Player v trade

Thought this would make a good thread over time where we could compare players we traded for and players/ draft picks we recieved and how its panned out.
    Let's start with Stringer , who did we end up with and what's the opinions of who will win out of it ?
    Jake has played all three games and IMO been very mediocre although did get a few possessions against us , but weren't damaging.
    Who did we get in the draft for him and how are they performing?

Re: Player v trade

In short we swapped the picks we got for Jake for Josh Schasche. It's going to take a couple of years to see who gets the better of that deal although it might be a race to the bottom the way Jake is shaping up. And clubs don't just give away #2 draft picks like Schasche unless they come with a large question mark over some aspect/s of his footy, so it's not a lay down misere that he will be any sort of player.

Hopefully Josh gets playing soon we haven't had much opportunity seeing him in action.

Stringer has set the world on fire. So far not a big loss. Stringer can turn it on but just doesn't do enough in games. He was a very lazy player with us.

Originally posted by Eastdog
        Hopefully Josh gets playing soon we haven't had much opportunity seeing him in action.

Stringer has set the world on fire. So far not a big loss. Stringer can turn it on but just doesn't do enough in games. He was a very lazy player with us.
        I think you mean hasn't set the world on fire there mate. Either that or you have very low standards on what constitutes a good game. Jake hasn't been the same since May smashed into his shoulder against Gold Coast a few years ago. I think he hasn't got over that.

I certainly meant hasn't. Typing on my phone Twodogs.

• Bulldog Joe
            Premiership Moderator
            • Jul 2009

You may well have identified the source of the Stringer malaise. Jakey was always one to need the trainer's attention after any sort of bump, but that was a real fair dinkum bump.

We really should have called him Sooky Stringer.

Originally posted by Bulldog Joe
              You may well have identified the source of the Stringer malaise. Jakey was always one to need the trainer's attention after any sort of bump, but that was a real fair dinkum bump.

We really should have called him Sooky Stringer.

Yep he lost all interest in body contact after that and was forever trying to take the easy option and get the cheapie out the back. I don't think it was a workrate thing with Jake, he just doesn't want another busted shoulder.

But how does he think Chris Judd got through the last ten years of his career with his shoulder held together with band aids? How does he think Shane Warne bowled over after over before he had surgery to correct it, and being a leg spinner Warne relied on rotating his shoulder for some deliveries and dropping his shoulder for others. Poor bastard must have been in agony. No wonder he didn't bowl a proper wrong 'un for 2-3 years.

But I guess that illustrates why Judd and Warne are considered to be close to GOAT in their sports and Stringer will be remembered as a great waste of talent.

2015 was a strong year for him but since then he has gone downhill.

Yep he lost all interest in body contact after that and was forever trying to take the easy option and get the cheapie out the back. I don't think it was a workrate thing with Jake, he just doesn't want another busted shoulder.

But how does he think Chris Judd got through the last ten years of his career with his shoulder held together with band aids? How does he think Shane Warne bowled over after over before he had surgery to correct it, and being a leg spinner Warne relied on rotating his shoulder for some deliveries and dropping his shoulder for others. Poor bastard must have been in agony. No wonder he didn't bowl a proper wrong 'un for 2-3 years.

But I guess that illustrates why Judd and Warne are considered to be close to GOAT in their sports and Stringer will be remembered as a great waste of talent.
                  I prefer Total Waste Of Talent

In short we swapped the picks we got for Jake for Josh Schasche. It's going to take a couple of years to see who gets the better of that deal although it might be a race to the bottom the way Jake is shaping up. And clubs don't just give away #2 draft picks like Schasche unless they come with a large question mark over some aspect/s of his footy, so it's not a lay down misere that he will be any sort of player.
                    Not quite - we received two second rounders, used one of them (with Carlton's 2017 third ) to get Schache, we also used two 2017 second rounders (and next years' second rounder) to trade up to 16 with Carlton to get Ed Richards, with Carlton's third (pick 40) coming back to us.

I have my doubts about Schache, am not convinced by Stringer either, but think Ed Richards will play 250 games. Looks incredible already and we know the club rated him inside the top 10.

I'd forgotten until I just checked we also have Freo's fourth round pick this year as part of the Crozier trade.

Right now Essendon have realized Stringer won't be the big bodied mid they want, we're ruing losing next years' second rounder (muted by the FS & Academy kids we have coming through) nut a net gain of Richards is fantastic for us. We lost the trade battle but won the war.

Originally posted by Mofra
                      Not quite - we received two second rounders, used one of them (with our third) to get Schache, we also used another (and next years' second rounder) to trade up to 16 with Carlton to get Ed Richards.

I have my doubts about Schache, am not convinced by Stringer either, but think Ed Richards will play 250 games. Looks incredible already and we know the club rated him inside the top 10.

Cheers Mof. I thought it was a bit more complicated than I made out.

Not quite - we received two second rounders, used one of them (with Carlton's 2017 third ) to get Schache, we also used two 2017 second rounders (and next years' second rounder) to trade up to 16 with Carlton to get Ed Richards, with Carlton's third (pick 40) coming back to us.

I'd forgotten until I just checked we also have Freo's fourth round pick this year as part of the Crozier trade.

Right now Essendon have realized Stringer won't be the big bodied mid they want, we're ruing losing next years' second rounder (muted by the FS & Academy kids we have coming through) nut a net gain of Richards is fantastic for us. We lost the trade battle but won the war.
                        I think Schache will be ok, he is only 20 years old and a lot of upside. Time will tell.

he has everything you need in a footballer except intensity. In the modern era I can only hope the rest of his game makes up for it.
                          I see him as a bit of an Andrejs Everitt type - certainly has the talent and skill. Perhaps he just needs to take the year to settle back into Melbourne life.

• Doc26
                            • Sep 2009

he has everything you need in a footballer except intensity. In the modern era I can only hope the rest of his game makes up for it.
                            I see him as a bit of an Andrejs Everitt type - certainly has the talent and skill. Perhaps he just needs to take the year to settle back into Melbourne life.
                            Or our version of Jack Watts. Might just take some time to get the monkey of his back, and time to develop and find his place.

So simplified we got Richards and Schache ?
                              Well I think Richards has already given more than Stringer.