Game Day Round 3 2016 - Western Bulldogs V Hawthorn
Re: Game Day Round 3 2016 - Western Bulldogs V Hawthorn
We had 17 players with less than 100 games out there - compared to just 8 for the Hawks. They had 7 with more than 150 games. 7! and that's without Hodge and Roughead.
When the bulk of our team have played 122 games on average (like the Hawks) and we continue to drop close games, then I'll start worrying more.Our 1954 premiership players are our heroes, and it has to be said that Charlie was their hero.Comment
They just need to get a balance. They are too inconsistent on holding the ball. Maybe we are just being bias."Footscray people are incredible people; so humble. I'm just so happy - ecstatic"Comment
Nothing, and I mean nothing, would please me more than to never have to talk about our inability to close out close games. The Sydney game last year was magnificent, but it is very much alone on a desert island with only the 2000 Super Flood, the final v Sydney in 2010 and a few Wallace home & away specials in 1999-2001 for company."Look at me mate. Look at me. I'm flyin'"Comment
[B][COLOR="#0000CD"]Our club was born in blood and boots, not in AFL focus groups.[/COLOR][/B]Comment
My sadness of Bob's injury eclipses by several lengths of Whitten Oval, my disappointment with the result of this game.
4 points worse than the dominant team in the comp for several years, with such a young side.
Especially with a quiet game from JJ, Bont, Stringer, and Libba, we did well to get close.
I have no right to be too down.
I didn't predict a season without a loss, so I'll have this for contemplation and improvement. No worries.You don't develop courage by being happy in your relationships every day. You develop it by surviving difficult times and challenging adversity. ― EpicurusComment
It was getting ridiculous at one stage. Cyril was caught dead in the water, illegally disposed of the footy, the umpire drew the whistle to his mouth to pay the obnoxious ferric, then inexplicably decided against it as the ball spilled forward to Hawthorn's advantage. Between it and Gibson in the 1st quarter not being penalised, it was a dirty day for the maggots.Time and Tide Waits For No ManComment
Nothing, and I mean nothing, would please me more than to never have to talk about our inability to close out close games. The Sydney game last year was magnificent, but it is very much alone on a desert island with only the 2000 Super Flood, the final v Sydney in 2010 and a few Wallace home & away specials in 1999-2001 for company.
We're not cursed. Players aren't infected by a strain of 'big game softness' as soon as they walk through the doors of Whitten Oval.
Those games you mentioned stand out because they were underdog victories. Everyone loves underdog victories. But underdog victories are pretty rare.
When have we closed out a big time close game when we were considered the favourite? The answer is probably never, as we've never been the favourite going into a big H&A game or final.
As in we've never assembled a good enough team.
The losses you refer to have generally always been against a team that is just better than us.
Here's a few big games I can recall from the past 7 or 8 years that we've dropped when we were in a position to win:
St Kilda PF 2009
Geelong QF 2009
St Kilda H&A 2010
Geelong H&A 2009 (I think)
Adelaide EF 2015
In each of those games, we were the betting underdogs. Why? Because the other teams were considered better than us for a multitude of reasons.
Yes, we didn't handle the pressure well - or should I say, the other team handled it better than us - but that's because the other team was better than us. The Adelaide game was probably the one that we really should have won, but even then they went in as the bookies favourites as the more experienced and older side and were were missing the likes of JJ and Koby Stevens.
It's not like we get to big games as roaring favourites and continue to fall over. We get into positions with inferior teams and are able to make a scrap of it, yet just don't have the quality to get the job done.
This group has that quality and depth. The scars of 1997, 2009 etc mean jack all because Stringer wasn't there, Bonti wasn't there, Libba wasn't there, Tom Boyd wasn't there, JJ wasn't there.
This time last year, we lost to Hawthorn by 70 points. Tonight, we lost by 3 with a minute to go. Yes, they had some outs. But I'm sure the likes of Dickson and Wood (and Crameri next year) will come in handy for us down the track.Our 1954 premiership players are our heroes, and it has to be said that Charlie was their hero.Comment
We will bounce back, forget history look forward it is exciting. But God I wish had of held on.FFC: Established 1883
Premierships: AFL 1954, 2016 VFA - 1898,99,1900, 1908, 1913, 1919-20, 1923-24, VFL: 2014, 2016 . Champions of Victoria 1924. AFLW - 2018.Comment
I can't believe no-one seems to have seen it. When Bob did his knee, Breust was hanging on to him, preventing him getting to Sicily and may have caused his injury. The replay on AFL doesn't show it but I saw it clear as day. Plus an old guy came up to me after the game and said incredulously how Bob was being held in that contest. It should have been a free, Bob shouldn't have done his knee and we should have won full stop.FFC: Established 1883
Premierships: AFL 1954, 2016 VFA - 1898,99,1900, 1908, 1913, 1919-20, 1923-24, VFL: 2014, 2016 . Champions of Victoria 1924. AFLW - 2018.Comment
Stringer had an almost game, he was playing from behind a fair bit early which he has the tendency to do now and again. If a few get over to him, he looks like a genius, if they don't it looks really bad. He got his head more in the game as it wore on but was beaten in the air too often. A few poor kicks inside 50 made it hard for him to keep it simple.
