What are the best pubs in the west to watch AFL?

• Webby
    • Jul 2012

What are the best pubs in the west to watch AFL?

For reasons i won't go into, i won't go to Essendon away games.

Therefore I'm going with mates to a pub after the ressies tomorrow to watch the seniors. Normally I'd go to the Vic Harts in Footscray, but I'm looking for something different tomorrow.

Can anyine provide a heads up on the best pubs in the west (say (Willy-Sunshine-Maribyrnong) to watch live AFL footy?
  • Bulldog4life

Re: What are the best pubs in the west to watch AFL?

Are you searching for pubs or bars showing live sport near you? Use the Fox Sports venue finder to find your nearest venue and times showing live sport!

This might help you Webby. To be sure maybe follow up with a phone call as we are on Fox 503 tomorrow not the main Fox footy channel 504.

• Smads57
      • Nov 2014

Try the Spottiswoode Hotel in Hudsons Rd in Spotswood....just a drive down Williamstown Rd
      There is no sadder sight than a young pessimist.
      ​​​

• Webby
        • Jul 2012

Originally posted by Smads57
        Try the Spottiswoode Hotel in Hudsons Rd in Spotswood....just a drive down Williamstown Rd
        Actually come to think of it, i watched the Aus Pak test series there last year. Do they definitely have Foxtel?

• Smads57
          • Nov 2014

They do according to Bulldog4life's web link.
          There is no sadder sight than a young pessimist.
          ​​​

Will the Barkers cafe at Whitten Oval show the game live. I think thats just for when we play interstate.

Originally posted by Smads57
              Originally posted by Webby
              Actually come to think of it, i watched the Aus Pak test series there last year. Do they definitely have Foxtel?

A mate of mine mentioned it to me the other day for unofficial catch ups after Footscray home games so they must have Foxtel.

• Dancin' Douggy

Do not............i repeat. Do not go to the newmarket tavern. Awful awful awful place.

• Bulldog4life

Originally posted by Dancin' Douggy
                  Do not............i repeat. Do not go to the newmarket tavern. Awful awful awful place.
                  Sounds like you don't like it Douggy

One reviewer on google plus seemed to say it was good.

• Dancin' Douggy

Originally posted by Eastdog
                      https://plus.google.com/115778063762...ut?gl=us&hl=en

One reviewer on google plus seemed to say it was good.
                      It's hideous.

• BulldogBelle

Go to the Altona Sports Club in Altona Road Seaholme.

• Rocket Science

Must say, the front bar at the refurbed Plough in Barkly Street's a tidy option.

• Webby
                            • Jul 2012

Originally posted by Rocket Science
                            Must say, the front bar at the refurbed Plough in Barkly Street's a tidy option.
                            It is, but only for free to air games. No Foxtel.

• Webby
                              • Jul 2012

Originally posted by Dancin' Douggy
                              Actually, i know the Newmarket Tavern. Gotta agree. Stale 90's pokies venue. Bumped into a bloke i went to school with the only time i went there. Clearly drugs had gotten hold of him and he was far from the only junkie in the place!