• Sockeye Salmon

Re: Mark Williams and that gesture

Let's not forget the 'Battle of Britain' and Clarkson's king-hit on Russell Aitken (?) that started it.

• Missing-Dog

I think it was Ian Aitken.

I find it astounding that a player like Mark Williams can reveal an arrogant gesture like that when he has yet to achieve anything significant in the game. Footy Karma is a powerful force.

Can anyone remember Browny showing the ball to the Geelong defence at Optus Oval around 99/00 on his way to kicking 7 goals. Misguided arrogance. And who won that match by a couple of points? Geelong.

• BulldogBelle

Originally posted by firstdogonthemoon
        The most amazing thing to me was how much Mark Williams looked like Mark Williams!
        Yeah, they do alike don't they? I noticed that also, especially now that Mark Williams (Hawthorn) has that shorter haircut.

• Tugun Goalsneak

I can't believe how precious and bloody goody - goody we have become..... fair dinkum, the AFL have stifled any individuality and personality out of the current bunch of players and coaches to the point where they all recite the Boy Scouts " Good behaviour code before they run out on the ground. Spitting is forbidden, pissing is now a capital offence, and sledging of any form is just not gentlemanly. Mark Williams (Port Coach ) needs all the crap in the world to be thrown at him, hopefully some of it will stick and give him some sort of personality. After all he is from Adelaide, and therefore should be pitied, not scorned, because he just doesn't know any better. I bet Rick Kennedy wouyld agree. So come on all you Afl footballers, stand up for yourselves, show a bit of personality, venom, grit or whatever it takes to shake off the mould that the AFL have wedged you into over the past few years. We need another Ted Whitten, Dermot Brereton, Dipper, or Douggie Hawkins. Make the game more interesting for God's sake!

Originally posted by Tugun Goalsneak
            I can't believe how precious and bloody goody - goody we have become..... fair dinkum, the AFL have stifled any individuality and personality out of the current bunch of players and coaches to the point where they all recite the Boy Scouts " Good behaviour code before they run out on the ground. Spitting is forbidden, pissing is now a capital offence, and sledging of any form is just not gentlemanly. Mark Williams (Port Coach ) needs all the crap in the world to be thrown at him, hopefully some of it will stick and give him some sort of personality. After all he is from Adelaide, and therefore should be pitied, not scorned, because he just doesn't know any better. I bet Rick Kennedy wouyld agree. So come on all you Afl footballers, stand up for yourselves, show a bit of personality, venom, grit or whatever it takes to shake off the mould that the AFL have wedged you into over the past few years. We need another Ted Whitten, Dermot Brereton, Dipper, or Douggie Hawkins. Make the game more interesting for God's sake!
            Spitting-are you sure can can't spit or is that just the Richmond supporters?
            Pissing-who used to piss on the ground?
            Sledging- sledging's fine. Anyone can sledge.

Yeah remember the days of telling your opponent how good his mum was the night before then having a beer with them after the game, and that was FDL! These blokes are paid a mint, but sook at the thought of someone looking at them angry!
              I bet a lot of great sledging lines have been missed over the years because of this rubbish.
              Most players pissed on the ground at 1\4 time behind the little advertizing they used to put up, thought that was why it was invented!
              Spitting from my days that was disgusting if you did it on a player but if you did it on the ground perfectly fine.
              Kicking i think was the only biggest no-no i ever encountered.

• Bumper Bulldogs
                • Apr 2008

Men are Men and Boys are Boys, If you cant stand the heat get out of the kitchen.

I'm sure Mark (hawks) will not be game to walk down the streets of port and conduct street talk for the footy show. Mark (port) will slot that one away and bring it out when needed to his own advantage.

As far as I'm concerned I'm happy for other sides to act like that but would be disappointed if the dogs did it as we need to keep under the radar a bit.
                BB.

Looking forward - Naughton, Darcy and JUH. It will be the envy of everyone.

Originally posted by W W Biscuit
                  Does anyone recall such a fuss being made about Alistair Lynch's choking gesture about nine years ago? I know that it burned many Bulldog supporters deeply, and I still whince every time I see Lynch on Foxtel. Yes, I hold a good, old-fashioned footy grudge.
                  I have been thinking exactly the same thing all day WW Biscuit.

The Lynch incident pi**ed me off so much that I have never liked the person since. And where was the outrage from the media experts then???? they weren't anywher to be seen because Lynch was a favourite!

• W W Biscuit

Originally posted by Petergm
                    The Lynch incident pi**ed me off so much that I have never liked the person since. And where was the outrage from the media experts then???? they weren't anywher to be seen because Lynch was a favourite!
                    And because a misdemeanor against the Bulldogs doesn't count for as much?

Don't mind me - just the ol' persecution complex playing up again.
                    Crumbs!