackincbooks.com.au/books/mighty-west"]"The Mighty West: the Bulldogs journey from daydream believers to premiership heroes[/URL]"

• SonofScray
                              • Apr 2008

Originally posted by The bulldog tragician
                              I thought it was noticeable that we seem to be reverting - or are we being forced to revert? - to having too many 'in the contest' scrabbling for the ball, while a Geelong player always seemed to be waiting outside the pack.

I'd like to slam the Geelong Football Club for its exorbitant costings. To pay $61 to sit in the facilities that they have been gifted by governments is a blatant rip off. This was the cheapest available seat by the way - standing room was 29 (not an option for many of us). And you can't use you 17 game membership to offset the cost it's classed as an 'interstate' match ( maybe that explains Bronwyn Bishop's helicopter ride). Despite the exorbitant price tag, the large scoreboard was difficult to see from our seats and making sense of play down the other end pretty much impossible.

I was looking forward to good ole suburban footy but never again!
                              Very steep. I paid $29 for a seat in front of the Gary Ablett Terrace, usually pay the same for standing room when we play there. Standing room actually offers a better view of the game. Couldn't see the scoreboard and late in the game it was impossible to track what was happening up the other end. I imagine if they ever raise the funds to finish things off it'll be much improved but for the cost it isn't that great value.

Not a huge crowd there either, seems the locals have jumped off the bandwagon a bit.

• SlimPickens
                                • Aug 2010

Can someone please comment on how TC went yesterday? Still away so didn't watch.
                                "Loves a scrap....oh yeah & he's a pretty handy footballer as well"