From the Past - Brisbane

There haven't been too many memorable games with Brisbane over the years, but two come to mind .

1. Round 7, 1988 - what a joke of a finish and the AFL did nothing to change the result, or at least clear the field and let Beaza have another shot. We lost by appoint.

2. Round 18, 2005 - when the game style that Rocket wanted us to play,kicked in and we went berserk with a 9 goal last quarter. The highlight of course was the great mark from Matty Robbins and Cooney's last quarter centre clearances.

Anyone else have a game they enjoyed.

Re: From the Past - Brisbane

There haven't been too many memorable games with Brisbane over the years, but two come to mind .

1. Round 7, 1988 - what a joke of a finish and the AFL did nothing to change the result, or at least clear the field and let Beaza have another shot. We lost by appoint.

2. Round 18, 2005 - when the game style that Rocket wanted us to play,kicked in and we went berserk with a 9 goal last quarter. The highlight of course was the great mark from Matty Robbins and Cooney's last quarter centre clearances.

Anyone else have a game they enjoyed.

Cooney was brilliant that night.

I have to agree. Round 18, 2005 is my favourite Bulldogs game against Brisbane. Cooney's clearance work in the final quarter was brilliant. Simon Black was left throwing his guts up. Robbins climbed into the stratosphere to take a screamer over Chris Johnson.

2001 was also a decent game. Brisbane went on to win the flag, but in round four was smacked them around with Paul Hudson kicking eight goals. It's the most goals a Bulldog has kicked in a very long time (Johnson also managed an 8-goal performance to tie Hudson).

Originally posted by ClothesBootsMotorcycle
        I have to agree. Round 18, 2005 is my favourite Bulldogs game against Brisbane. Cooney's clearance work in the final quarter was brilliant. Simon Black was left throwing his guts up. Robbins climbed into the stratosphere to take a screamer over Chris Johnson.

2001 was also a decent game. Brisbane went on to win the flag, but in round four was smacked them around with Paul Hudson kicking eight goals. It's the most goals a Bulldog has kicked in a very long time (Johnson also managed an 8-goal performance to tie Hudson).

Originally posted by ClothesBootsMotorcycle

Do you remember how hard the rain pounded on the roof that day? It sounded like it was going to fall down at times.

From a personal POV we played Brisbane Round 16 1998 and it was the first time we played a game since I'd become a dad. The boys kicked 11.2 in the first quarter.

• Ozza

That 2005 game was one of the best nights at the footy. I'm not sure why - but for some reason I watched that game with mates from the Livewire bar, through the glass - rather than from my normal seat. And livewire was completely going off in the last quarter with every Cooney clearance. Grant, Johnson and Matty Robbins were just filling their boots that night.

Another game - Round 1 2013.
              Brisbane had just won the NAB cup, we were underdogs but creamed them by 68 points. I was in Tallarook huddled around a small radio for the game, was amazing and unexpected.

Originally posted by Mofra
                Another game - Round 1 2013.
                Brisbane had just won the NAB cup, we were underdogs but creamed them by 68 points. I was in Tallarook huddled around a small radio for the game, was amazing and unexpected.

• Bulldog Joe
                  Premiership Moderator
                  • Jul 2009

Originally posted by Rooner
                  Cooney was brilliant that night.
                  He had a big help with a dominant ruck performance from a young Will Minson

• Bulldog Joe
                    Premiership Moderator
                    • Jul 2009

Round 7 2005 was pretty good.

We had lost our captain (Darcy) to a season ending knee injury but went to the Gabba against the rampant Lions.

A guy later called Brian Lake got the better of the celebrated J Brown as we won by 23 points in a major upset.

• FrediKanoute

Originally posted by Bulldog Joe

We had lost our captain (Darcy) to a season ending knee injury but went to the Gabba against the rampant Lions.

A guy later called Brian Lake got the better of the celebrated J Brown as we won by 23 points in a major upset.
                      I was there for that! Awesome game - we gave it to the Brissy fans and had various Bulldogs fans flocking to our ara. Had a Scottish mate who F & B'd to the point that the fans called security.....the last straw though was the Akermanis song - if we sang it today we'd get banned

Originally posted by craigsahibee
                        At the same time Carlton played Adelaide at Optus Oval and there was something like 9 goals kicked in their match. Huddo kicked 8 alone.

That's right. There were articles about how fair it was that we got to play in pristine conditions and rake up a big % while they sloshed about in the wet a few miles down the road. Just bad luck for Carlton really from what I could see. Couldn't be helped.

Originally posted by Bulldog Joe

Went to that game and one of my favourite wins against the odds . Coaching masterclass from Rocket with the midget forward line up against Brisbane's big back 6 . Johnno's goal was special

Given some Brisbane Bears games are in here, I reckon it's fair enough to include a Fitzroy game. My favourite Footscray v Fitzroy game was at the Western Oval late in 1983. We had fallen out of finals contention (despite having our best year in a while after a horror stretch) and came up against a powerful Fitzroy who were 2nd on the ladder and had a team tht really should have won premierships. We trailled 10 goals to 2 early and I remember contemplating leaving (which I never did) but we gradually clawed our way back to hit the lead with 10 mintues to go and ultimately win by 26 points. I remember both WA recruits Simon Beasley and Ian Williams kicking a bag each.

Originally posted by PeanutsPeanuts
                              Given some Brisbane Bears games are in here, I reckon it's fair enough to include a Fitzroy game. My favourite Footscray v Fitzroy game was at the Western Oval late in 1983. We had fallen out of finals contention (despite having our best year in a while after a horror stretch) and came up against a powerful Fitzroy who were 2nd on the ladder and had a team tht really should have won premierships. We trailled 10 goals to 2 early and I remember contemplating leaving (which I never did) but we gradually clawed our way back to hit the lead with 10 mintues to go and ultimately win by 26 points. I remember both WA recruits Simon Beasley and Ian Williams kicking a bag each.
                              The guy from Eastcoast (the sponsor) walked into the dressing room at half time and spilled $7000 dollars out of a brown paper bag onto one of the massage tables and told the players if they came back and won the game then that 7 large went into the players trip fund. And there was 7 grand on the table for each of the next 2 games if they could win both of those for a total of 21, 000 dollars if the players won all 3 games.

They won all three games.