If Fridge plays mid will he turn into a freezer?

• lemmon

Originally posted by Mofra
    I actually don't want Freijah anywhere near congestion - his kicking is an absolute weapon and even as a first year player we were trying to get the ball in his hands. I want him kicking in space.

If we're looking to a player to follow for midfield progression, look at Truck - seasons in defence, then a successful transition to wing.
    It's a good point, but I think a mid who can use the footy and impact forward of centre is worth so much more than a halfback that can use the ball well. It seems like just about every outside midfielder who is struggling can roll to half-back and find the ball + use it neatly. Mids who are 6'1 that can play inside-outside win games

Originally posted by lemmon

It's a good point, but I think a mid who can use the footy and impact forward of centre is worth so much more than a halfback that can use the ball well. It seems like just about every outside midfielder who is struggling can roll to half-back and find the ball + use it neatly. Mids who are 6'1 that can play inside-outside win games
      The issue is he was drafted as a winger and developed at half back, so I'm not sure the "inside-out" description take applies to Freijah at this point of his career.

Libba/Sanders/Richards are odds-on to be our starting midfield in our first rotation.

• lemmon
        lemmon commented
        Editing a comment
        For sure, it's absolutely an attributes-based roll of the dice. I just like his talent and physical profile for the role if that's where he does play.

Libba/Sanders/Richards are odds-on to be our starting midfield in our first rotation.
      And I would think Kennedy and Harmes would be next in line to support.

But playing the extra defender does make you feel that either Freijah or Gallagher will play a role in the midfield.

Originally posted by Mantis

And I would think Kennedy and Harmes would be next in line to support.

But playing the extra defender does make you feel that either Freijah or Gallagher will play a role in the midfield.
        Given the training reports I expect Fridge will take some months there, even though I'm not sure I'd do it.

Gags could tag as well, but that's a plan B. I still wish and about Gags' kicking coming out of defence. I'm expecting Arty is the sub.

• doggies ftw
          • Dec 2013

The issue is he was drafted as a winger and developed at half back, so I'm not sure the "inside-out" description take applies to Freijah at this point of his career.

He’s played quite a bit of inside time in his juniors too, including the game he kicked 6 in the Coates he was rotating on ball and forward - not all wing. We’d have a blueprint of his ability in there.

Dont think he’ll be a starting mid but looks like he’ll rotate through there which I’m keen to see. Although to be honest I think we need him more at Half back right now, but still keen to see his potential in the middle for the future if required.

• doggies ftw
            • Dec 2013

Originally posted by NAUGHTY100

We have to at least try with Freijah, i can remember the same criticism about taking Richards out of the back line , and look at him now , and i know most against this move will say yeah but Richards was an relatively experienced player , so Freijah is in his 2nd year but as we all can see a very composed young man he dosnt panic when the heat is on , so let him give this a try, ist not like its set in stone and if it dosnt work his finished , let his creativity loose , with luck we may just have another 191 cm mid with unlimited scope to improve , i say nothing ventured nothing gained .
            Agree with this, I was screaming for Richards to be tried in the middle and we waited too long and basically had our hand forced. Who knows if we didn’t get those injuries maybe we never would have even tried. I think Bevo recognises this and doesn’t want to make the same mistake.

I don’t think we need to worry about “disrupting” him or anything like that, he’s played every position on the ground including inside midfielder in his juniors, transitioned to half back without a worry. No one’s asking him to carry the midfield on his back but whilst we have some injuries in there it’s a good opportunity to test the waters with a few centre bounces and find out what we’re dealing with because it may become more important in the future.

Better to find out now than in an important game towards the end of the season etc. and it’ll be nice to know now if we potentially find a ‘game breaker’ & another chess piece for Bevo we can use in an important moment down the track

Pretty even split across the poll and some great points of views shared.

Guess we’ll find out in about 10 hours… I’m hoping he spends about 20% mid and 80% back, subject to how we’re playing and our mix in both zones are looking.

• lemmon

Strong start. I thought he was the difference-maker in the first 10 minutes of the last quarter. Definitely wasn't justifying the move up until half time, but he turned it around.

• SonofScray
                  • Apr 2008

Loved his goal late. Clean centre bounce win, good spread, run and carry, running shot. Dagger in the heart play that we want to see become a bit more bread and butter for our kids.

I haven’t cooled on the Fridge to the mids.

• merantau
                      • May 2015

He is a competitor. Even when he was thrown into the ruck he gave a fair dinkum contest. Give him a job and he will do his utmost to meet your expectations

So yes, I believe he could be a big success as an inside or outside mid. Or as a tagger. Give him a piano and he could probably ring a tune out of the gaps between the keys.
                      [URL="http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau"]http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau[/URL]

Sign him up for 6 years ASAP.

This guy is as good as I've seen in his first ten to twenty games.

Bont’s new nickname at the club is “Esky” I’ve heard. Up the Fridge.

I agree Jee - Fridge can do it all and has the size to impact across multiple roles and lines, and has massive upside with his athletic ability and power, combined with a smart footballer with a skill based game. How he lasted to where he did (and bloody well done to our recruiters for identifying his upside) it’s a miracle.

I also agree with TBB - sign him up.

Early on in the game I thought, this is a mistake to take him away from HBF to midfield, but also thought, let's see how it pans out.

At 191cm he is Bont junior and moves so well and has a booming kick . Hopefully we see him more in the midfield and at 19 years of age, has a huge upside.