Want back-to-back flags? Then what do we to need change or improve in 2017?

• Bulldog Revolution

Re: Want back-to-back flags? Then what do we to need change or improve in 2017?

Super thread - lots of important issues to consider, but then IMO there is hardly a more important issue in life than to consider how the dogs might do it all again

We still have a lot of young guys with upside

Backline: Adams and Cordy get their chances to replace Hamling - Suckling, Murphy both missed the prelim and GF and would - Williams may spend more time being groomed. The impressive and likely rookie Lynch might also get a chance, as might Roarke Smith. Can Morris and Matt Boyd reproduce golden seasons?? I don't know, but its worth taking a moment just to appreciate how sensational these two have been for the club. Dale Morris embodies everything we want the modern bulldog player to be, fiercely determined, more skilled than is generally appreciated, incredibly giving of his time with fans, from all reports a great person, clubman, teammate, mentor, dad etc. Matt Boyd has unfairly had his detractors. Yes he ran himself ragged in the midfield and missed the odd target, but he did this whilst covering more ground than anyone in the competition, smashing his body physically to gain more of the ball than anyone in the game at least in one season. But, what we need to appreciate is his single minded determination that has willed himself, and our club, to a premiership. In the process he has overcome many scars of prelims past, has moved positions on the ground and been named all australian, and in his latter years has become a better leader of the gen y, millenials than seemed likely. Ok, premiership bulldog reminiscing momentarily done.

Midfield: Stevens and Hrovat's losses can be covered mostly from within. The major loss is Wallis who may reappear late in the season but whose an underrated, and incredibly consistent performer - Jong is the many most likely to be beneficiary and still has the athleticism and scope to become an A grader if his game sense can improve again, i have been bullish about Webb for a while and more work on his tank and off the ball work could see him in the mix, perhaps even Honeychurch and Dale shape as options in this area of the ground, but also for that high half forward role. Maybe Lipinski is the Stevens big bodied mid replacement, but then he may take some time.

Forwardline: Crameri is a huge addition - such a workhorse in terms of the ground he covers, his ability to get one out the back. His addition makes life easier for Stringer and Dickson. Cloke - will get every chance to replace injured Redpath - needs to cover ground, compete and take his chances - I remain quite hopeful he could be a big part of the equation. Tom Boyd - i watched Dunstall say after the grand final that players take a lot of confidence from performing so well in a grand final - and if his form continues on that trajectory then lookout. Bailey Dale may also be in the mix for a high half forward role and its not beyond his grasp to become a good option there, whilst Mitch Honeychurch is on our list because he has spent his whole life performing above the expectations of him, so I don't discount him either. Lipinski may also get a taste at some stage in a half forward role

Good post mate.

I appreciate you think cattle are going to play a significant part in our title defence, how do you feel strategy and selection pressure (providing we stay healthy) will play a part given it's getting harder and harder for all of us to select a best 22 players? This year we cobbled competitiveness together week in and week out due to injuries, what do we look like and what do we do with a healthy list to impreove?

Which players miss out on first cut selection and which ones play a big part in getting us up and running?
      We also can't forget Redpath and Wallis who are expected to return later in the season. I would say Wally would slot back in much like Libba did. Redpath is another forward and will have quite a lot of competition now.

Originally posted by Eastdog
        We also can't forget Redpath and Wallis who are expected to return later in the season. I would say Wally would slot back in much like Libba did. Redpath is another forward and will have quite a lot of competition now.
        This is the most competition for tall forward spots I've seen at the bulldogs. Back in the mid '70s I can recall having a choice between Quinlan, Templeton, Sandilands and Welsh were all on the list at the same time.

It is a good problem to have. How do you see Campbell going next year? Will he compliment Roughead in our side.

Would have been cool to have been around then and watch some of these guys play.

• Bulldog4life

Plus Sockeye Salmon was on the list at that time too.

Ok I need help. Can someone please explain to me why GWS will beat us in the 2017 Grand Final? Most pundits have us as runner ups for 2017, actually every pundit does. So a 30 year old Brett Deliedio and a 34 year old Stevie J go into the side that LOST to us on their home ground 4 months ago. While Cloke, Crameri and Murphy (and Wally and Adams) come into ours. How are they more likely to beat us in Melbourne with Deliedio exactly?

Please enlighten me?

