• Scraggers
    Premiership Moderator

Always Right Match Committee R10 vs Essendon 2025

Welcome to the Always Right Match Committee Thread. The Match Committee threads has been named after long time WOOF member Always Right who tragically passed away in March 2018.

If you were on the Western Bulldogs match committee, what changes would you make after our Round Nine match against Gold Coast for our Round Ten match against Essendon at Marvel on Saturday

For those new to these threads, please give a brief explanation for your changes ... this would add a lot of value to the discussion.

• Hotdog60

Not much change for this round and it will depend on recovery. Bevo mentioned that LVDM took a knock and will need to be checked so if he doesn't get up, we could debut Luke Kennedy who had a ripper game in the twos.

JJ went off for a check and came back.

Guess it was nothing ?

No idea on Treloar’s time line? He’d be a handy inclusion.

I know the bye is in two weeks, but feels like a chance to freshen up a few.

Maybe Libba has a little rest?

Fridge more minutes inside.

Kennedy a chance to debut? Arty for some run to cover for tired legs? Dolan maybe to come back for VDM?

Im expecting 3 changes.

Drop Poulter and clean out his locker

• robb
              • Mar 2009

Didnt Gallagher go down with knee concerns?

I’d strongly consider Busslinger in and push Lobb forward. Actually Busslinger to come in regardless.

Poulter and Gallagher to be dropped. VDM must be under an injury cloud.

Dolan and Busslinger to come in. I wonder where Treloar is actually at?

I want Williams back on the wing opposite Davidson & Harmes.

Originally posted by Happy Days
                  Tend to agree…. He was able to get his hands on the ball, but bar the nice long kick over the top to Davidson his disposal was completely sub-standard.

• Aidan7557
                    • Jan 2025

God no more Poulter as you guys have said. Great guy and good pro but isn't an AFL player. 6'3 half forwards just don't exist anymore. To me he is a backup winger and squad depth.

Originally posted by Happy Days
                      Hey you hate Harmes I hate Poulter get your own whipping boy.

I'm going to defend him actually.

I thought he was ok, got to some good positions and worked hard. No one can pick on skills in those conditions.

Originally posted by Go_Dogs
                        No idea on Treloar’s time line? He’d be a handy inclusion.

I know the bye is in two weeks, but feels like a chance to freshen up a few.

Maybe Libba has a little rest?

Fridge more minutes inside.

Kennedy a chance to debut? Arty for some run to cover for tired legs? Dolan maybe to come back for VDM?

Im expecting 3 changes.
                        1 to 2 weeks. Might play against Geelong but perhaps better after the bye

• josie
                          • Oct 2012

Luke Kennedy in VFL played very well. Wouldn’t be surprised to see him debut. Liked Scott’s game too. I only watched bits of vfl game though.

Arty a smokey if we want more run. Had more disposals and ran heaps from what I saw.

Gallagher dropped. Libba possibly rested. I’d give Poulter another week but think he will be dropped.

Treloar in if fit however I reckon they’ll rest him I even if he is ok.
                          Josie :)

Our day will come
                          And we'll have everything.
                          We'll share the joy
                          Just like '54 again.

• Garbs_7
                            • Jan 2025

We won't see Treloar until after the bye I believe, they'll give him extra time after his 4th calf setback now to try and get right for the end of the season. Haven't heard about Gags yet but personally I'll have him out anyway. Poulter's disposal was messy but so were a few players and I thought he worked hard and presented pretty well, i'd like to give him one more week at Marvel. Imagine VDM will be out, but see what the medical report lists him as.

I've said it before, but I think we have to rest Libba this week. He has been carrying a huge load this season, Bevo has alluded to him needing a couple weeks off and going from a Darwin slog, to the Bombers and then a 5 day break down to Geelong is a lot to ask. I would rest him this week, freshen up for the Cats game and then he can play 1 game in 3 weeks with the bye the following week which should help him manage a long season. Can't take Essendon for granted, but it's more about not overloading a very important player and risking asking too much of him.

• Garbs_7
                              • Jan 2025

In - Duryea (good VFL form and deserves a reprieve), Buss, Scott or Arty (as sub)
                              Out - VDM (injury?), Gallagher, Libba (rest)

Would shift Davidson to half forward to play Laith's role, Williams back to the wing and then Duryea to the back line. Buss coming in gives us the flexibility of Lobb playing forward to stretch the Bomber's back line and giving Naughty a bit more support. Scott can be the sub and his flexibility is handy able to fill multiple roles or Arty who was good in the VFL and most suited to sub at this level.