• AndrewP6

Re: 3 Things I have learned - Bulldogs vs Hawks Round 3

They would need about 50 consecutive years of heartbreaking finals losses to have the karma ledger squared.
    That sounds good to me.

They would need about 50 consecutive years of heartbreaking finals losses to have the karma ledger squared.
      Yep, you just knew Sicily would kick the goal to win the match. Put him in a Bulldog's jumper and he'd be lucky to sneak it in for a behind. Some clubs win when the moment comes and some clubs lose. Karma won't get the Hawks, when this team starts losing they'll be back to playing in front of 16,000 people, then when they start climb back up the ladder again they'll win more flags.

Originally posted by Greystache
        Yep, you just knew Sicily would kick the goal to win the match. Put him in a Bulldog's jumper and he'd be lucky to sneak it in for a behind. Some clubs win when the moment comes and some clubs lose. Karma won't get the Hawks, when this team starts losing they'll be back to playing in front of 16,000 people, then when they start climb back up the ladder again they'll win more flags.
        I was hoping Bob would call a stretcher, and thereby making him think about the shot for 3 or 4 minutes for any pressure.

• Flamethrower
          • Oct 2009

1. We need to be more composed in these blockbuster games. We were rattled early, and the last 2 minutes was diabolical. How we let them outnumber us in their forward line when we were in front I will never know - push the forwards up around the ball and outnumber them in our backline. It's not rocket science.

2. Dahl & Caleb have hearts as big as Big Tom.

3. To be dominated early & turn it all around against the best of the best means we passed the audit - we are contenders this year,
          Footscray member since 1980.

• SonofScray
            • Apr 2008

1. There is a monkey on the back of this Club and I'm not quite sure we've shaken it. Big games and big moments, we just can't nail them. I feel like this squad is almost at a tipping point in terms of shaking it off, slitting its throat and drinking its blood out of a Premiership cup but each time we lose these type of games it sinks its claws in a bit deeper.

2. Footy can be and often is, cruel. Bob simply has to get right and play again for this Club.

3.Hawthorn are an incredibly dirty team. I know they have the 'unsociable' footy tag, but fair dinkum I would have accepted a player like Hamling king hitting one of them today, or spilling some cottage cheese out of Sam Mitchell's ears. We absorbed their physicality and served up a pretty good performance in the pressure stakes, but I really wanted to see some blood.

1. Too many "official tipsters" went for us which is always a problem.
              2. That free to Rioli against Suckling for deliberate out of bounds and the one to McEvoy against Morris was not too high. As both resulted in goals they were very unfair!!!
              3. I liked how our players got on top of the hawks and unfortunately the siren at the end was two minutes late!

• Missing Dog

1. Hawthorn are an ugly team when they look like getting over run.
                2. We need to have cleaner hands and calmer heads under pressure.
                3. High bombs to Stringer/ Boyd is not winning us a flag.

Originally posted by Flamethrower
                  1. We need to be more composed in these blockbuster games. We were rattled early, and the last 2 minutes was diabolical. How we let them outnumber us in their forward line when we were in front I will never know - push the forwards up around the ball and outnumber them in our backline. It's not rocket science.
                  In addition to the horror show of the last 2 minutes, we also gifted Hawthorn 2 simple goals early in the last qtr by letting the ball slip behind in marking contests - one by Hamling and one by Adams. They simply had to kill those contests and stop the ball slipping out the back for the likes of Rioli and Breust to feast on - that gave them a crucial run-on. It's might sound harsh, but do you think Hawthorn would accept such mistakes in a close loss? We need to become a ruthless, take-no-prisoners team, and only then will we truly contend for a premiership.

A poster before was bemoaning the so-called dirty tactics of some of the Hawks players, many of whom are 4-time premiership players and future AFL Legends and HoF members. I wish we had the same ruthless killer instinct in some of our players. We are so nice, respectful, even a touch naïve.

If we are to be serious as a club, we need to recognise our weaknesses and address them. There is a serious amount of talent at our club, enough to become a contender for the next few years, but it won't count for squat without that ruthless hard edge.
                  Last edited by Sedat; 10-04-2016, 09:56 PM.

It's a great post Sedat, and it's Something Adams and Hamling have to learn .
                    GibsonStratton and co have a few seasons on those two .

Originally posted by Remi Moses
                      It's a great post Sedat, and it's Something Adams and Hamling have to learn .
                      GibsonStratton and co have a few seasons on those two .
                      Good point. One debuted last year and the other 3 weeks ago.

We can get caught up on letting another close one slip, same old Bulldogs, the curse of the Bambino etc, but most of the players out there are just pups still learning the caper.

When McLean, Daniel, Adams, Hamling, JJ, Stringer, Bonti, Macrae, Wallis, Dahl, T Boyd and others get to 75-100 games and beyond, do we think they'll still be having such lapses?

I doubt it.

• stefoid

1. For some reason we forget Caleb Daniel is a young kid that weighs 70 kgs - maybe its the mature attitude and helmet that hides his boyish features, but his future is bright. In two years he will be a little battle-hardened ball of muscle.
                        2. So that was marcus Adams 3rd game of AFL footy? okay.....
                        3. Our front 6 is too young without Dicko and Crams. Adcock plays instead of Jong or McLean and we win I reckon.

• Ghost Dog
                          • May 2010

Originally posted by SonofScray
                          1. There is a monkey on the back of this Club and I'm not quite sure we've shaken it. Big games and big moments, we just can't nail them. I feel like this squad is almost at a tipping point in terms of shaking it off, slitting its throat and drinking its blood out of a Premiership cup but each time we lose these type of games it sinks its claws in a bit deeper.

2. Footy can be and often is, cruel. Bob simply has to get right and play again for this Club.

3.Hawthorn are an incredibly dirty team. I know they have the 'unsociable' footy tag, but fair dinkum I would have accepted a player like Hamling king hitting one of them today, or spilling some cottage cheese out of Sam Mitchell's ears. We absorbed their physicality and served up a pretty good performance in the pressure stakes, but I really wanted to see some blood.
                          I don't think that's really logical. I know we are all a bit disappointed with the result, and Bob's injury, but Lukas Webb made us all remember there are much more important things in life. Right? Just watch a few Youtubes of week 1 and 2, the best tonic there is!

Richmond, Carlton, Essendon, Collingwood, all the big name clubs would be pretty jealous of a loss like that right now.

1. Marcus Adams, he's marking reminds me of peter foster
                            2. We need to lose the deer in the headlights moments, as it happened for a quarter and a half , and in the last .
                            More composure in big moments
                            3. Football gods can go and f*** themselves re. Bob

1. Im not buying this curse of the bambino, another typically Bulldog choke stuff. This team is the real deal and will be going places.

2. Love being so angry after a loss instead of disappointed. Shows where this group is at.

3. This game is so cruel. #doitforbob

• westdog54

1. Caleb will be regarded as the best of his draft by the end of his career.
                                2. Tom Boyd had a massive future as a second ruck. We won a few massive clearances when the whips were cracking because of his work.
                                3. We're not quite ready. But we will be.