I feel confident when the media are on another horse

• Bulldog Joe
                    Premiership Moderator
                    • Jul 2009

Originally posted by 1eyedog
                    Ok I need help. Can someone please explain to me why GWS will beat us in the 2017 Grand Final? Most pundits have us as runner ups for 2017, actually every pundit does. So a 30 year old Brett Deliedio and a 34 year old Stevie J go into the side that LOST to us on their home ground 4 months ago. While Cloke, Crameri and Murphy (and Wally and Adams) come into ours. How are they more likely to beat us in Melbourne with Deliedio exactly?

Please enlighten me?
                    I believe that "the pundits" are assuming that GWS are still a young and developing list with oodles of talent. They see them as having topped up with experienced heads - Mumford, Shaw, StevieJ, Griffen and now Deledio, so success is assured.

What they have done is weaken their depth for mature talent and turned their list into the second oldest on average age. They have plenty of experience across their list.

Nobody seems to factor that the automatic improvement from age/experience is just as likely to occur with our side. Instead it seems popular belief, that a premiership hangover of some sort will make us a lesser team, despite the influx of players who missed the final series.

Happy for us to be again undervalued and can't wait to see us pull the Teddy Whitten.

STICK IT UP 'EM

• merantau
                      • May 2015

Spoke with an ex-AFL player yesterday. Said he wasn't a romantic. Happy that Dogs won but "they weren't the best side in the competition. Sydney and GWS were better."
                      I was happy to hear that but pointed out to him that you only have to be "the best side on the day."
                      I'm really pleased that we're headed south
                      It will make proving all the doubters wrong even sweeter come Sept.
                      [URL="http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau"]http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau[/URL]

Originally posted by merantau
                        Spoke with an ex-AFL player yesterday. Said he wasn't a romantic. Happy that Dogs won but "they weren't the best side in the competition. Sydney and GWS were better."
                        I was happy to hear that but pointed out to him that you only have to be "the best side on the day."
                        I'm really pleased that we're headed south
                        It will make proving all the doubters wrong even sweeter come Sept.
                        I think if you honestly look at the home and away season he has a fair point. Sydney, GWS and maybe Geelong and Adelaide were impressive and yet Hawthorn who finished high on the ladder weren't. Once it came to the finals though it was a different story with our performances.

I think the fact that GWS are the current favourites for this helps us with motivation but there is a lot of work to do given every team will analyse our performances and copy what they can.

• merantau
                          • May 2015

I haven't analysed the other teams wins but one thing I know is this: we won quite a few close games, when we weren't playing well, often coming from behind. What this shows is a very strong sense of self-belief, an ability to cope with and execute under extreme pressure. Too much downhill skiing is not good prepararion for a finals campaign. I suspect GWS expected us just to go away after they opened up a fourteen point lead early in the last.
                          [URL="http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau"]http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau[/URL]

Originally posted by merantau
                            I haven't analysed the other teams wins but one thing I know is this: we won quite a few close games, when we weren't playing well, often coming from behind. What this shows is a very strong sense of self-belief, an ability to cope with and execute under extreme pressure. Too much downhill skiing is not good prepararion for a finals campaign. I suspect GWS expected us just to go away after they opened up a fourteen point lead early in the last.
                            Yeah we went 6-1 for close games in 2016 didn't we?
                            The only one we lost was the hawks game in round 3 where the footy gods decided to screw us, sans lube.

We may not have been the best team in 2016 but without doubt we were the mentally toughest and that got us over the line when it mattered.

• The Pie Man

I still have some concerns over our key defensive stocks - Adams staying fit will be important. Ideally, Cordy & Collins will start to come on...(Zaine's ability to pinch hit forward a massive bonus)

We had some flat spots through last year, which injuries can partly explain. Consistency, while playing in new territory as the hunted will also be important.

Would like to beat Geelong at some point. Was relieved to see them knocked out on the Friday night last year.

Third man up will be interesting - Stringer's goal in the last qtr of the GF doesn't happen with the new rule in place.

Other than that, I'm reallllly looking forward to this year. Reckon Tom Boyd could be monstrous as the 2nd ruck/forward.

• westdog54

I think if you honestly look at the home and away season he has a fair point. Sydney, GWS and maybe Geelong and Adelaide were impressive and yet Hawthorn who finished high on the ladder weren't. Once it came to the finals though it was a different story with our performances.
                                You are only as good as your last game. We turned it on when it mattered.

The finals are a season unto themselves. Once the H&A finishes everything effectively starts again.

Its ironic, isn't it. For a team that had a reputation for being poor performers in finals, we turned it on bigtime.