Re: Game Day AFL Finals Week 2 Semi Final - Hawthorn V Western Bulldogs

The fans are garnishing the energy from the players . It is phenomenal

Stringers snap goal in the third I could watch a million times. The crowd was electric! I literally jumped out of my seat.

The noise of the dogs fans tonight will live with me forever. Incredible.

Originally posted by The Bulldogs Bite
        Stringers snap goal in the third I could watch a million times. The crowd was electric! I literally jumped out of my seat.

One of the best moments I've had at the footy.....by a stretch.

Originally posted by comrade
          My voice is cactus.
          Snap.

I'm not going to be able to talk much for the balance of the weekend. My knowing smile will say it all, though.

Originally posted by The Bulldogs Bite

Jumped out of my seat quite a few times last night! He had some very important moments, Stringer. He certainly thrives off the big moments and wants the ball in his hands - as do most of our blokes these days.

Just watched the game again (no sleep and a 12 hour+ workday ahead of me but adrenalin is a wonderful thing). Usually after singing the team song, a winning team dispands but these guys instinctively stepped forwards and huddled and hugged, such is the togetherness. This is a special time.

That was some night.. The momentum we gained through the 2nd, 3rd & 4th quarters was simply amazing.. Was it 12 goals to 1 through that period? I said last week you don't go to Perth and beat a good team by 8 goals.. Well you don't bang on 12 to 1 against the 3 time reigning premiers.. YES YOU *!*!*!*!ING DO!!

The pressure, ball hunting and then execution was the best I've seen given the opposition, we broke them.. Just brilliant from such a young group. Our midfield was simply amazing against a group much the senior.. Our boys tore them a new one.

I can't say I've seen a better player for the Dogs than the Bont.. If he improves at all over the next 5 years, which I'm sure he will, they might have time build another statue.... He just picked us up and said come with me, and he's 20.. Wow!!

The last 8-10min wasn't ideal, we need to improve in icing games, but we will as we gain more experience.. The torture of being a Dogs fan had a few supporters thinking the worst as the junk time goals came, but it was over and when the Doggies fan in the corporate box yelled 2min to go at the 26min mark.. Well the relief was evident to all.

We move on to another PF.. What is it, 8 losses? It's our time! It's our time!

• westdog54

I haven't watched any of the game yet bar the AFL website highlights.

If you only see one replay, watch Picken running into the open goal in the last.

The camera behind the goals captures the RW&B faithful going absolutely bananas behind him. It's so, so good.

At one stage, the Hawks had kicked their 7th goal about midway through the 2nd quarter and by midway through the last they had only kicked one more to that stage. It was a super defensive effort.

• merantau
                      • May 2015

Thanks Woofers. These posts bring to life what an incredible atmosphere reigned at the G last night. Go Dogs!
                      [URL="http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau"]http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau[/URL]

Originally posted by AndrewP6
                        One (more) thing I'm happy about with this win... Bruuuce's pathetic fan-boying towards Hawthorn gets a rest. Dogs knock off the reigning premiers, and he wants to talk about how wonderful Hawthorn have been. God I hate him.
                        Bruce saying we should thank Hawthorne for the last few years... *!*!*!*! that! They;ve got 3 premierships I think that's enough. Time for someone else, preferably someone with red white and blue colours

Originally posted by Mantis
                          That was some night.. The momentum we gained through the 2nd, 3rd & 4th quarters was simply amazing.. Was it 12 goals to 1 through that period? I said last week you don't go to Perth and beat a good team by 8 goals.. Well you don't bang on 12 to 1 against the 3 time reigning premiers.. YES YOU *!*!*!*!ING DO!!
                          9 goals in a row against one of the greatest teams of the modern era.
                          Bonti beating Hodge a few times one on one was as much a signal of the changing of the guard as anything else could have been.

His one on one mark, and later stripping Hodge of the ball to set up a goal.

• Throughandthrough

from a mate of mine who used to be an AFL umpire "Umpires are finally getting on top of Hawthorn's tactic of shepherding on the mark. About time"

• angelopetraglia

It wasn't a dream. OMG we actually won!

• anfo27

Wow what a memorable night. Went in thinking we would win and convinced myself by half time we couldn't win. Got home at 11:30 and watched a replay straight away.
                                Just so so proud of these players. Bevo is a magician! Belief is such a powerful thing and Bevo has the players believing they can walk on water. Bevo is Cesar Millan!
                                I have to tip my cap to the hawks members. There was a stuff up with my tickets and i ended up in the Hawthorn members area. Surrounded by brown & gold. I had countless hawks members shake my hand and congratulate me and wish me luck. It was awesome to be going off my nut surrounded by the enemy.

We beat GWS we win the flag.