Two scenarios that frustrated me today from Stringer were the giving the footy off over the top inside 50, one at the very start go the game and the other a bit later which saw the ball hit the post. It was showboating disguised as team work. The first was either a kick for goal or a hands inside, instead the chosen miracle handball over the top. The second was better off being a moment to go back and take the set shot.
Despite the lack of positive outcomes, his work rate was still pretty good. Perhaps someone else laying closer to goal and freeing up Jake to get up around the arc and back might've seen better scoreboard production from him.Time and Tide Waits For No ManComment
Watched the replay, might have been stiff. Breust I think it was was holding and keeping him from contesting the footy in the air. He took hs eyes off it for a moment and pulled Bob across, who then pulled up injured. Would have been a contentious free but Gunston got one that was less convincing which he scored from so I'd have taken it.Time and Tide Waits For No ManComment
I think it is different, this group is one of the most exciting Bulldogs outfits in 30 years. They are young, they play attacking football and are a joy to watch. Yes we lost but another minute less or more and we could have won - the lead changed 6 times in the last quarter. I am not happy we lost, but I am not throwing the baby out with the bath water.
And then again in the early 00s. A talented team but just not quite good enough to knock off the best.
Yet in 2007 they finally assembled a team that had the quality and depth to break through. I feel like we're 12 months away from that break through and the close losses from the past 30 years will mean nothing when it all clicks into gear.Our 1954 premiership players are our heroes, and it has to be said that Charlie was their hero.Comment
I've feel like I've made this argument before but here I go:
We're not cursed. Players aren't infected by a strain of 'big game softness' as soon as they walk through the doors of Whitten Oval.
Those games you mentioned stand out because they were underdog victories. Everyone loves underdog victories. But underdog victories are pretty rare.
When have we closed out a big time close game when we were considered the favourite? The answer is probably never, as we've never been the favourite going into a big H&A game or final.
As in we've never assembled a good enough team.
The losses you refer to have generally always been against a team that is just better than us.
Here's a few big games I can recall from the past 7 or 8 years that we've dropped when we were in a position to win:
St Kilda PF 2009
Geelong QF 2009
St Kilda H&A 2010
Geelong H&A 2009 (I think)
Adelaide EF 2015
In each of those games, we were the betting underdogs. Why? Because the other teams were considered better than us for a multitude of reasons.
Yes, we didn't handle the pressure well - or should I say, the other team handled it better than us - but that's because the other team was better than us. The Adelaide game was probably the one that we really should have won, but even then they went in as the bookies favourites as the more experienced and older side and were were missing the likes of JJ and Koby Stevens.
It's not like we get to big games as roaring favourites and continue to fall over. We get into positions with inferior teams and are able to make a scrap of it, yet just don't have the quality to get the job done.
This group has that quality and depth. The scars of 1997, 2009 etc mean jack all because Stringer wasn't there, Bonti wasn't there, Libba wasn't there, Tom Boyd wasn't there, JJ wasn't there.
This time last year, we lost to Hawthorn by 70 points. Tonight, we lost by 3 with a minute to go. Yes, they had some outs. But I'm sure the likes of Dickson and Wood (and Crameri next year) will come in handy for us down the track.
And we would hopefully also get Bont, JJ, Stringer with better games to add to Dickson, Crameri and Wood.You don't develop courage by being happy in your relationships every day. You develop it by surviving difficult times and challenging adversity. ― EpicurusComment
Shattered by the loss, shattered more by Bob's injury. There are so many positives to come out of today's game. It's positive that we have some defensive issues that are plain as day as well, because they (you would hope)can be addressed and sorted. Wood was a massive out for us today, no doubt about it.
If Bob's knee is a ACL injury, how long does the Lars type take to heal? And is it even an option?They've done studies you know, 60% of the time, it works every time!
Brian Fantana.Comment