• Ghost Dog
    • May 2010

Re: Trade Period Reactions

Remember the days of poor old Rocket, every bloody presser, being given the same old lines of “ You really need a tall forward don’t you?” Well we have plenty of firepower now.

• The Doctor

Adrian Dodoro is the King of Trade Week!!

He's like the bad guys in wrestling. You want the good guys to win but he keeps finding ways to beat up the good guys and you can't help but watch, boo and laugh at the same time.
      Listening to Brahm's 3rd Racket

Originally posted by The Doctor

He's like the bad guys in wrestling. You want the good guys to win but he keeps finding ways to beat up the good guys and you can't help but watch, boo and laugh at the same time.
        The best heels in wrestling are the ones that are a little bit right, and also have extremely punchable faces. Dodoro totally fits the bill.

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
          Remember the days of poor old Rocket, every bloody presser, being given the same old lines of “ You really need a tall forward don’t you?” Well we have plenty of firepower now.

Oh man that's such a good get. Poor Rocket must be sitting there thinking "oh for god's sake they've gotta be kidding me"

Originally posted by The Doctor

He can keep winning trade week - their deadshit fans might see them win a final one day let alone a premiership. Last I checked their midfield is still a steaming pile of shit, full of flashy midgets (adding McGrath to the list). Where are their tall midfield extractors? Jab has retired so they don't even have a crap slow one anymore.

• SonofScray
              • Apr 2008

I hope the media who spent two weeks potting our club and cheering on a positive outcome for Essendon in the Stringer deal can acknowledge the net outcome of our trade period is quite positive. They were quick to pull out the rabble, disarray stories that they have pre-written about our Club and pull out of the top drawer when something goes awry. I wonder how quick they'll be to write a piece that recognises the suave piece of work we did in flipping a shit result from Essendon into a pretty solid haul? Our guys didn't work the media and carry on, just went to work and got a good result, all things considered.

Originally posted by SonofScray
                I hope the media who spent two weeks potting our club and cheering on a positive outcome for Essendon in the Stringer deal can acknowledge the net outcome of our trade period is quite positive. They were quick to pull out the rabble, disarray stories that they have pre-written about our Club and pull out of the top drawer when something goes awry. I wonder how quick they'll be to write a piece that recognises the suave piece of work we did in flipping a shit result from Essendon into a pretty solid haul? Our guys didn't work the media and carry on, just went to work and got a good result, all things considered.
                Exactly.

I have no doubt our aim early in the year was to get the players we got.
                  I also have no doubt Stringers exit was on the cards a month or two before the end of the season.
                  It was just a matter of how we would do it, to get two of the players for FA I would think was a godsend and Schache for 25 and 40 was beyond expectations I imagine.
                  We have got two top 20 picks and I don't think we expected to keep one to get Schache.
                  A very good result in my eyes.

• FrediKanoute

I am please with the result. I loved Stringer as a player, but honestly if he isn't going to perform and put the hard yards in he can sod off. Trengrove, Crozier and Schache should improve the team. 2 first round picks should be used wisely! Its a positive result.

What I would say to Essendon is beware of unmarked packages, you never know what they contain

• jazzadogs
                      • Oct 2008

Originally posted by FrediKanoute
                      What I would say to Essendon is beware of unmarked packages, you never know what they contain
                      And if nobody is home, make sure they don't get left with the family next door.

Originally posted by jazzadogs
                        And if nobody is home, make sure they don't get left with the family next door.
                        That's funny because as far as Essendon are concerned we are the family next door.

• macca

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
                          Fevola was pretty talented as well. A Carlton-following mate of mine told me during the dark days, him and his mates would go to the footy just to watch Fevola and see how many goals he could kick, knowing full well they would be beaten 99% of the time.
                          Most talented player in 30 years that hardly any other club wanted to touch. Saying something isn't it. At what price does the talent come if it unsettles the whole team? No worries I would have loved us to try and turn him around. But in the end only time will tell.

Have to wait and see, but given some of the rumours and lack of interest from other clubs ( indicating serious issues ) , can any of us deny that actually it could turn out to be the best decision?
                          Great point. Fev was let go by 2 clubs. So that kinda says it all how toxic he had become with his off field behaviour. We got rid of a toxic virus which was affecting our player group. His someone else's problem now!

Stringer did very little in our premiership year, and had 5 touches on the GF day, as I recall.

2015, he was hardly tagged by the comp
                          2017, cant recall him taking any decent contested marks. ( lowest over his career with us, 3 per match)
                          here are his stats from footy wire. His tackling has always been poor. Player in decline! Essendon can pay his 600K salary for the next 3 years!

Year Team GM K H D M G B T HO FF FA GA
                          2017 Bulldogs 16 7.8 4.6 12.4 3.0 1.5 1.6 1.8 0 0.6 0.9 0.6
                          2016 Bulldogs 23 7.9 6.1 14.0 3.4 1.8 1.0 2.1 0.2 0.8 0.9 0.5
                          2015 Bulldogs 22 10.7 3.6 14.3 3.5 2.6 1.4 2.7 0.3 0.5 1.1 0.9
                          2014 Bulldogs 18 7.4 4.8 12.2 3.1 1.4 0.8 2.4 0 0.7 0.7 0.5
                          2013 Bulldogs 10 4.7 3.7 8.4 3.1 1.2 0.7 2.0 0 0.1 0.9 0.5

Originally posted by FrediKanoute
                            I am please with the result. I loved Stringer as a player, but honestly if he isn't going to perform and put the hard yards in he can sod off. Trengrove, Crozier and Schache should improve the team. 2 first round picks should be used wisely! Its a positive result.

Same kind of result as getting 'the package' from Ted Kaczynski. It'll blow up in their face.

• Bulldog4life

WESTERN BULLDOGS

Who Left: Jake Stringer (Essendon)

Who Arrived: Jackson Trengove (Port Adelaide), Hayden Crozier (Fremantle), Josh Schache (Brisbane)

Draft Picks: 9, 16, 82, 101

Champion Data says: “They traded a forward for unders but then got in a player from Brisbane for unders. Key forwards take time, you look at West Coast’s Josh Kennedy at the same time as Josh Schache and they’re on a similar path. He’ll appreciate playing in a better team and within two years he will be a permanent member in their best 22.”

Chris Pelchen says: “When it came to the finish line, I think they’ve done extremely well. They missed a trick early by not pulling the trigger on Jake Stringer … but they recovered their position extremely well and finished well ahead of tape. Jackson Trengove will help them, Hayden Crozier’s better than what we’ve seen and better for coming home and they’ve done the right thing bringing Josh Schache in.”

Grade: B+

If Jake doesn't come good and schache shows his potential it will be one of the greatest trades of all time , gets me how they rate a trade when you can't really until a few years down the track.