Re: Flogs & Polishes

Will Minson, did anyone notice the pack mark he took in the forward line and that goal he kicked in the third?
    Just one good game can make a hell of a difference.
    I think last nights game might have just been the game he needed to kick start his career in a more solid way, Great stuff Will, i think he might have arrived.
    The last 2 games he was in position but just not holding them, last night he held one.

• westdog54

Polish: Jarrod Harbrow for finding something out of nothing in the final quarter with that rolling rolling rolling goal.

Originally posted by westdog54
        Polish: Jarrod Harbrow for finding something out of nothing in the final quarter with that rolling rolling rolling goal.
        How did everyone rate Harbrow's game?

Looked a little under-done to me, but still did enough as far as defensive pressure, chasing and providing an option around the ground. Was pleased to see him thrust into the midfield for a while too, and his crumbing work was good. Hill seems to have overtaken him pretty comfortably at this stage, but Harbrow adds another dimension to our side. We instantly looked more dangerous when he can on and sat deep in the forward line waiting for crumbs.

Harbrow had an excellent game considering he was rushed in and needs to adjust with his other players, he isnt a regular but proved he wants to be, i have some real faith in this kid coming on when given the opportunity over a few games in a row, not one here and one there.
          Nothing against Eade we just have a good quality of his kind of player.

Flog:

Umpiring: I know it doesn't matter now and that we won regardless, but Aker's hand's in the 'back' (shorts, if they're the back then I'm lost)...how is he supposed to grab his shorts without touching them? I couldn't believe it and was one of the many booing for a while after...further more it cost us a goal which was just excellent...Also, Mitch Hahn was ripped off in the forward line, should have got a couple of free kicks. I think St Kilda's last goal was a result of a blatant hand in the back non-call on Lake, but when Lake touches Gehrig it's automatically 50m (which is correct, but there was also another free kick he should have got which is perfectly pictured in the HS today). Well, I wasn't impressed...

Commentators: I listened to the highlights of SEN's call and it was so exciting, but when I watched the replay of 7's telecast I was bored out of my mind, I thought our huge comeback warranted a bit of excitement in the box, but apparently not.

Our first quarter: Speaks for itself really.

Polishes:
            The whole side, I thought we were excellent after quarter time, our commitment showed and it gives us a lot of belief for any following rounds where we're caught in a bit of trouble early.

Our defenders had no chance early, but they stuck at it and it really helped when our midfielders switched on. If I mention particular players no doubt I'll miss some, but it was credit to all of them that they could cover Johnson who had no impact and even Welsh and Gia who had 1 and 0 respectively...I think. Addison backed up his great performance last week, I was really impressed with his first quarter, he was one of few whose tackles stuck and was also very hard at it for four quarters. Of course they made mistakes, TCD mentioned Hill's, which was really bad, but that'll happen and as long as they make up for it you can let those ones go.

• katemeehan

Rolling...rolling...rolling
              that goal was great
              Was hanging over the fence and when he got it the Saints Cheer Squad were just shut right down
              Loved that moment

Hahaha funny goal, must have been everyone just yelling out go go go go to the ball that made it go through , it just had enough on it to go through.

Originally posted by Topdog
                  3rd quarter. About 5 minutes left. Dogs up by 15 (i think.)

G-train bombs it to the goalsquare from 55m out. Hudson gets a simple punch by himself after Hill jumps all over Saints player and gets no where near the ball. Saints kick easy goal from goalsquare.
                  The boy hill is excused !!!!!!!!

Originally posted by ledge
                    Harbrow had an excellent game considering he was rushed in and needs to adjust with his other players, he isnt a regular but proved he wants to be, i have some real faith in this kid coming on when given the opportunity over a few games in a row, not one here and one there.
                    Nothing against Eade we just have a good quality of his kind of player.
                    You dont need to talk up Harbrow to quite a few posters on this site. We know what he brings to the team. He played quite a few games last year in succession and would be looking to build on that performance this year. The coach really rates him and I wouldn't be surprised to see him given every opportunity to keep his spot in the side.

• westdog54

Originally posted by Griffen#16
                      How did everyone rate Harbrow's game?

Looked a little under-done to me, but still did enough as far as defensive pressure, chasing and providing an option around the ground. Was pleased to see him thrust into the midfield for a while too, and his crumbing work was good. Hill seems to have overtaken him pretty comfortably at this stage, but Harbrow adds another dimension to our side. We instantly looked more dangerous when he can on and sat deep in the forward line waiting for crumbs.
                      Thought he played a decent game.

I will give him a big big polish for one piece of play now that I think of it.

Very very late in the final quarter he made a lead on the wing, the pass looked like it might fall short but he seemed to sprint it out and made it to the ball to take the mark.

Sockeye and I were extremely impressed that with the game well and truly won deep in time on he was still busting his gut for a mark. It was a good 50-60 metre lead. Respect.

• westdog54

Originally posted by minson27
                        Hahaha funny goal, must have been everyone just yelling out go go go go to the ball that made it go through , it just had enough on it to go through.
                        Not only that, it seemed to just roll around the goalpost as well. Full credit to the goal umpire, watched it very closely all the way through.

Speaking of goal umpires, my flog,
                          Goal umpires credentials: Missing part of brain, act and look stupid, also wear a cap in night games to stop moonburn? Or can the lights cause dandruff or something?
                          There is one my Carlton mate loves, he looks like one of the Mario brothers and is so serious whenever he has to make a decision. Billy Bowden should do that job when he retires from cricket umpiring.

• katemeehan

Not only that, it seemed to just roll around the goalpost as well. Full credit to the goal umpire, watched it very closely all the way through.

Me and my mates couldnt stop laughing at this. He was with it more than a chook laying an egg.

Polish - Griffen's quick step. It wasn't seen on TV very well but Griffen repeated the double step (done on Ablett in 2005) a little when he beat Blake and left him for dead in the 2nd quarter for a goal.

Flog - The TV commentators believing AKA actually pushed ?? in the first quarter. You have got to be kidding me.