• jazzadogs
    • Oct 2008

Free kick count was 7-6 their way at quarter time.

26-8 across three quarters is shocking, and there were some real stinkers in there. When Darcy Cameron dropped to his knees in the ruck contest and got too high!!! Then English did it with 20 seconds to go, play on! Pricks.

• Rocket Science

Bravo I suppose for wresting a narrow loss from a game that was entirely winnable in spite of the practical odds but are we really okay consoling ourselves with injuries and umpiring conspiracies after that showing?

How many more years do we have the pleasure of English ritually wiping his arse with our colours when games are in the balance?

I'm glaring long and hard at Naughton too.

Both being paid a premium to be habitual non-factors when we need them most is a real list management coup considering what they could've been converted into with some braver choices. If that sounds like risky thinking please review the results of structuring a team around them.

Long live another year of Naughton caving his knee into English's back when we need a late mark down the line that results in the opposition swooping on the crumbs and the rest writing itself.

Signed,

A gutful.

jeemak commented
        Editing a comment
        Chef's kiss! Please post more RS!

The Bulldogs Bite commented
        Editing a comment
        This made me laugh. It's morbidly accurate. Thanks RS.
    • kickit2Koly
      • Nov 2023

Originally posted by jazzadogs
      Free kick count was 7-6 their way at quarter time.

26-8 across three quarters is shocking, and there were some real stinkers in there. When Darcy Cameron dropped to his knees in the ruck contest and got too high!!! Then English did it with 20 seconds to go, play on! Pricks.
      I had a pies mate text me, saying 19th man at qtr time for us.

• The bulldog tragician
        • Apr 2013

Footy is strange. That was the very definition of a loss where we should hold our heads high.There were points it all could have slipped out to a 10 goal loss. The fight from our guys tonight really made me proud. It’s exactly the sort of situation when our young and inexperienced group could have got stage fright. The fact that we somehow fought back each time they surged ahead meant for me it was of the most enjoyable games since 2016.

The pre-match was beautiful, the chants of Footscray around the stadium were brilliant, the roar when Freijah charged through for his goal like a young Bont was spine tingling…it reminds you of all that is good and pure about footy.
        [url]www.bulldogtragician.com[/url] A blog about being a lifelong fan of the Dogs and our quixotic attempt to replicate 1954. AND WE DID
        Author of [URL="http://www.blackincbooks.com.au/books/mighty-west"]"The Mighty West: the Bulldogs journey from daydream believers to premiership heroes[/URL]"

• jazzadogs
          • Oct 2008

Originally posted by kickit2Koly

I had a pies mate text me, saying 19th man at qtr time for us.
          I don't think I've enjoyed a night at the footy less than tonight, purely because of the idiots I was surrounded by.

jeemak commented
            Editing a comment
            After the Hawthorn elimination final last year I decided I'm almost giving up live attendance for good. It's a complete shit show and is only going to get worse in terms of obnoxiousness.

What does this mean if we make a GF or a prelim? I'll donate my ticket, I'm done.

‘He got punched in the face’: McRae expects league will look at Lobb’s errant punch

ByAngus Delaney

Craig McRae said he expects the AFL’s MRO will examine Rory Lobb’s poorly aimed spoil that made direct contact to the face of Mason Cox.

Speaking to reporters after the game, McRae said Cox had some stitches put in just beneath his eye and didn’t return to play after the incident, but they weren’t worried he’d miss time. Mason Cox suffered a fist to the face from Rory Lobb. Credit:Fox Sports
          “He got punched in the face,” said McRae succinctly.

Speaking on Fox Footy, Jonathan Brown – a former triple-premiership teammate of McRae’s – said he believed Lobb’s eyes were firmly on the football and all contact was accidental, and therefore he should not face a suspension.

In more serious injury news, McRae confirmed that the club suspected Reef McInnes had torn his ACL in the first quarter.

“We won’t know officially until tomorrow morning [but] it’s devastating for the young man,” said McRae.

English won the rucks tonight, but woofers are never content and find a way to bag the guy. The last two weeks I have seen a more aggressive ruck which is a good sign. Still needs to do more around the ground, but had 5 marks and 14 disposals.

jeemak commented
              Editing a comment
              English was good in the ruck tonight. I'm sure that will make everyone happy.

I was encouraged by that performance.

Considering all the outs we had it was a great effort. The pressure we brought was excellent.

Libba is a legend, Freijah has looked like he has played with us for many years, Darcy is amazing. Ed Richards what a move it has been to the midfield.

Lobb what a move it has been behind the ball. Buku's efforts tonight excellent competed very well.

English played a very good game.

Davidson love how is has gone since he has started. Great speed he has which is what you need in the game today.

A shame we could not get it done in the end for the 100th Anniversary VFL/AFL celebration match. Liked the pre-game stuff they did for that.

The umpiring was atrocious we can all agree on. My brother who is a Pies fan acknowledged they got a number of undeserved ones after quarter time and it wasn't officiated well at all. They need to get full time umpires for all games.

• jazzadogs
              • Oct 2008

Originally posted by Bornadog
              ‘He got punched in the face’: McRae expects league will look at Lobb’s errant punch

ByAngus Delaney

Craig McRae said he expects the AFL’s MRO will examine Rory Lobb’s poorly aimed spoil that made direct contact to the face of Mason Cox.

