Re: Game Day AFL Finals Week 2 Semi Final - Hawthorn V Western Bulldogs

Originally posted by merantau
    Don't think it's been referred to yet, but I loved the way our blokes handled themselves in thr half time dust up. Tom Boyd right in the thick of it and looking right at home. Liam Picken right in their faces. We could not be intimidated and took it all in without breaking stride - our second half bears witness to that. Well done Dogs. Won the fight by winning the game.
    Loved Libba in the 'melee', as the teams separated and headed to their respective races, he turned to face Hawthorn with the entire team behind him walking backwards, just daring Hawthorn to have another crack. Love his desire for a scrap and to cover his teammates. Good genes.

The melee seemed to have been started by one of many of the average Hawks players who have ridden on the coat tails of their more successful counterparts - only for the good ol' boys to get involved and try on some ol' fashion intimidation.......because you know, it's worked so well against the Bulldogs in recent times.

I knew the deal was getting serious when James Sicily started throwing his weight around. My Hawks mate said many Hawks supporters believe Sicily has Dermie traits, I pointed out to him that volume in games won over a period of time directly correlates with the volume of ridiculous things supporters say. He agreed.

What the Hawks learned from the melee (and what they should have known already) is that this Bulldogs team is genuinely hard, manic and not reliant on intimidation to physically impose itself on games. After the entire year of bad luck in terms of personnel, the only time we have looked sub-par is when we haven't brought effort or a certain mentality to the game. How stupid of them to think that anything they did physically would have a bearing on our head space and output.

It was a sign that the order is changing, and that the Hawks are going to suffer from not enforcing a generational change when the writing has been on the wall for a few months. Their old blokes could intimidate certain opponents during the time they were successful. They're not intimidating anymore, and they'll be irrelevant very quickly.

So I'm watching the replay now which is why I'm hitting this thread up again. I'm at half time, as you can probably tell.

Bruce's commentary has been disgusting. Last week he seemed OK, it was like he was still in athletics mode during the Friday night game. I seriously don't understand who this ill individual appeals to.

Carey called Bontempelli as imposing very well, Ling was vehement that Roughead didn't infringe in the centre square contest in the second and they seemed to be doing well.

Clay Smith's second quarter efforts were perfectly timed alongside the rise of Bont. Once again I stress how lucky we were Breust missed that set shot half way through the second. How he didn't give away a 50m penalty is beyond me when he slammed into Picken (as the umpire said he was part of the contest......).

Back on Bruce. The sick individual thought it appropriate to reference John Elliot's call to our pathetic history as Picken kicked his third.

Good on him. What a dickhead thinking a washed up club wrecking president, and absolute bastard of the game had any relevance to a semi final between Hawthorn and Bulldogs in 2016.

Bruce is an abomination.

The melee seemed to have been started by one of many of the average Hawks players who have ridden on the coat tails of their more successful counterparts - only for the good ol' boys to get involved and try on some ol' fashion intimidation.......because you know, it's worked so well against the Bulldogs in recent times.

I knew the deal was getting serious when James Sicily started throwing his weight around. My Hawks mate said many Hawks supporters believe Sicily has Dermie traits, I pointed out to him that volume in games won over a period of time directly correlates with the volume of ridiculous things supporters say. He agreed.

What the Hawks learned from the melee (and what they should have known already) is that this Bulldogs team is genuinely hard, manic and not reliant on intimidation to physically impose itself on games. After the entire year of bad luck in terms of personnel, the only time we have looked sub-par is when we haven't brought effort or a certain mentality to the game. How stupid of them to think that anything they did physically would have a bearing on our head space and output.

It was a sign that the order is changing, and that the Hawks are going to suffer from not enforcing a generational change when the writing has been on the wall for a few months. Their old blokes could intimidate certain opponents during the time they were successful. They're not intimidating anymore, and they'll be irrelevant very quickly.
            I thought they were smart not to do it (rough stuff) at the start of the game. Our boys, Bonts in particular, have shown that they elevate their game in response to rough stuff this year (see second North game). When they pulled it out at half time I thought to myself that this is going to be bad for them, and our blokes would lift in response. 10.1 in the second half... If I were an opposition coach, I'd be clearly instructing my players not to go this way against the dogs.

Back on Bruce. The sick individual thought it appropriate to reference John Elliot's call to our pathetic history as Picken kicked his third.

Good on him. What a dickhead thinking a washed up club wrecking president, and absolute bastard of the game had any relevance to a semi final between Hawthorn and Bulldogs in 2016.

Bruce is an abomination.
              Yep, Bad Bruce turned up on Friday night - it is one of life's great mysteries that he can be one of the world's best and authoritative commentators during the Olympics but then turns to a blubbering mess at the footy. Even more mysterious is that he was nothing like this when commentating the footy in the 90's.

Replay is on again!

Who else felt at half time that the Hawks had thrown their best punch yet we were still standing? I reckon the melee was an outpouring of their frustration that they were unable to land the knockout blow.

We were sweet after that.

12.30 today on Channel 7 is the replay of Friday night.

Thanks for the heads up.

But it could possibly be at 12pm.

Originally posted by azabob
                      Thanks for the heads up.

But it could possibly be at 12pm.
                      Check your local guides

I'm going off the Bendigo Advertiser TV guide.

Originally posted by comrade
                        Replay is on again!

Who else felt at half time that the Hawks had thrown their best punch yet we were still standing? I reckon the melee was an outpouring of their frustration that they were unable to land the knockout blow.

Yep, that was the tipping point for me. It was a sign of desperation, they had hit us with their best punch and we just smiled and kept moving forward. I thought we can only beat ourselves from here on. I was on my toes after that but I couldn't even dream what was about to unfold. Incredible. Just Incredible. We spared them from an absolute belting by looking after next week, like last week the ease of the last 5 minutes will keep us in good shape.

• BornInDroopSt'54

Check your local guides

I'm going off the Bendigo Advertiser TV guide.
                          Thanks for that, it's on at 12:00pm on 7 melbourne
                          Footscray Football Republic.

Originally posted by BornInDroopSt'54
                            Thanks for that, it's on at 12:00pm on 7 melbourne
                            Ta. The Addy guide is out. It's on right now people's.

• The bulldog tragician
                              • Apr 2013

Originally posted by comrade
                              Replay is on again!

We bounced around, energised, after that melee. I saw shades of the blue at the famous 2000 victory against Essendon, where the fight showed us we were in it up to our eyeballs. No surprise that the Liberatore spirit was to the fore on both occasions.
                              [url]www.bulldogtragician.com[/url] A blog about being a lifelong fan of the Dogs and our quixotic attempt to replicate 1954. AND WE DID
                              Author of [URL="http://www.blackincbooks.com.au/books/mighty-west"]"The Mighty West: the Bulldogs journey from daydream believers to premiership heroes[/URL]"

McLean's overturned shot, took us to 1.5 at quarter time. So then that's 15.6 after quarter time, and 10.1 after half time. Who would've thought straight kicking would make us soooo much better.