Re: Has 2016 Ruined Football For You?

I knew there was only about 30 or so seconds left (my mate kept texting me the time left), and as Stringer kicked it and the ball floated through the air towards Dickson, I agree it was the greatest moment. Knowing we were in the Grand Final, what a feeling. I didn't even see Dickson kick the ball, I was still jumping up and down.

I want that moment again.
    Me too. I've told the story of me running in ever decreasing circles in my front yard yelling Yes, *!*!*!*!ing Yes! over and over again while Harvey stood at his bedroom window yelling obscenities into the early evening. When I eventually ran out of space to keep turning circles and stopped I realised that Mexican bloke next door neighbor and has half a dozen backpacker mates had been watching me the whole time. With their jaws on the ground thinking that I've obviously escaped from the house at last and was I as dangerous as I looked?

The only thing I could think of saying was "football" and their faces all lit up and they told me they loved football too. Then we had to dance.

Originally posted by Remi Moses
    It wouldn’t like you for some reason ( maybe it’s an arsenal thing ) so I pressed thanks .
    Two, I’m a tech Neanderthal so got NFI
    Well like I said it's a miracle. Add it to the parting of the seas and you're only one miracle of sainthood.

Originally posted by The Bulldogs Bite
    It would be great to win a PF at the MCG and put that curse to bed too.
    Against Adelaide. Or Geelong.

I also can't accept that people use the AFL as the reason why they are still in a funk with their level of interest in our club while resting on (or blaming it on) the success of 2016. We should want and demand more of the same from our club in 2018 and forget the side show that is the AFL.
      If the Bulldogs were not part of the AFL I would be done with the game as a fan, and I have been an AFL tragic since KT kicked 15.9 at the kennel in 1978. The product is poor (and getting poorer each year) and the management of the game by those in charge is corrupt, conflicted and contrived - they are not deserving of my time and energy.

I support the Dogs financially as a member and continue to keep an interest in my club. But the rest of the competition has little more than a cursory interest for me, when in the past I would devour every game and every media platform available.

If the Bulldogs were not part of the AFL I would be done with the game as a fan, and I have been an AFL tragic since KT kicked 15.9 at the kennel in 1978. The product is poor (and getting poorer each year) and the management of the game by those in charge is corrupt, conflicted and contrived.
        And despite all that when we perform at our best we can win the competition which is massively enjoyable.
        I'm amazed at the funk so many of our supporters have been in since our 2016 triumph. To me it's a self inflicted notion and it's just time for all our supporters to ignore the clown show that is the AFL and get back firmly on the Bulldog bike. No more excuses.

If one drink from the cup is enough for people to me that is disappointing because there are more to be had if we get our act together.
        We should all be prepared to start ponying up emotionally for another tilt and not be scared to fall short. We shouldn't just coast along with our memories from our 2016 triumph.

Me too. I've told the story of me running in ever decreasing circles in my front yard yelling Yes, *!*!*!*!ing Yes! over and over again while Harvey stood at his bedroom window yelling obscenities into the early evening. When I eventually ran out of space to keep turning circles and stopped I realised that Mexican bloke next door neighbor and has half a dozen backpacker mates had been watching me the whole time. With their jaws on the ground thinking that I've obviously escaped from the house at last and was I as dangerous as I looked?

The only thing I could think of saying was "football" and their faces all lit up and they told me they loved football too. Then we had to dance.

Well like I said it's a miracle. Add it to the parting of the seas and you're only one miracle of sainthood.

Against Adelaide. Or Geelong.

Geelong I want them at the G!

2016 was absolutely fantastic for us finally winning another premiership after so long but now 2018 I'm more determined than ever to have that experience again of winning a premiership. Was a let down 2017 so hopefully that will give us motivation to really put in a strong 2018.

Looking forward to catching up with the people around me at the footy again discussing the season ahead.

Agreed. I am willing to allow them one poor season (I know that's not what you were saying) where they may have read the press and attached some tickets to themselves. I can understand that but I won't be so understanding if it happens again. It's like a dropped catch in cricket, we forget about last season and concentrate on the next one.
              My sentiments as well Twodogs. Good analogy there with the cricket.

And despite all that when we perform at our best we can win the competition which is massively enjoyable.
                I'm amazed at the funk so many of our supporters have been in since our 2016 triumph. To me it's a self inflicted notion and it's just time for all our supporters to ignore the clown show that is the AFL and get back firmly on the Bulldog bike. No more excuses.