Speaking to reporters after the game, McRae said Cox had some stitches put in just beneath his eye and didn’t return to play after the incident, but they weren’t worried he’d miss time. Mason Cox suffered a fist to the face from Rory Lobb. Credit:Fox Sports
              “He got punched in the face,” said McRae succinctly.

Speaking on Fox Footy, Jonathan Brown – a former triple-premiership teammate of McRae’s – said he believed Lobb’s eyes were firmly on the football and all contact was accidental, and therefore he should not face a suspension.

In more serious injury news, McRae confirmed that the club suspected Reef McInnes had torn his ACL in the first quarter.

“We won’t know officially until tomorrow morning [but] it’s devastating for the young man,” said McRae.
              I didn't mind McRae when he first started at the Pies, but the longer he's been there the more he has been infected by their brain rot and I'm learning that I actually can't stand the guy.

I genuinely think most coaches would say "we could see Lobb was going for the ball, and it was unfortunate. Mason is okay". But he's seeking blood like the idiots around me who were foaming at the mouth as if Lobb had just elected to jump and bump a guy, knocking him out and ending his career.

jeemak commented
                Editing a comment
                He's the same little shit he was when he was surrounded by the best team to have played.

• lemmon
                lemmon commented
                Editing a comment
                Collingwood played a dirty game of footy. McRae is mind-numbing.
            • jazzadogs
              • Oct 2008

English won the rucks tonight, but woofers are never content and find a way to bag the guy. The last two weeks I have seen a more aggressive ruck which is a good sign. Still needs to do more around the ground, but had 5 marks and 14 disposals.
              He was good in the ruck, but I recall at least five dropped marks which should have been taken by a tall experienced guy. If he and Naughton had held on to maybe one more 'gimme' grab each then we probably win the game.

jeemak commented
                Editing a comment
                Yeah, the marking from Naughton and English was lamentable.....but....they were getting to them.

Tim wasn't amazing around the ground but did some good things......however his rucking was solid and better than some other efforts. Naughton just had an almost game. He's had an interrupted campaign so I expect some inconsistency.
            • Bigdog
              • Jan 2023

Tonight was a really encouraging performance. I think we can make a good shake of this year if we get our players back and we continue to see some internal improvement.

Very keen to watch Hynes and Croft tomorrow. I think both can impact this season.

• SonofScray
                • Apr 2008

Good game of footy and a game worthy of the occasion.

Dirty on the loss. Opportunity lost to go 2 zip, win on a big stage and really set a tone for the year. Bit stiff, but also paid the price for spending two particularly long patches just hanging on, defending well but never clearing the footy and controlling it at half forward.

Some great moments and individual performances that could have been added to the history books in the same way Billy Kolynuik’s goal at the G v the pies has. Libba goal and overall game was superb, a true Captain’s performance. Savour every performance like that from our veteran, really proud of him. Freijah’s goal and celebration confirmed what we all know, he’s the real deal. English, I bag him, and he deserves it, but tonight I thought he really accepted responsibility for his role and his game.

That pre game restored a bit of love for the club that was waning for me. Credit to the club for telling our story on our terms.

• Pleather Sole
                  • Jan 2024

I enjoyed that. Just two slightly better kicks and we were across the line. (Of course I'd prefer we we 16.4 not 10.10)
                  Was chuffed that the Pies fluffed 4 more shots than us.
                  It was an engaging contest and whilst we fumbled and made errors and decisions didn't go our way we kept fighting and the young-ins showed poise and conviction.
                  I reckon we got more out of it than we lost, its a solid building base and we stepped up from last week against a better opponent.
                  With a qtr of our best walk ups unavailable, 3 next ups also out we had a team on deck that gelled quite well considering, especially on the big stage with club pride at stake.
                  There are obvious areas that need a lot of work, but they've already been mentioned.
                  Some moments of really exciting play and plenty to cheer about.
                  There is a lot to look forward too.

• dog town

Timmy won his battle but didn’t compete in several critical contests during the first 3 qtrs. If he attacked the ball the way he did in the last qtr for the entire game we win convincingly. In isolation that’s incredibly harsh but I’m a supporter of English and it’s tipped too far the other way now. He simply had to be a stronger leader for the club all night.

jeemak commented
                      Editing a comment
                      Hopefully his competitiveness in the ruck contests and his better last quarter is the impetus for him to get back to his best.
                  • merantau
                    • May 2015

When we lose a game like that there are many factors at play. Eliminate just one of them and we probably win.

Umpiring was abysmal. We turned the ball over in critical situations. We needed a more even contribution from players. Heroic performances from a few rarely win close games.

But, for me, it's big name players not doing enough that is the killer. English dropping marks, Naughton being out bodied. Very disappointing

The reality is that Collingwood played the better football on the night. Their ball movement was far superior. They missed easy shots too, remember.

However, there is a silver lining. There were significant periods where we looked like we would be overwhelmed and lose by 8 goals. But we never caved in. We counter punched after being on the receiving end for what seemed like an eternity at times.

And all from a young team in front of a huge crowd. That's the biggest take away for me.
                    [URL="http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau"]http://journals.worldnomads.com/merantau[/URL]