What on-field action annoys you the most?

I'm sure all our junior coaches said the same thing, the biggest stuff up you can make is kicking across goal. It was certainly one of my coaches most annoying thing for a player to do. And I agree with him, but...

For me, the most annoying thing to see is what we did a little bit last year, and Declan Hamilton did last night, that is to steal from a team mate a (non-) advantage from a free kick to a forward in a good goal scoring position. The only exception being unless a player is completely on their own and without an opposition player both behind and in front of them. Nothing annoys me more to take a non-advantage with opponents around and completely stuff up a potential goal, and it doesn't allow us time to set up to lock it forward if the set shot kick is a behind. We lose a goal or repeat entry opportunity. It's just goal hungry schoolyard BS.

So what on-field action annoys you most?

Re: What on-field action annoys you the most?

Over eager tackling that folds the tacklee and puts their spinal colomn in danger and contact to the head. I've seen one bloke made a paraplegic on the footy field and I never want to see it happen again.

I absolutely hate when the opposition has possession and 3 or 4 blokes run at said player with the ball, leaving 3 or 4 opponents free on the outside.

We were massive offenders of this under Macca, thankfully I don't see it as often now.

I hate hate hate when a player gets to a contest first & his opponent deliberately pushes/keeps the ball in to draw a free. Drives me mental.

On the flipside, I love Toby McLean's knack of getting his head ripped off.

Weird.

The umpires not staying right next to the man on the mark when a player is having a shot on goal. You talk about review systems and extra umpires etc. i would say 90% of players take at least a half step to the fat side to open up the angle. Not only that they never run in on a straight line. It's allowed because it always goes unnoticed, it's hardly ever policed and it gives the player shooting on goal an unfair advantage. I'm not sure why it's not regulated aside from the umpire initially putting you on your line - from there it's purely a trust issue.

This isn't a player based action but I also can't stand ruck infringements. It's an absolute chook lotto where actions are let go & then invariably punished. I especially hate it when the umpire bounces the ball unevenly in the middle and it favours one side of the centre so it's practically over the head of the ruckman, and then he is pinged for 'blocking' because the other ruck had a 5 metre run and jump. Just comical. I would prefer the rucks to do whatever they want in a contest and let the better man win. No third man up, no ruck frees, just let it ride.

Bad skills. I absolutely take it personally when someone can't kick or handball, because if I wanted to see someone who couldn't hit a target 25m away I'd just look in a mirror.

The contact below the knee rule. Shits me to tears.

Originally posted by chef
                  The contact below the knee rule. Shits me to tears.
                  One person in over 150 years of football gets injured and there is a knee jerk reaction from the AFEL to change the rule. Then the umpire can't get it right, except the Wood/Hannebery one in the GF - which was correct.

Many Swans whinging they should have had a free, yet Wood was there first. Hannebery comes into side bump Wood and gets his leg caught.

• Hotdog60

Diving on the ball, one bloke tries and makes an effort the win the footy and the opposition sits on him and gets a free.

Originally posted by Jaytee
                      I absolutely hate when the opposition has possession and 3 or 4 blokes run at said player with the ball, leaving 3 or 4 opponents free on the outside.

We were massive offenders of this under Macca, thankfully I don't see it as often now.
                      I hate this. We did it under Eade regularly as well.

What really used to piss me off was when team mates of mine tried to claim advantage after a mark had been awarded. That really grinds my gears. It's always a particular type of player who does it.

The whole shepherding the person whilst they stand the mark is something I don't like.

One person in over 150 years of football gets injured and there is a knee jerk reaction from the AFEL to change the rule. Then the umpire can't get it right, except the Wood/Hannebery one in the GF - which was correct.

Many Swans whinging they should have had a free, yet Wood was there first. Hannebery comes into side bump Wood and gets his leg caught.

Importantly Wood didn't slide.

The whole shepherding the person whilst they stand the mark is something I don't like.
                          Absolutely agree.

There are quite a few actions that annoy me.
                            - Players falling over in a contest and not playing the percentages
                            - Team mates flying for marks when one of them is already in a clearly better position

There are quite a few actions that annoy me.
                              - Players falling over in a contest and not playing the percentages
                              - Team mates flying for marks when one of them is already in a clearly better position
                              Oh! That reminds me. Two or three defenders all going to mark/spoil, who bring it to ground, leaving an opposition small forward to crumb an easy goal virtually uncontested. Shits me to tears.