If one drink from the cup is enough for people to me that is disappointing because there are more to be had if we get our act together.
                We should all be prepared to start ponying up emotionally for another tilt and not be scared to fall short. We shouldn't just coast along with our memories from our 2016 triumph.
                How on earth can you ignore the 'clown show' when it is their competition and they control everything (including our club)? Apart from websites such as 'woof', absolutely everything else in the media that is Bulldogs related is sanctioned/influenced by those in charge of the game - our club and the AFL are inextricably linked.

If you are a true lover of the game you would be utterly dismayed by how it has been run this century. Self-interest clouds over everything, they have no respect or regard for grass roots footy and they also seek to disrupt/destroy other fantastic sports with their arrogant attitude to controlling the entire annual sporting calendar (especially in the southern states). All of this whilst being asleep at the wheel in managing the actual game, allowing arseholes like Paul Roos to start destroying the essence and uniqueness of what footy is and how it is played. Like I said, if it wasn't for the Bulldogs this competition and the game itself would have lost me as a rusted-on supporter of 40+ years.

None of that means we all don't want to sip from the premiership cup again - it would be wonderful to do so (as many times as possible). I daresay that any future premierships will be wonderful but will not quite compare to 2016 in terms of the story, the unexpected result and the emotion of breaking a 62 years drought. And if 2016 sates some of our supporters, that is fair enough I reckon.

• merantau
                  • May 2015

Even though I was only watching in TV Stringer to Dickson is one of the greatest moments of my barracking career. Of my life actually.
                  Agree. The supporters roaring before Dicko's marked the ball is just sublime. I rated that win as the most enjoyable ever because it went right to the wire. The GF was over with 2 -3 minutes to go. It was fantastic but for pure gut wrenching tension, followed by a tidal wave of elation - nothing comes close to it.
                  [URL="http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau"]http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau[/URL]

How on earth can you ignore the 'clown show' when it is their competition and they control everything (including our club)? Apart from websites such as 'woof', absolutely everything else in the media that is Bulldogs related is sanctioned/influenced by those in charge of the game - our club and the AFL are inextricably linked.
                    I stopped celebrating the premiership in 2016 and I don't use it as an excuse for any dwindling level of love of the AFL competition.
                    I'd ask why wasn't it as big as an issue for everyone in 2016 as it appears to be now?

The whole notion of the opening post reeks of saying we have run our marathon and we aren't sure we can invest emotionally again...unless of course the players get on a roll again and then we will jump in.

If you are a true lover of the game you would be utterly dismayed by how it has been run this century. Self-interest clouds over everything, they have no respect or regard for grass roots footy and they also seek to disrupt/destroy other fantastic sports with their arrogant attitude to controlling the entire annual sporting calendar (especially in the southern states). All of this whilst being asleep at the wheel in managing the actual game, allowing arseholes like Paul Roos to start destroying the essence and uniqueness of what footy is and how it is played. Like I said, if it wasn't for the Bulldogs this competition and the game itself would have lost me as a rusted-on supporter of 40+ years.
                    The passion I have for the club is vastly greater than I have ever had for the AFL/VFL in anytime of following footy. It's not a recent thing. I don't watch a lot of other footy at the AFL preferring the VFL and junior footy games as my distractions away from the Bulldogs.

0+ years.

None of that means we all don't want to sip from the premiership cup again - it would be wonderful to do so (as many times as possible). I daresay that any future premierships will be wonderful but will not quite compare to 2016 in terms of the story, the unexpected result and the emotion of breaking a 62 years drought. And if 2016 sates some of our supporters, that is fair enough I reckon.
                    The way I see it is if people genuinely want the Bulldogs to go to the top of the mountain again it's a bit rich to do it from the sidelines waiting to see if it's worth investing emotionally for another tilt.

The opening post starts off with:

Has 2016 Ruined Football For You?

It has for me.

In the best way possible of course. Give me the 2016 flag over anything else, everyday of the week.

But since then, the life and death nature of supporting the Dogs has dissipated. I've barely kept up with pre-season training news, the draft was a non-event when previously I would devour everything and anything to do with our future champions.

