Bulldogs v Collingwood - best memories

Only 4 weeks from Friday we play our first game against Collingwood for 2017.

We have been beaten a lot by the Pies over the years, but we have had some memorable games and wins as well.

This one is particularly memorable with Beasley kicking a goal with the last kick of the day, after a blunder from now disgraced Graeme Allan. He was disgraced on this day too.

Some great players in this video, and great memories. Cordy Brothers, Rick Kenndy, Purser, Duperouzel, Jimmy Edmond, Magic McLean, Dougie Hawkins etc etc. even Travis' father.

We were losing for the entire day and at some point at least 5 goals down

Were you there that day? I was.

Re: Bulldogs v Collingwood - best memories

Up until this year the elimination final vs Collingwood was one of the best football days I can remember.

Monty getting a huge hit then kicking 4 goals, Bubba retiring pre-game even though he would have been stuck on 299 games if we lost. Great game.

Originally posted by Mofra
      Up until this year the elimination final vs Collingwood was one of the best football days I can remember.

Monty getting a huge hit then kicking 4 goals, Bubba retiring pre-game even though he would have been stuck on 299 games if we lost. Great game.
      What a day, what a huge crowd, lot's of RWB

Here are 30 minutes of highlights

Billy the kid selling candy to Graham Wright at the 'G to kick the winner.

Originally posted by Mofra

That was a great day at the footy.
          My brother and i were there and when Holland blindsided Monty you've never heard to guys going so apeshit at him and all the Collingwood Filth sitting around us.
          Geez it felt so good waving and saying good-bye to all those Filth peanuts at 3qtr time and even more halfway through the last qtr .

Originally posted by redders70
            That was a great day as well. Follow the delivery to Koly from the backline and the 60metre pass from Leon Cameron.

In 2009, we needed to win by 24 points to make 3rd on the ladder. In front of 48,888 at Etihad Stadium, it was a thrilling fast paced game.

These highlights don't show the great goal from Eagleton. ( I am sure Mantis can cope )

1985. First time I ever saw us win at Victoria Park. Back then that meant you were a serious threat because Collingwood just didn't lose there. Ever.

I remember Brad Hardie intercepting a Brian Taylor handball at full back and strolling past the lump of lard like he wasn't there then take a few steps and handballing to the Hawk in the middle of the ground. Doug turns around and has a bounce while he decides which foot he's gonna use to kick the ball to Jimmy Edmond who marks the ball knocks over two Collingwood players and kicks the goal.

All Tim Lane says is "this is how it should be done"

Originally posted by redders70
                  That was an exciting piece of play. He was full of confidence

We have been beaten a lot by the Pies over the years, but we have had some memorable games and wins as well.

This one is particularly memorable with Beasley kicking a goal with the last kick of the day, after a blunder from now disgraced Graeme Allan. He was disgraced on this day too.

Some great players in this video, and great memories. Cordy Brothers, Rick Kenndy, Purser, Duperouzel, Jimmy Edmond, Magic McLean, Dougie Hawkins etc etc. even Travis' father.

Definitely I was down that end. High pressure game and a massive crowd (lots of cans to collect for a 12 year old afterwards.

• HOSE B ROMERO
                      • Mar 2012

Certainly was BAD! That day a mate and i were leaning on the wire fencing that was between the John Gent stand and the terraced seating. When Beazer slotted that one we nearly ripped the fencing out of it's foundations. At the time i reckon our win loss ratio against them was about 125-25 in their favour (or something just as ridiculous). Let's just say a lot of emotion was released.

Observations from the video:

The Rick Kennedy goal, what a ripper. Didn't happen very often.

Our main sponsor was Eastcoast jeans. I remember going to buy a pair of their stretch denims just so i could get a 10% discount. They were a very tight 80's jean...

The commentator, Don Hyde, used to be the chief footy commentator on 3UZ( now sport 927). I clearly remember him doing the 70's match against St Kilda when we kicked our record score and Templeton kicked 15.

At 14 mins 15 seconds (at the end when The Pieman is being mobbed) there is a Collingwood fan in the background, jumping up and down celebrating! Strange....

Personally, 2006.

Back in Adelaide, watched with a mate who went for the Pies and a Crows mate. Being a gracious winner was very tough. Getting a few of our older players through for their 300ths was huge.

• HOSE B ROMERO
                          • Mar 2012

I remember us playing Collingwood in 1986 at the MCG in what was one of the first Sunday matches if i remember rightly. Tragically it was the day The Hawk did his knee.

• Webby
                            • Jul 2012

Originally posted by 1eyedog
                            Definitely I was down that end. High pressure game and a massive crowd (lots of cans to collect for a 12 year old afterwards.
                            One thing I've gotten from this YouTube clip over the years is the kid jumping up and down in the crowd at the 14:15 mark as Royal's hugging Beasley. I remember thinking "why is that Collingwood supporter celebrating?!"

Then his duffle coat opens slightly and you can see the "CFC" Carlton monogram on his chest. It was navy and white scarf - not black and white..! The kid had come to the WO in his full Carlton gear to barrack against the Pies... It's stuck in the memory over the years!

Originally posted by HOSE B ROMERO
                              Certainly was BAD! That day a mate and i were leaning on the wire fencing that was between the John Gent stand and the terraced seating. When Beazer slotted that one we nearly ripped the fencing out of it's foundations. At the time i reckon our win loss ratio against them was about 125-25 in their favour (or something just as ridiculous). Let's just say a lot of emotion was released.

Observations from the video:

The Rick Kennedy goal, what a ripper. Didn't happen very often.

Our main sponsor was Eastcoast jeans. I remember going to buy a pair of their stretch denims just so i could get a 10% discount. They were a very tight 80's jean...

The commentator, Don Hyde, used to be the chief footy commentator on 3UZ( now sport 927). I clearly remember him doing the 70's match against St Kilda when we kicked our record score and Templeton kicked 15.

At 14 mins 15 seconds (at the end when The Pieman is being mobbed) there is a Collingwood fan in the background, jumping up and down celebrating! Strange....

I can tell you off the top of my head that we hadn't beaten Collingwood since 1977 before that game.

And I am fairly certain Don Hyde was a Footsrcray supporter.