• josie
    • Oct 2012

New Martin Flanagan Book on 2016

Hi Mods-feel free to relocate and rename this post....

To woofers-I just read excerpt of Martin Flanagan’s new book in the age. Going to purchase a copy from readings this arvo. I love martin’s articles and am sure his book will be a beauty. He had inner sanctum access in 2016 and it is patently apparent from excerpt. Woofers go buy a copy and support an ethical bloke who is a really good writer and who has a big soft spot for our team. Go Dogs!!
    Last edited by josie; 17-02-2018, 01:46 PM. Reason: Typo
    Josie :)

Our day will come
    And we'll have everything.
    We'll share the joy
    Just like '54 again.
  • Murphy'sLore
    • Sep 2009

Re: New Martin Flanagan Book on 2016

The extract in The Age this morning made me tear up. I imagine the whole book will destroy me. Love love love Martin Flanagan's writing, I cna't think of anyone better to write this book!

• josie
      • Oct 2012

Yeah-with you on the tearing up ML.

Just in Carlton Readings. The book is in stock 26 feb. They have 40 in order however it will be publicised in their regular magazine so I reckon they’ll sell out first lot pronto. Hence placed an order-just in time for hubby’s birthday (might sneak read a bit first though...)

Our day will come
      We'll share the joy
      Just like '54 again.

• I'm Not Bitter Anymore!
        • Jun 2010

Also teary after reading that. I have pre-ordered the book from Book Depository

• Murphy'sLore
          • Sep 2009

Preordered two copies from Readings -- mother in law's birthday coming up!

I have pre-ordered on Booktopia.com.au

• BornInDroopSt'54

"A Wink from The Universe" by Martin Flanagan, published by Penguin Random House on sale this week RRP $34.99.

Footscray Football Republic.

What is this bloody book called anyway? is it Waiting for the big Dance or A Wink from The Universe or Twodogs book of footy supporting or firstdogonthemoon's "i love the bulldogs" or what?

Im confused but that's normal.

Originally posted by BornInDroopSt'54
                  "A Wink from The Universe" by Martin Flanagan, published by Penguin Random House on sale this week RRP $34.99.
                  What is this bloody book called anyway? is it Waiting for the big Dance or A Wink from The Universe or Twodogs book of footy supporting or firstdogonthemoon's "i love the bulldogs" or what?

Im confused but that's normal.
                  See above

• Missing-Dog

Always thought Wil Anderson was from Heyfield not "Haywood".

Originally posted by craigsahibee
                      Always thought Wil Anderson was from Heyfield not "Haywood".
                      Yep Heyfield, Victoria in Gippsland in the correct one.

• The bulldog tragician
                        • Apr 2013

I hope it is not inappropriate to post this and if so I’m sure a mod will take it down. I also wrote a book about the Doggies’ premiership which was published last year. It was very much a from-the-heart story of our journey as fans, I’d been blogging about the experience of being a fan since 2013.

Though I get lots of great feedback from people who read the book, and Tim Lane paid me a wonderful compliment that it was in his view ‘the best footy book he’d read’, I also hear from many ardent Bulldogs’ fans that they have never heard of it and are really surprised and then very keen to track it down. I’m glad to say that when they do so, they often get back in touch to say that they also passed on the news to other Dogs fans who then enjoyed it too.

The club sadly did not support the book, they would not stock it in the Bulldogs shop though like any retailer they would have made a profit, and only did one tweet .... this was disappointing as I’d allowed them to reproduce my blog for free during the 2016 finals.

Martin Flanagan’s book will be heavily promoted and I’m looking forward to reading it as much as the next person, but just in case anyone who’s reading this has never heard of my book, I thought I’d write this post.
                        [url]www.bulldogtragician.com[/url] A blog about being a lifelong fan of the Dogs and our quixotic attempt to replicate 1954. AND WE DID
                        Author of [URL="http://www.blackincbooks.com.au/books/mighty-west"]"The Mighty West: the Bulldogs journey from daydream believers to premiership heroes[/URL]"

• josie
                          • Oct 2012

Bulldog Tragician book a beauty- I highly recommend it. Very heartfelt and some good laughs too.

Our day will come
                          We'll share the joy
                          Just like '54 again.

• SonofScray
                            • Apr 2008

Originally posted by The bulldog tragician
                            I hope it is not inappropriate to post this and if so I’m sure a mod will take it down. I also wrote a book about the Doggies’ premiership which was published last year. It was very much a from-the-heart story of our journey as fans, I’d been blogging about the experience of being a fan since 2013.

Though I get lots of great feedback from people who read the book, and Tim Lane paid me a wonderful compliment that it was in his view ‘the best footy book he’d read’, I also hear from many ardent Bulldogs’ fans that they have never heard of it and are really surprised and then very keen to track it down. I’m glad to say that when they do so, they often get back in touch to say that they also passed on the news to other Dogs fans who then enjoyed it too.

The club sadly did not support the book, they would not stock it in the Bulldogs shop though like any retailer they would have made a profit, and only did one tweet .... this was disappointing as I’d allowed them to reproduce my blog for free during the 2016 finals.

Martin Flanagan’s book will be heavily promoted and I’m looking forward to reading it as much as the next person, but just in case anyone who’s reading this has never heard of my book, I thought I’d write this post.
                            Both 'The Mighty West' and 'Too Tough To Die' are very important pieces in the history of our Club and must read/own books. That's a little bit underwhelming, that the back of house dealing didn't end with with the club supporting the book more etc (though not surprising, professional sports clubs are odd like that).

I read 'Too Tough to Die' not long after my nan died. She was in the Taskforce. I noticed it in a box when we were cleaning out the house and claimed for my own. My daughter is two years old, I suspect at some point in her life she'll find a dog eared copy of 'The Mighty West,' and read it & it'll affirm much of her understanding why her family is the way it is, just as I did.

Flanagan is my favourite writer when it comes to footy. He has this dogged belief that the game exists outside of the industry and celebrates the absolute core elements of why Aussie Rules is important and why our Club matters. I despise the homogenous, fake macho, group think of the AFL. I suspect he does too. Looking forward to this one.

• Missing Dog

Got my copy today and I'm loving it think this will be the best footy book I'll ever read.