• mjp

I don't know the answer but we're not handling Busslinger well

I was pretty OK with Busslinger playing VFL footy for a few years. He was obviously ok with it, understood the plan and seemed to be improving. Then - Jones out, Buss in - to play on Jesse Hogan no less - and he made a pretty good fist of it. Everything was gonna be fine.

Next week: Sub.

Say whatever you like, a key position defender is a bizarre choice as the sub.

Next week: Out.

So - if we wanted to send a message to the kid any more clearly that "Hey - we don't think you can play" then I'm not exactly sure how you would do it.

Again - blame conditions, blame whatever. But if Buss was a 1-for-1 replacement for Jones (as he originally was) then he should be playing. I know this because until the fall from grace this season, his name has been written in indelible ink in the back 6 every single week since he returned to the club.

I have no idea what the communication is internally - but what you say doesn't count as much as what you do. Saying we believe in you is great - but if you then don't select that player, the message is (more than) a little diluted!.

Not sure of others thoughts but I'm not loving this right now. And again, blame conditions, blame whatevers...it doesn't matter. There are some things you just 'GOTTA' do.

It's truly puzzling to me.

If Jones was playing well - he would definitely be in the team. So - the balance/matchup argument is a little thin for mine. Going with just Lobb and JOD I guess is ok if you didn't have this guy. But we do.... the sub call was bizarre. It was almost dropped without being dropped. Next chance. Gone.

What else can he do I guess is my question? He's already smashing it in the twos. There must be something about his game that's just not there for the MC.

Yeah I would like him in the side too and think we’re, for whatever reason, trying really hard to make it seem like his deficiencies are bigger than they are, rather than putting him in a spot to succeed.

It’s frustrating because I think he can really play.

• lemmon

I think it's also bizarre in that it limits how we can play Lobb.

I thought maybe he was sub last week because we had an inkling Finlayson would be sub, and we didn't want to go in too big at Ballarat. But this week with Gold Coast's talented talls and the potential for Mac Andrew to go ahead of the footy and be a real headache, we just feel too small.

We lasted all of one quarter before putting Lobb into the forward 50 against the Giants. I just don't think we have that lever this week without Busslinger in the side. That could've been a crucial play in Darwin, where we really need to bring the ball to ground.

• Axe Man

It's a little hard to understand but the coaches and match committee have been pulling all the right levers of late so I'm willing to wait and see how this plays out over the next few weeks.

• mjp

Originally posted by Axe Man
            It's a little hard to understand but the coaches and match committee have been pulling all the right levers of late so I'm willing to wait and see how this plays out over the next few weeks.
            This isn't about short term results though mate. I'm talking about managing a young developing player.

• Axe Man

Originally posted by mjp

This isn't about short term results though mate. I'm talking about managing a young developing player.
              I'm not only talking about results but also how we handle Buss. If he's back next week and performs well again then hopefully no harm, no foul.

I do think it all depends on the messaging which of course we aren't privy to but take your point about actions speaking louder than words. I just think we need to judge over a longer period than just last week and this week.

• Bulldog Joe
                Premiership Moderator
                • Jul 2009

Originally posted by Axe Man

I'm not only talking about results but also how we handle Buss. If he's back next week and performs well again then hopefully no harm, no foul.

I do think it all depends on the messaging which of course we aren't privy to but take your point about actions speaking louder than words. I just think we need to judge over a longer period than just last week and this week.
                I agree with this.

Buss has hopefully been given a good explanation and it could be around the conditions.

Hopefully he gets back next week at Marvel and shows why he should be retained.

It feels like JOD has graduated from third tall to second tall and in doing so, stepped in to cover Jones. Cleary and Williams are chopping as third tall when needed.

We seem to have a deliberate intent to maximise run.

Conditions play a part this week for sure.

Match ups will too.

at this stage he’s our third for key defender and we only want to play 2.

And look, I get it. He’s our future and we want to keep him and get games into him.