This is not a go at Comrade because I know it's what a lot of supporters feel like but rightly or wrongly I see this approach as the equivalent of putting up the 'Gone Fishin' sign or doing a sea change and moving down to Del Boca Vista with Helen and Morty.
                    People can sit back, blame the AFL or our GF success for their daze but lets face it they will all be lining up for finals tickets come September and they would be mighty pissed off if they missed out. Very few will say I don't need to go this year because 2016 was enough for me.

After such a long wait if one flag is enough for some it isn't for me. I get that winning another is what everyone wants deep down but there is a strong wiff that they want the players to drag them along for the ride rather than being prepared to ride out the season with them regardless.

We can choose to jump in or sit back, everyone can make their own decision, but win or lose I know I'll be lining up again in 2019.

I stopped celebrating the premiership in 2016 and I don't use it as an excuse for any dwindling level of love of the AFL competition.
                      I'd ask why wasn't it as big as an issue for everyone in 2016 as it appears to be now?

The whole notion of the opening post reeks of saying we have run our marathon and we aren't sure we can invest emotionally again...unless of course the players get on a roll again and then we will jump in.

The passion I have for the club is vastly greater than I have ever had for the AFL/VFL in anytime of following footy. It's not a recent thing. I don't watch a lot of other footy at the AFL preferring the VFL and junior footy games as my distractions away from the Bulldogs.

The way I see it is if people genuinely want the Bulldogs to go to the top of the mountain again it's a bit rich to do it from the sidelines waiting to see if it's worth investing emotionally for another tilt.

The opening post starts off with:

Has 2016 Ruined Football For You?

It has for me.

In the best way possible of course. Give me the 2016 flag over anything else, everyday of the week.

But since then, the life and death nature of supporting the Dogs has dissipated. I've barely kept up with pre-season training news, the draft was a non-event when previously I would devour everything and anything to do with our future champions.

This is not a go at Comrade because I know it's what a lot of supporters feel like but rightly or wrongly I see this approach as the equivalent of putting up the 'Gone Fishin' sign or doing a sea change and moving down to Del Boca Vista with Helen and Morty.
                      People can sit back, blame the AFL or our GF success for their daze but lets face it they will all be lining up for finals tickets come September and they would be mighty pissed off if they missed out. Very few will say I don't need to go this year because 2016 was enough for me.

After such a long wait if one flag is enough for some it isn't for me. I get that winning another is what everyone wants deep down but there is a strong wiff that they want the players to drag them along for the ride rather than being prepared to ride out the season with them regardless.

We can choose to jump in or sit back, everyone can make their own decision, but win or lose I know I'll be lining up again in 2019.

Dunno about anyone else but I'm ready to run down the race and *!*!*!*!ing play!

I still pony up the cash for a social club membership + an additional Ballarat one, but I'd be lying if I said footy felt as important to me since winning the flag.

And to be honest, I feel fine with it.

• kruder

2016 ruined football? Is that a mistake in the title? Surely it should read 2017? 2017 the most disappointing I can remember, 2016 was a thing of beauty.

Originally posted by comrade
                            I still pony up the cash for a social club membership + an additional Ballarat one, but I'd be lying if I said footy felt as important to me since winning the flag.

And to be honest, I feel fine with it.
                            Plenty of people relate to it and it doesn't surprise me in the slightest. I can't relate to it because 2016 really just checked one thing off the to do list and, like you, I want more of the same. We both still love the club and we are prepared to back that with our financial investment and attending games etc but our difference, I suggest, is how badly we want another flag and if we are consumed by it.
                            Our triumph in 2016 didn't satisfy my thirst for another

I'm still all in and if we are in the finals I think most people would have jumped on board as well.

Originally posted by kruder
                              2016 ruined football? Is that a mistake in the title? Surely it should read 2017? 2017 the most disappointing I can remember, 2016 was a thing of beauty.
                              That's the point. 2016 was such an achievement and once in a lifetime experience, that anything else pales in significance.

2017 barely registered a blip on my radar.

• bulldogsthru&thru

Originally posted by merantau
                                Agree. The supporters roaring before Dicko's marked the ball is just sublime. I rated that win as the most enjoyable ever because it went right to the wire. The GF was over with 2 -3 minutes to go. It was fantastic but for pure gut wrenching tension, followed by a tidal wave of elation - nothing comes close to it.
                                And also because we all had that fear that this was going to be another gut-wrenching prelim loss. I was an absolute wreck and thinking we would lose by a point. To finally be on the other side of it felt fantastic. By far the best moment i've watched as well