But we are up to our eyeballs this year and he needs to kick the door off the hinges or have a form regression / injury to get back in.

He’s got a taste. Shown he can play. Tough gig sometimes for young players.

Originally posted by mjp

Provided we have clearly articulated to Buss that the unique conditions at both Ballarat and Darwin back-to-back has meant we needed to go in with a less traditional structure, I'm OK with it. But equally he needs to be selected next week against Essendon (match-ups permitting) - he's first in and next available.

• jazzadogs
                        • Oct 2008

Originally posted by Go_Dogs
                        It feels like JOD has graduated from third tall to second tall and in doing so, stepped in to cover Jones. Cleary and Williams are chopping as third tall when needed.

We seem to have a deliberate intent to maximise run.

Conditions play a part this week for sure.

Match ups will too.

at this stage he’s our third for key defender and we only want to play 2.
                        This is how I'm seeing it too.

We're liking the look of the two talls + coverage from medium defenders, with JOD being quite effective as the full back player.

Suns really only have King to worry about as a tall forward.

I thought Buss played well but I think we are picking a team to win the game, and believe that having three defensive talls will limit our ability to defend ground balls and then attack in the slippery Darwin conditions.

• bulldogsthru&thru

The thought had crossed my mind with regards to the long term implications of his subbing and dropping.

It's unfortunate we're playing in 2 less than ideal locations for him 2 weeks in a row. Take your point it shouldn't matter given Jones would be playing if in form. But the MC must believe a smaller line-up is better in Darwin. They got it right last week so we have to back them.

I think it'll be a bigger talking point if Buss isn't back in next week.

It's actually kind of nuts that we don't play at Marvel consecutively until after the bye.

• mighty_west
                            • Feb 2008

Agree 100% mjp, i also thought it was bizarre to play him as the sub last week, he's a tall defender who can only play as a tall defender, limiting your onfield options for a replaced injured player mid game? Unless off course the reasoning was that he slots in down back and someone else in the backline shifts elsewhere etc, i guess we do have loads of players which Bevo loves that can play multiple positions and roles when required., and Buss stays in the side but isn't exactly desperately needed due to match up's.

This week v The Suns, they only have two tall forwards playing and King is the only player that plays tall and i'm not sure Buss would be ready for him yet, whilst Walter is more bash and crash and only 195cm, plus the conditions up North will require the extra running players, it just made sense for Buss to sit out this one, but hopefully he's back the next.

Originally posted by mjp
                              I was pretty OK with Busslinger playing VFL footy for a few years. He was obviously ok with it, understood the plan and seemed to be improving. Then - Jones out, Buss in - to play on Jesse Hogan no less - and he made a pretty good fist of it. Everything was gonna be fine.

Next week: Sub.

Say whatever you like, a key position defender is a bizarre choice as the sub.

Next week: Out.

So - if we wanted to send a message to the kid any more clearly that "Hey - we don't think you can play" then I'm not exactly sure how you would do it.

Again - blame conditions, blame whatever. But if Buss was a 1-for-1 replacement for Jones (as he originally was) then he should be playing. I know this because until the fall from grace this season, his name has been written in indelible ink in the back 6 every single week since he returned to the club.

I have no idea what the communication is internally - but what you say doesn't count as much as what you do. Saying we believe in you is great - but if you then don't select that player, the message is (more than) a little diluted!.

Not sure of others thoughts but I'm not loving this right now. And again, blame conditions, blame whatevers...it doesn't matter. There are some things you just 'GOTTA' do.
                              Neither Port or the Suns have the same threats as what GWS do up forward. We needed Buss to cover one of Hogan, Cadman, Riccardi. JOD and Lobb are clearly in front of him (and rightfully so), so he misses out. Surely that's the internal messaging? We also have Buku and Williams to pinch hit that third tall role.

I reckon he's a week to week proposition based on the oppo and we're clealy focused on run at the moment so are mindful of going in too top heavy.